We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Arequipa

Save Saved
You added Casa Arequipa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Arequipa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Lima 409, Arequipa 20009, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 84 hotels in Arequipa
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Wow I had high expectations of this hotel and it exceeded them. The rooms are really lovely and comfortable. The lobby is just beautiful and a great place to hang out. Breakfast on the roof is amazing. But the people who work there really make it even nicer - they were so accommodating and friendly and kind. There were 7 of us in our group, all in our 40's and 50's, and we all consider staying at this hotel one of our highlights of Peru.

Some bonus things they did for us: we were able to leave some of our luggage in our rooms while we hiked in Colca Canyon for 3 days and when we returned our luggage was waiting for us in the same rooms - I can't tell you how nice that was! We also ordered pizza two nights we were there and ate it in the lobby (we ate so well at lunch those two days we didn't have space to eat dinner out as well) and they took care of plates, etc for us. The day we flew out we had to be at the airport early and they had coffee waiting for us (we drank a lot of coffee there).

The only bad thing was probably out of Casa Arequipa's control but there was a party nearby the last night we were there (It was unclear to me if the party was next door at the school or up on the roof) and a few of my friends didn't get much sleep because of the noise.

Room Tip: Since there were 7 of us, we had 5 different rooms at the hotel and all of them were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    45
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
58
171
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallée de Chevreuse, proche Paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We adored this hotel - it is friendly and intimate, with beautiful furnishings and decorations in both the bedrooms and public rooms. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace with views towards El Misti is stunning and the staff so helpful. We enjoyed the walk along leafy roads, past beautiful colonial houses to the town center - and the location in this calm neighbourhood ensures peaceful nights.
Of all the great hotels we stayed in during our holiday in Peru this was definitely one of the best - and great value for money.
Gill - from France

Room Tip: We stayed in the Library Room which was delightful - peaking into other rooms they all looked great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed for three nights here. The staff were polite and very attentive. The location is a 15 minute walk from the central plaza but that's not a problem. The breakfast was good and the views were excellent.

Room Tip: We did get bitten by bugs when we stayed in the Andina/Andes room but hopefully they've sorted t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puno, Peru
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the hotel and felt like home.
the staff is very friendly and helpful. A nice breakfast is included and the view from the terrace is awesome!
You can walk downtown but I recommend taking a cab that the hotel will arrange for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

beautiful place, with a very thoughtful staff. not so close to the mains square, but within a fairly walkable distance (cab ride cheap too). Got a nice room, and the breakfast at the terrace was really great! definetly recommend it! :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Casa Arequipa is a real gem. We stayed 2 nights before heading up to Colca and were delighted they managed to accommodate us on our return, despite a mining convention seemingly taking every room in the town! The room was large, decorated superbly and spotlessly clean, the bed as comfortable as I’ve experienced anywhere. Breakfast consisted of delicious fresh fruit, fresh bread and jams, cold meats, cheese and a choice of eggs.. consumed in a lovely sunny room with views of the volcanos.
I cannot compliment the staff highly enough, they were amazing, helping us in so many ways. Peruvian people are so friendly and warm and rightly proud of their beautiful country but the staff here go the extra step to make your stay as memorable as possible. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, if we ever return to Arequipa I will not look for anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Casa Arequipa was a lovely boutique hotel to stay at while I was in Arequipa. Each room has its own unique Peruvian charm. The décor and art work enhanced my sense of Arequipa! The staff were extremely polite and helpful. The view from the rooftop restaurant was amazing. Nothing like a cup of coffee while looking at Volcanos Misti and Pikchu Pikchu!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Arequipa

Address: Avenida Lima 409, Arequipa 20009, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Arequipa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Casa Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Arequipa Hotel Arequipa
Casa Hotel Arequipa
Arequipa Casa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Arequipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.