We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better from top of the open aired bus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza de Armas

Plaza de Armas
Arequipa, Peru
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$48*
and up
Arequipa City Tour Including St Catherine...
Ranked #5 of 37 Attractions in Arequipa
Type: Architectural Buildings, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Serving as the focus of urban life and evening activities, this elegant grand square features graceful colonnades, swaying palms and lush gardens.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Better from top of the open aired bus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Plaza de Armas is a lovely square we were told at the hostel to be wary of pickpockets which you would be in any country. lots of pigeons bit like Trafalgar square but people do feed them.The square has the beautiful cathedral on one end and a municipality on the other and when we did the open bus tour it was even better from top of the bus and we did not not get any hassle from beggars or street vendors.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    282
    49
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were told by our tour guide that Arequipa has the best Main Square in Peru. After having visited the one in Cusco, we wondered how true that was. But as soon as we got out of our cab, all of us were taken aback by the beauty of the magnificent cathedral right in front of us! That structure alone defines the whole square. We wish we had the opportunity to visit it during the day, but unfortunately we had an early morning flight the next day.

The streets surrounding the square have several beautiful buildings. Some of them have amazingly intricate carvings on them. Definitely worth exploring on foot.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Center of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Plaza de Armas is a lovely square but the pigeons are an issue. Begging seemed to be big and you must be wary of pickpockets.
As usual with Spanish style - the square has the beautiful cathedral on one end and a municipality on the other. It is very picturesque across from the cathedral for you get the classic picture of the cathedral with the volcano in the back.
People are relaxing around and it is very nice if you don't get looks from beggars or street vendors.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“nice but too crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

nice main square, maybe the nicest in Peru, but is too crowded with many people asking your for money. The constructions are wonderful made with the typical white stone of Arequipa

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The main plaza in Arequipa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The square qas bounded by the cathedral on one side and a series of double balconies on the other 3 sides from which you could see one of 3 volcanoes which sit behind Arequipa.The only thing which slightly annoyed were the pigeons,however they provided much fun for the many groups of people gathered there to enjoy themselves.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza de Armas also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to Plaza de Armas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza de Armas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.