We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat after coming back from Colca Canyon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of qp Hotels Arequipa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added qp Hotels Arequipa to your Saves list
qp Hotels Arequipa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Villalba 305, Cercado, Arequipa Areq 01, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A treat after coming back from Colca Canyon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on our third night in Peru. It was a shame we checked in late and had an early flight in the morning....it had a nice terrace for cocktails with a view of Misti Volcano. Our room was big with 2 comfortable queen (firm) beds and hot water in the shower. The welcome cheese/olives tray and pisco sours were a TREAT! They also packed us breakfast to go. I will definitely stay at a QP again,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    24
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
37
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia-DF
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

PROS: Before travelling we saw many recommendations to get an Hotel in the immediate 1 block from the Central Square of the city, but we decided to take a change and we got the GP Hotel in Arequipa with a great Value for Money (rate less than USD 95,00/day) and it was the best option we could made! We were travelling with a Baby so having a small kitchen with microwaves, minibar and sink was super handy! The room was not too big but fit very well two queen beds and our stuff plus the strolley. The Hotel itself is brand new, comfortable beds and has split air conditioning (feature very difficult to find to the weather in Peru). The staff was great, very sympathetic and supportive. Breakfast was great! Really natural juices (2 types), ham, cheese, fruis, coffe, tea and milk… Apart you could also order eggs and bacon, scrambled eggs, omelet, pancakes and even regional “tamales” at Sundays. However, location is still the best feature in the Hotel, located just 3 blocks from the central square and walking distance from many points of interest, the Hotel is surrounded by some of the best restaurants in town (like Alma just across the street, Paladar 1900, Chicha, from Gastón Acurio), and with easy exit to the airport. The Hotel also offers free bottled water (2) every day!

CONS: The only disappointment we had was with the internet service, which was awful…

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qpHotels, E-commerce Executive at qp Hotels Arequipa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Indeed we got incredible rates available. We will be looking forward for your return. If you happen to have any other questions, please don`t hesitate to write us. And finally, our location is one of the best in the city! Neart to everything.

May you have an excellent day.

Best regards,

© qp Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were thrown out of our room after first day (booking day 12.08.13), proposed prolongation for second night was forgotten or room was sold with intent to higher price at citys celebration day. The room was already occupied when we came home unsuspecting after dinner, our luggage had to be found with help of police, losses, no support of hotel despite free room where our luggage was found, employee wanted to sell suite for ca 245 USD. We had to find other hotel at 8.50 pm and had to pay for use of internet. Rating of + 9,0 % for this hotel fully ununderstandable. We had losses since the netbook was still in the room safe and in hurry due to other room guests we forgot MP3 player and expensive bottle of red wine. Worst hotel in 3 weeks Peru in terms of service and professionalization of employees.

Room Tip: Secure arrangements with reception by use of written form!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed for 2.nights. Location is good, a couple of blocks from the noisier central area. Our room was in a sort of basement (room 101) so no view but decent room and good shower. Service was reasonable. Hotel is modern, smart and clean. Wifi was good. Breakfast buffet was OK. Highlight was the terrace, nice sun trap and good spot to have a sundowner.

Room Tip: Dont get a basement room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qpHotels, E-Commerce Executive at qp Hotels Arequipa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your post. Indeed our terrace is really nice spot to relax with the incredible view.
We will be looking forward for your next arrival.

May you have an excellent trip.

Best regards,

©qp Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights when in Arequipa. Nice central location in the typical white/cream colored stone buildings that make up part of the old city. Very small hotel with only a few rooms per floor. Friendly staff. Lovely views from the back of the hotel. Decent complimentary breakfast - eggs are cold, but they can make a fresh omelette for you, and the mini pancakes are made to order. Free wi-fi. It was nice they gave a complimentary bottle of water in the room (since the tap water in Peru is not safe to drink).

