We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Libertador Arequipa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Libertador Arequipa to your Saves list
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Bolivar s/n, Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Arequipa
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Comfort and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had a 2-night stay. The hotel is modern but finished in classical style. Public rooms are spacious and elegant, bedrooms well-appointed and comfortable. We had dinner in the dining room on the first night and the food was very good, served very properly, though the restaurant was nearly empty. Breakfasts are very good with plenty of choice and quality products. We had a free afternoon which we spent by the lovely pool and enjoyed watching a wedding just a few yards away in the grounds. Service for the whole stay was excellent and patient with our poor Spanish. WiFi worked well everywhere.
My only small niggle is that the poolside dining had the same menu as dinner the previous evening where a smaller/simpler menu would be more appropriate.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments and your time. We hope see you soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    77
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
68
110
12
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a lovely hotel and we stayed here for two nights.
Lovely setting away from the hustle and bustle of the main square but within walking distance, 15 to 20 minutes. Or if you are feeling lazy catch a cab for 5 soles.
The room we stayed in was very spacious with a large comfortable bed. Lovely bathroom as well.
We did not eat dinner or lunch at the hotel as our Guide had suggested several restaurants off the main square, so we tried these. I must admit the food in all the restaurants we tried was very good, especially the Italian one.
The hotel has a nice pool area where you can sit out and relax after a day of sightseeing. Staff were are all very friendly, nice and efficient.
Breakfast was buffet style with a selection of hot meals including eggs, bacon, sausages, potato dishes, pastries, breads, fruit, yogurts etc. The croissants were the best I had in Peru.
All in all a lovely hotel, with lovely amenities and ideally located.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments and for your time. We hope see you soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Alabama
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

What a treat! Very quiet location within a 20 minute "old person" walk from the heart of the city. It was everything you expect from a five star hotel. Service was excellent! The breakfast was fabulous. The room clean and comfortable. The staff went out of their way to make sure every request was answered promptly. The property may be older but lovingly cared for and I would say the best place to stay in Arequipa.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments we really appreciated! We hope see you soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Beautiful hotel with luxury amenities and striking grounds within walking or short cab distance of center of town. Large pool and outdoor dining area surrounded by a park. Good breakfast. WiFi worked well both in public areas and in guest rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments. We have shared with our Libertador team. We hope see you soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel is very elegant and has a timeless charm. On arrival we were provided with a welcome drink in the bar and as it was late we ordered room service. The food was very good and service friendly. The hotel has a beautiful garden and the gym, while small, provides a reasonable workout. As the hotel is centrally located It is easy to walk to the Plaza de Armes and other tourist attractions. On checking out Tomas, the bellboy, was very helpful and friendly and ensured that our driver to the airport arrived at the time requested. We would definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest:

We aprecciate your comments and we like to know enjoy your stay with us. Hope to see you soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

What a super hotel in a great city. The staff were very attentive, the food excellent and such a pretty outlook. We enjoyed seeing the extremely large tortoise in the gardens and although the swimming pool looked very inviting, we had a full schedule.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your comments. We hope see you soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
163 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel is within a colonial style building and is absolute top. The interiour of the hotel is wonderful. It has a great terrace on which you can have your breakfast if you want, or have a nice drink in the afternoon. Also there is a nice swimmingpool and a large garden. The hotel is a welcome haven after a day of visit in Arequipa center. It is only a few minutes aways from the Plaza de Armas by taxi, but so quiet one feels a releaved when returning to the hotel. The reception staff is efficient, friendly and very helpful. The do anything to help you. The rooms are spacious ( we had a suite), the bed very good and the bathroom complete. In the evening the room was a little cold, but after talking to,the staff things were corrected. The restaurant of the hotel is very good with some excellent food, and again the staff is very professional and extremely friendly.
We highly recommend the Libertador Hotel in Arequipa !

Room Tip: Take your breakfast outside on the terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments and for your time. We have shared with our team your comments. We hope see you soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
0.7 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#1 of 89 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Lago Estelar
Hotel El Lago Estelar
#17 of 89 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 89 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Classic - Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Libertador Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Libertador Arequipa

Address: Plaza Bolivar s/n, Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Libertador Arequipa 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing better than relaxing in one of the 88 newly remodeled rooms, in the atmosphere of peace and tranquility of the Selva Alegre district, just 5 minutes from the Plaza de Armas of Arequipa and 20 minutes from the airport Rodriguez Ballon.Whether traveling for pleasure, you can begin to enjoy the pool and the gardens, as well as our fine restaurants Los Robles. To close deals, you can access the lobby, with workstations, and to enjoy the company of good friends, is the Montoneros Bar remodeled with a very modern cellar station and with direct access from the street. The hotel has a new multi-purpose area, ideal for major events and conventions of up to 900 people and has ample parking. AlsoArequipa has a lot to offer, and the hotel can arrange tours and transfers to the Colca Canyon, the Convent of Santa Catalina and other attractions within the city. In addition, those seeking more activities with more adrenaline, offers boating on the river Chili. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Libertador Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Libertador Arequipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.