We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Libertador Arequipa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Libertador Arequipa to your Saves list
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Bolivar s/n, Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book directly and save!
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

A real five star hotel. Rooms very comfortable and spacious. Set in a parkland area 20 minuted walk - of 5 sol in a taxi - from the city centre.
A complementary Pisco Sour on arrival was welcomed.
The restaurant - both evening meal and breakfast - was good.
Poolside bar in a nice setting.
I read the comment that it has no atmosphere - it has. Five star atmosphere.
Especially as this was our first experience of altitude, a good haven.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pwcrafton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments and will be shared with Libertador Arequipa team, We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a top class hotel in arequipa. I don't ever hesitate to book this hotel when I come on vacation. Close to the city center but far enough for peace and quiet. From when you arrive till you leave, they meet and exceed your expectations. Without a doubt the only hotel I will stay at while in town.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MitchTijero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We hope see you soon.

Cordially,

Renbzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Do not go there if you haven't booked over internet before. Staff wants to sell you a room
for a much higher price... of course they think you are gringo and stupid and don't understand a word of spanish, suddenly during i tried to negotiate the price, i hear that they quote over the phone much lower prices to some other people! When you tell them
they react like i should t listen to, what they quote on the phone and tell you in a arrogant manner you should have booked over internet .. not very professional staff, the hotel
has no atmosphere at all, staff is like i sayd not very helpful. Went to the Casa Andina afterwards
where the staff was very helpfull and the hotel is great. Since i am in the wheelchair i like to see the rooms before i book a room. Once again handicaped people get discriminated with this policy that you are better off reserving your hotel over internet, without knowing what they expect in the bathroom... Poor Policy from the management, they obviously take handicaped persons as idiots and think since they are in the hotel they won't try another one, because it will be a hazzle for them ....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrieerbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisBarboza, Director of Operation - Corporate at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback, we regret not being able to fulfill your expectations of staying with us. We know that there was a misunderstanding with our prices since you told us you found a U.S. $ 59.00 rate in our web site. We tried to find that rate to honor it, and provide you our business center but we could not find that rate anywhere. That’s why we offered you our best rate available in that moment.

To our hotel will be a pleasure if you give us an opportunity to serve you in the near future so you can live the experience that others customers refer in Trip Advisor, because our excellent service and dedication to our guest.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Libertador is in a quiet location just ten minutes walk from Arequipa's historic centre. It is close to a park, that for some reason remained closed during our visit, however, the hotel has it's own landscaped grounds featuring a freeform good sized if rather cool pool. As others have mentioned, gardens include a large tortoise and some alpaca, all very friendly! The public areas, lounge, are very elegant and spacious. Large, all modcons bedroom faced inner courtyard garden but seemed to be quite dark inside despite bright daylight. Breakfast buffet excellent, wide range of food available.
We think this hotel would be difficult to beat for comfort and convenience when staying in Arequipa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your comments.

Cordially

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were tere for two nights. In the plaza area. Walking distance to every thing- museum,churches, food. Hotel looked palatial. Breakfast was out of this world. Service was very good. Staff was very friendly
.

Room Tip: try not to select room facing main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments and we hope see you soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel! It even has its own park. In that park you'll find Juanita, the 100+ year old turtle and a group of alpacas. I enjoyed spending time with them.
The pool area is lovely with plenty of chairs and shade.
The service was great. Everyone was so friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was plentiful with a great selection of food.
I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. It is a short walk to all the tourist attractions. A 5 star hotel, but reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank for your comments. We hope see you soon.

Cordially

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location within large grounds, and an excellent setting for an outdoor breakfast. 15 minute downhill walk to town centre, crossing a main ring road - recommend a taxi back. The problems were basic:-
1) no assistance from reception in finding our room - just pointed up the stairs. If your room is at the back of the quadrangle, your room number is not shown until you have walked along two sides - so poor signage.
2) no hotel directory of services in room
3) plenty of hot water, but intermittent when cold added - as previous reviews.
4) and most annoying.......no menu displayed for evening meals outside the restaurant. Why would anyone want to eat somewhere where they have no idea what is available, and at what cost? Suggest management view the menu at the excellent Zig Zag in town - multi lingual with great explanations.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments and share the feedback with our team. We apologize for any service that exceeded their expectations which help us to improve.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.7 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#1 of 92 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 stars 832 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
0.6 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Classic
Casa Andina Classic
#38 of 92 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 stars 614 reviews
5.0 mi away
El Lago Estelar Hotel
El Lago Estelar Hotel
#17 of 92 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#9 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Libertador Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Libertador Arequipa

Address: Plaza Bolivar s/n, Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Libertador Arequipa 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing better than relaxing in one of the 88 newly remodeled rooms, in the atmosphere of peace and tranquility of the Selva Alegre district, just 5 minutes from the Plaza de Armas of Arequipa and 20 minutes from the airport Rodriguez Ballon.Whether traveling for pleasure, you can begin to enjoy the pool and the gardens, as well as our fine restaurants Los Robles. To close deals, you can access the lobby, with workstations, and to enjoy the company of good friends, is the Montoneros Bar remodeled with a very modern cellar station and with direct access from the street. The hotel has a new multi-purpose area, ideal for major events and conventions of up to 900 people and has ample parking. AlsoArequipa has a lot to offer, and the hotel can arrange tours and transfers to the Colca Canyon, the Convent of Santa Catalina and other attractions within the city. In addition, those seeking more activities with more adrenaline, offers boating on the river Chili. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Libertador Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing