We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish there were six green circles!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Arequipa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Arequipa to your Saves list
Casa Arequipa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Lima 409, Arequipa 20009, Peru   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wish there were six green circles!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed at the wonderful Casa Arequipa in May 2012. We loved every aspect of the experience, the decor, the rooms, the incredible breakfast, and the general ambiance. I think what I enjoyed the most was the walk from the city center, I loved getting to know the streets of the neighbourhood and feeling like I was a local in Arequipa.
But the real gem of this hotel, as mentioned by many othes , is the staff. They got to know us by name, and part of the fun was chatting with everyone that worked at Casa Arequipa at the beginning and end of the day. They took care to safely put us in cabs (always jotting down the cab's number "just in case") and helped with any request be it big or small. Silvana was always smiling and so kind to us. However, I think the "piece de resistance" was when Snr. Damasso offered, ever so graciously, to walk to Puente Bolognesi with me to help me buy a charango (small Peruvian guitar) for my brother in law. It was really above the call of duty and I really appreciated this gesture.
If you like staying at small boutique hotels that are anything but cookie cutter, this is the hotel for you!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    53
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
60
187
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We only stayed one night at Casa Arequipa in late May 2012, but it was a delightful experience. The room was small but very nicely furnished with a great view of the mountains. Everything was also very clean. The staff was amazing. Silvana showed us the way to a nearby restaurant for lunch (walking with us part way since she knew we were exhausted from a delayed arrival into Lima and early morning flight to Arequipa). There was tea available in the den area (and 2 computers for guest use if needed). This area was nice to socialize with other guests too. As mentioned in other reviews, the roof top area for breakfast was wonderful, great views, food and service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

As said by another, this is a five-star hotel with three-star prices. This restored manor home combines old-world charm with modern comfort and high-class service. The beds are amazingly comfortable (which can be taken for granted outside the U.S.!) with firm yet soft mattresses and high-end linens. The complimentary breakfast is on the rooftop terrace, with beautiful views of snow-capped volcanoes and table service of nicely arranged cut fruit (mangoes, kiwis, apples, pears, etc.), fresh bread, juices, meat and cheese, and eggs cooked your way. Our room "The Honeymoon Room" was spacious, beautifully decorated, and kept immaculately clean. What truly makes this B&B stand out, however, is the service. My husband suffered a bout with Montezuma's revenge (picked-up in Puno), and the staff went above and beyond - they cancelled our Colca Canyon tour (and graciously fielded numerous calls from the tour operator, Giardino - the subject of a separate review), offered to bring him special meals of broth or rice, and when we eventually agreed, called an English-speaking doctor who came to the hotel, ran some tests, and prescribed antibiotics, all for a very reasonable price. They booked taxis for us, printed our boarding passes, pointed us towards the pharmacy, provided housekeeping at nontraditional hours, and generally bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable and taken care of like friends, rather than guests (without being intrusive). It doesn't get better than Casa Arequipa!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We just returned from a 3 week vacation in Peru. Our favorite hotel during this trip was the Casa Arequipa. This is a beautiful luxury hotel with only ten rooms at a mid range price. It is situated a 10 minute walk away from the Plaza de Armas. Every morning we were served a lovely plate of fresh fruit, buns, meat and cheese. We also had the option of ordering eggs for breakfast as well. The friendly staff are wonderful and do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning on staying in the beautiful city of Arequipa.

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Casa Arequipa and highly recommend it. It is a small hotel in a restored house in a quiet neighborhood, about a 15 minute walk to the main square. The rooms are spotless, nicely decorated and comfortable. The view of the volcanoes from the rooftop terrace is spectacular. But the real highlight are the staff, who go out of their way to ensure that you enjoy your stay by recommending restaurants and things to do, calling taxis (and writing down the taxi number in case of problems), making plane reservations (Silvana was on the phone for over an hour booking tickets for us) and one of them even helped our friend buy a churango. We've done a lot of travelling around the world and never had service like this at a hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

From the moment we walked in the door we knew we had chosen the right place in Arequipa. We arrived around 10:00 am from Cusco and were welcomed with fresh coffee and tea on the rooftop dinning area. After settling into our rooms our host suggested a restaurant within walking distance of the B&B and arranged a tour of Arequipa after lunch. They also arranged a guided tour of Colca Canyon with a charming guide (Blanca). After our 2 night visit to Colca (Colca Lodge) we returned to Casa Arequipa for our last night in Arequipa. They suggested the Zig Zag restaurant for dinner and their choice was spot on. We had a early flight back to Cusco the next morning and they prepared a delicious breakfast for us before they delivered us to the airport. Thank you Casa Arequipa for making our tour of Peru so special.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawford, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Situated in a quiet residential neighborhood just a 15 minute walk from the Plaza des Armas, Casa Arequipa is ideally located. The 10 guest bedrooms of this boutique hotel are charming and quiet and the professional staff is always available to help you decide on a restaurant for dinner, book or confirm flight reservations and recommend things to do in Arequipa not mentioned in guide books.
Your day begins with breakfast in the rooftop dining room – eggs prepared to order, sliced ham, cheese, fresh fruit, juice, coffee and tea, and conversation with other guests who share your appreciation of this aesthetically pleasing small hotel.
There are not many boutique hotels on any continent that match the service, quality and ambience of Casa Arequipa..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Arequipa

Address: Avenida Lima 409, Arequipa 20009, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#4 Family Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Arequipa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casa Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Arequipa Hotel Arequipa
Casa Hotel Arequipa
Arequipa Casa Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Arequipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.