The hotel could be better maintained - e.g. the main gate's lock was broken the entire time so you had to ring a doorbell and someone from the desk would walk out to let you in, the elevator broke on the last night so we had to carry our luggage down several flights of stairs, bad ventilation in the bathroom. Very small TV in the room.

Good base to explore the city at a reasonable price.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qpHotels, E-Commerce Executive at qp Hotels Arequipa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the comments lines above. We will definitely be working on the detailed aspects.

We wish you an excellent trip, hoping to welcome you back once again.

Our best regards,

©qp Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Good hotel that is centrally located just blocks away from the main town plaza in Arequipa. Smaller intimate building as is typical of most hotels in the historic core of Arequipa. Rooms are well equipped, comfortable and clean. Breakfast in the lobby restaurant offers a good selection. At checkin, they also offer you a selection of coupons for free/discounted drinks to encourage you to patronize.

For a balanced review, here's some areas which are so-so.
- The hotel advertises that they are in a "historic sillar building" but the truth is only the front courtyard of the hotel is such. The bulk of the rooms are actually in a modern 4 storey block inside the courtyard. The rooms are modern and looks no different inside from anything you would encounter elsewhere. (I think only 1 or 2 rooms are "historic".)
- Wifi works but is not fastest or most reliable.
- Elevator lobby is in center core of block. Rooms are right around it. Ding-ding of elevators are really noisy at nights/early mornings.
- Doors of each room slam shut very hard. Again, because of config of rooms in block, you hear it all night long.
- Various front desk staff encountered, ranging from very helpful/friendly to others being aloof and almost snobbish.

All said, I would not go as far as some others who claim that "this is the best hotel in the country". It is a good hotel compared to hostels and other lower end places. Somewhere between 3 and 4 stars in the grand scheme of things.

Room Tip: Rooms in main block are new and modern. Also noisy due to elevator and slamming doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qpHotels, E-commerce Executive at qp Hotels Arequipa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at our ©qp Hotel Arequipa. We would like to point out a few things about your review: our ashlar rooms can be requested to our reservation´s office crew, so they can settle up the hotel´s rooming list to the guest´s wish (this applies to our Executive Suite Queen and Superior Suite Queen rooms). On the other hand, we will be changing the elevator´s circuitry so we can lower the volume of the ding beep you are telling us about.

©qp Hotels Arequipa is distinguished by having the best rates and the best location of Arequipa. Along with a unique and historic design combined with modern equipment. An incredible mixture turns into a reality for our corporate guests.

Finally we would like to mention that every post, comment or suggestion sent by our guests are really valuable for our hotel´s improvement. Therefore, we are deeply grateful for your lines.

May you have an excellent day, and we will be hoping to welcome you back some other time.

Best regards,

©qp Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima - Peru
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I went to Arequipa city last weekend with my husband and we decided to stay almost one week in this Hotel based on the trip advisor ranking...
We felt at home, it is a tiny hotel but has everithing you can need. It is modern and has a perfect location, is very close to Casa Andina Private Collection, and about 4 blocks of the main square ..
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
This is a very good choice to stay in Arequipa..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qpHotels, E-Commerce Executive at qp Hotels Arequipa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. And also we would thank you for sharing us your incredible experience. We will be looking forward to welcome you back again. Finally we would like to invite you to stay connected through our official social networks.

May you have an excellent trip.

Sincerely,
©qp Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to qp Hotels Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about qp Hotels Arequipa

Address: Calle Villalba 305, Cercado, Arequipa Areq 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — qp Hotels Arequipa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
qp HOTELS Arequipa is a four star boutique hotel, recently renovated and restored back to its original silar blocks (volcanic stones) style of Arequipa. Each room is equipped with 32inch LCD, Ipod docking radio And modern bathroom. The hotel is in the heart of Arequipa’s historic quarter, just around the corner from the magnificent 16th-century Santa Catalina Convent and only 4 blocks from Arequipa Plaza de Armas. Mountains and the river Chili can be seen from the hotel Terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your qp Hotels Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage qp Hotels Arequipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.