We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Libertador Arequipa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Libertador Arequipa to your Saves list
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Bolivar s/n, Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Arequipa
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. It was the perfect hotel for us to relax and we will definitely come back here again. The room was very spacious, very clean and we couldn't have asked for better. We travel a lot in our work and vacations and always like to stay at very good hotels. This hotel would rank vey high in our various travels. There is a beautiful swimming pool and relaxation area and gardens. The buffet style breakfast was excellent with a very large selection. We would highly recommend this hotel of you are looking for relaxation time or as a base to do the various tours around / in Arequipa.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments an your time. We hope see you soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    76
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
66
110
12
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in June 2014 during a tour of Peru.We were the only people from our group who stayed here.Everyone was envious and commented that this hotel was far superior to other hotels in Arequipa.Rooms are spacious and the service was excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms looked deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest:

It is a pleasure to receive your comments, we appreciate your time to dedicate to share it with us.

We hope to see you soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is the third time I have stayed at this Hotel , the location is very nice surrounded by park and an easy walk to Plaza de Armas
While most staff are very friendly the service is very ordinary. I find the rooms a bit dark but there are some nice communal areas , by the pool to enjoy the sun and view and the bar for a drink.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments and your time. We hope see you soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Did a sandwich stay in a suite at this hotel for a weekend between two stays at the Casa Andina in the old town.

The suite was very nice and modern, and very clean and proper. But it completely paled in relation to the suite at the Casa Andina. So, although the room would compare well enough to most other hotel rooms, the local alternative in the old town at a similar price is an order of magnitude more impressive (have posted separate review).

Having said that I certainly would not write off this hotel as a viable alternative. It all comes down to preferences. The Libertador has less space limitations otherwise, and has much better leisure facilities. It's situated in the Selva Alegre park up in the north end of central Arequipa, and consequently is very peaceful and has a large garden, with a nice pool with heated jacuzzi, a decent gym and a sauna and steam bath. So if you like the extra facilities, this is the place to book.

The common areas here are also very nice. It was great to sit out in the outside patio bar watching a world cup game by the pool, with a view over the snow capped Chachani volcano between the trees (And when it gets colder at night the main bar of the hotel was also nice to move in to...). Breakfast here was also pretty decent.

Service was generally more varied than at the Casa Andina (some staff members very friendly and accomodating, others a bit more stand-offish and cold).

All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel if you like the facilities they offer. I reckon you get quite a bit of hotel for your money here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest:

We are really grateful with your comments and your feedback. We hope see you soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I recently visited the city of Arequipa, Peru in June 2014. When I first looked at the Hotel, I thought it was beautiful. Front desk service very pleasant and friendly. The front desk customer service were very informative and personable. We got to our room and it was very clean, modern and the bed was more than comfortable! Breakfast in the morning was filling and delicious. The hotel throughout is clean and beautiful. The only thing we ordered that I would not recommend to do is order hot chocolate from room service, it's not tasty. The floor gets a bit wet when you shower. I believe they tried to get fancy but they might want to think of remodeling the shower door. The plaza is in walking distance. The city tour bus picks you up at the hotel just let front desk know you want to do the tour so they can reserve the pick up at the hotel. It is worth taking the city tour bus for four hours if you have the time. Visit the 150 year old turtle they behind the pool, she's gorgeous!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest:

Is a pleasure received your comment and knows that you enjoyed your stay with us, We hope see you soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I visited Arequipa for 3 days from June 26th to June 29th, and I chose this hotel for my visit in Arequipa. The hotel was approximately 10 minutes walking distance from the city center, and was in an excellent location. The hotel and room was very clean, and provided an excellent breakfast every morning. The hotel was in a very safe and quiet location, and had super comfortable bed! The reception desk employees were very helpful, informative and provided us with great recommendations of places to eat and see. They were also very nice, and pleasant. A special mention to Christian who could not do enough to please us. This is the only place that I would stay, if I were to come back to Arequipa.

Room Tip: I stayed in the first floor, and my room was super quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments and we have shared with our team. We hope see you soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel was awesome. I went with my family for 5 days. The standards are very high, family oriented, great customer service, very clean, peaceful, etc. In other words, it is a great hotel. We will be back to the Hotel on our next vacation. Staff members were very helpful and friendly. Great food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comments. We hope see you soon!

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
0.7 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#1 of 89 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Lago Estelar
Hotel El Lago Estelar
#17 of 89 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 89 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Classic - Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Libertador Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Libertador Arequipa

Address: Plaza Bolivar s/n, Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Libertador Arequipa 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing better than relaxing in one of the 88 newly remodeled rooms, in the atmosphere of peace and tranquility of the Selva Alegre district, just 5 minutes from the Plaza de Armas of Arequipa and 20 minutes from the airport Rodriguez Ballon.Whether traveling for pleasure, you can begin to enjoy the pool and the gardens, as well as our fine restaurants Los Robles. To close deals, you can access the lobby, with workstations, and to enjoy the company of good friends, is the Montoneros Bar remodeled with a very modern cellar station and with direct access from the street. The hotel has a new multi-purpose area, ideal for major events and conventions of up to 900 people and has ample parking. AlsoArequipa has a lot to offer, and the hotel can arrange tours and transfers to the Colca Canyon, the Convent of Santa Catalina and other attractions within the city. In addition, those seeking more activities with more adrenaline, offers boating on the river Chili. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Libertador Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Libertador Arequipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.