We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Andina Classic - Arequipa

Save Saved
You added Casa Andina Classic - Arequipa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Andina Classic - Arequipa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Jerusalen 603, Arequipa 01, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Norwich
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Basic but good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights as part of an Audley tour.
Probably the best part about it is the proximity to the main square and it seems a safe area to walk around at night.
We got there at around 10.00 pm at night - the so called 24 hr lobby refreshments was closed - this was my only problem with the place. We asked the doorman for instructions to a bar which he gave us (not his fault we got lost!)
On the same road was a traditional restaurant called Ariquepay where we had Guinea Pig (cooked between 2 stones so it looked like road kill!) It had been recommended and was good.
We also used restaurants in the alley behind the cathedral - the Alpaca steaks were good. However, be aware most places close at c.9.00 pm! There is also a couple of little shops on the hotel's road that stay open quite late and sell drinks and snacks.
The hotel was modest but the bed was very comfortable which is all I want.
The breakfast was really nice and plenty of variety.
We also used the roof-top terrace - good views of Misti volcano as the sun goes down and also somewhere pleasant to sit and have a drink before bed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    149
    89
    26
    14
See reviews for
69
156
25
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel has a good quality of services during our training session. Aquiles did a good job, always offer the "extra mile" during our activity. The lunch and coffee break was healthy and good. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed here two nights as part of a G Adventures tour.

We got room 235. It's a solo unit off to the side past a patio and located right over the kitchen. It gets noise very early in the morning as the hotel staff set up for the day.

Our large room had 3 single beds and contains in room safe, electric heater and was fairly well lit. Not sure if the room hadn't been used recently as we found a dead bug on the pillow and a live spider under the sheets. Hair dryer and the usual bathroom toiletries.

Coca tea was available on the second level by the computer area.

My sister and friend got room 103 which was by the lobby with a tiny bathroom. The walls are so thin they can hear the bathroom activities from the next room.

Free wi-fi throughout. Breakfast was served in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is one of several Casa Andina Classic hotels we stayed at on our recent tour of Peru. But it's hard to believe this one is part of the same hotel chain as the others were all excellent (I have written separate reviews for them).

On the first night we had to wait well over an hour for them to bring the dinner we ordered from the menu; when it did finally arrive it wasn't what I'd ordered and I had no desire to wait another hour for them to bring the correct meal so I did without and went to bed hungry. :-(

During the early hours of the morning we woke up to find the room full of fumes. My husband, who is a mechanical fitter, recognised the fumes as those given off by an oil-burning boiler and he went to the window and opened it wide to let the fumes out. He noticed a large outlet pipe going up the side of the outside wall opposite our room; the top of the pipe was clotted with soot. I awoke with a splitting headache and was sick (vomited) and, incidentally, the lady in the room next door (318) also smelt the fumes and had the same symptoms as I did. We think we were suffering from CO poisoning!

The guy on the front desk said it was altitude sickness, but once we'd changed rooms the symptoms went away. It certainly isn't coincidence that the occupants of two adjacent rooms both had fumes in their rooms and both suffered the same symptoms.

The alternative room we were given was on the ground floor and looked right onto a building site right outside the window. Consequently the furniture in our room was covered in a fine layer of building dust.

I am glad that we only stayed here a couple of nights, even that was two nights too many.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Classic - Arequipa, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

We very much regret the incident presented in your room, and we apologize for this incident. It is really important for us to guarantee our guests´ safety and we will definitely be taking your comments into consideration to take immediate action to correct this matter. We are glad that our team changed your room.

On the other hand, we regret that there was misunderstanding with your order in the restaurant. We assure you that our team is aware of your comments and that we will reinforce this matter with them.

Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience presented. We truly hope you can visit us any time soon.

Best regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel. It was Quiet, charming, reasonably priced, and very clean. All the staff were very professional and helpful. They offered free coca tea for the altitud sickness. Free WiFi in the room and anywhere in the hotel. Computers and printer, ATM machine, etc.

Front desk very helpful to direct us to restaurants and places to visit in Arequipa.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

In fact we stayed in another hotel of this chain in Nazca, but the reason i am writing the report here is to say thank you to all the staff of this hotel especially the manager for their professional, attentive and cordial attitude to their guests. As accidentally when leaving the hotel in Nazca we left 300 dollars in the room, this very day staff got in touch with us and quickly arranged money transfer to Arequipa where we were at the moment and where we immediately received money from the manager. I am sure Casa Andina hotel chain offers the same level of comfort in all its hotels so based on our experience in Nazca i would eagerly recommnend all their hotels for providing international standards rooms and service. And most importantly in this hotel chain you can be sure to find hospitality, professionalism and honesty of their staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had to enter by the back door as the bus couldn't get round to the front. Stayed for one night and the hotel is within comfortable walking distance from the main square and tourist attractions. Rooms are adequate, clean but nothing great. Food was terrible as the chef had been sent home and other staff cooked dinner (chicken was raw in the middle) however there are plenty of good restaurants nearby. Staff have a tendency to tidy up a bit quick in the restaurant - we put our bag down while we got breakfast and it was gone! Only to be found later at reception. Staff were friendly. Hotel is as near to a hostel as I would like to get.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Andina Classic - Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Classic - Arequipa

Address: Calle Jerusalen 603, Arequipa 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Classic - Arequipa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Andina Classic Arequipa is located in a contemporary building made out of white volcanic stone, offering its visitors comfortable and practial rooms in a safe and centrally located hotel. The hotel also features spacious common areas, including a practical terrace with a great views of Arequipa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Casa Andina Classic - Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Arequipa Hotel Arequipa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Andina Classic - Arequipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.