We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Libertador Arequipa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Libertador Arequipa to your Saves list
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Bolivar s/n, Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

A real five star hotel. Rooms very comfortable and spacious. Set in a parkland area 20 minuted walk - of 5 sol in a taxi - from the city centre.
A complementary Pisco Sour on arrival was welcomed.
The restaurant - both evening meal and breakfast - was good.
Poolside bar in a nice setting.
I read the comment that it has no atmosphere - it has. Five star atmosphere.
Especially as this was our first experience of altitude, a good haven.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments and will be shared with Libertador Arequipa team, We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    51
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
55
11
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a top class hotel in arequipa. I don't ever hesitate to book this hotel when I come on vacation. Close to the city center but far enough for peace and quiet. From when you arrive till you leave, they meet and exceed your expectations. Without a doubt the only hotel I will stay at while in town.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We hope see you soon.

Cordially,

Renbzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Do not go there if you haven't booked over internet before. Staff wants to sell you a room
for a much higher price... of course they think you are gringo and stupid and don't understand a word of spanish, suddenly during i tried to negotiate the price, i hear that they quote over the phone much lower prices to some other people! When you tell them
they react like i should t listen to, what they quote on the phone and tell you in a arrogant manner you should have booked over internet .. not very professional staff, the hotel
has no atmosphere at all, staff is like i sayd not very helpful. Went to the Casa Andina afterwards
where the staff was very helpfull and the hotel is great. Since i am in the wheelchair i like to see the rooms before i book a room. Once again handicaped people get discriminated with this policy that you are better off reserving your hotel over internet, without knowing what they expect in the bathroom... Poor Policy from the management, they obviously take handicaped persons as idiots and think since they are in the hotel they won't try another one, because it will be a hazzle for them ....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisBarboza, Director of Operation - Corporate at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback, we regret not being able to fulfill your expectations of staying with us. We know that there was a misunderstanding with our prices since you told us you found a U.S. $ 59.00 rate in our web site. We tried to find that rate to honor it, and provide you our business center but we could not find that rate anywhere. That’s why we offered you our best rate available in that moment.

To our hotel will be a pleasure if you give us an opportunity to serve you in the near future so you can live the experience that others customers refer in Trip Advisor, because our excellent service and dedication to our guest.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Libertador is in a quiet location just ten minutes walk from Arequipa's historic centre. It is close to a park, that for some reason remained closed during our visit, however, the hotel has it's own landscaped grounds featuring a freeform good sized if rather cool pool. As others have mentioned, gardens include a large tortoise and some alpaca, all very friendly! The public areas, lounge, are very elegant and spacious. Large, all modcons bedroom faced inner courtyard garden but seemed to be quite dark inside despite bright daylight. Breakfast buffet excellent, wide range of food available.
We think this hotel would be difficult to beat for comfort and convenience when staying in Arequipa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your comments.

Cordially

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were tere for two nights. In the plaza area. Walking distance to every thing- museum,churches, food. Hotel looked palatial. Breakfast was out of this world. Service was very good. Staff was very friendly
.

Room Tip: try not to select room facing main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments and we hope see you soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a great hotel! It even has its own park. In that park you'll find Juanita, the 100+ year old turtle and a group of alpacas. I enjoyed spending time with them.
The pool area is lovely with plenty of chairs and shade.
The service was great. Everyone was so friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was plentiful with a great selection of food.
I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. It is a short walk to all the tourist attractions. A 5 star hotel, but reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank for your comments. We hope see you soon.

Cordially

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Lovely location within large grounds, and an excellent setting for an outdoor breakfast. 15 minute downhill walk to town centre, crossing a main ring road - recommend a taxi back. The problems were basic:-
1) no assistance from reception in finding our room - just pointed up the stairs. If your room is at the back of the quadrangle, your room number is not shown until you have walked along two sides - so poor signage.
2) no hotel directory of services in room
3) plenty of hot water, but intermittent when cold added - as previous reviews.
4) and most annoying.......no menu displayed for evening meals outside the restaurant. Why would anyone want to eat somewhere where they have no idea what is available, and at what cost? Suggest management view the menu at the excellent Zig Zag in town - multi lingual with great explanations.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments and share the feedback with our team. We apologize for any service that exceeded their expectations which help us to improve.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Libertador Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Libertador Arequipa

Address: Plaza Bolivar s/n, Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Libertador Arequipa 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing better than relaxing in one of the 88 newly remodeled rooms, in the atmosphere of peace and tranquility of the Selva Alegre district, just 5 minutes from the Plaza de Armas of Arequipa and 20 minutes from the airport Rodriguez Ballon.Whether traveling for pleasure, you can begin to enjoy the pool and the gardens, as well as our fine restaurants Los Robles. To close deals, you can access the lobby, with workstations, and to enjoy the company of good friends, is the Montoneros Bar remodeled with a very modern cellar station and with direct access from the street. The hotel has a new multi-purpose area, ideal for major events and conventions of up to 900 people and has ample parking. alsoArequipa has a lot to offer, and the hotel can arrange tours and transfers to the Colca Canyon, the Convent of Santa Catalina and other attractions within the city. In addition, those seeking more activities with more adrenaline, offers boating on the river Chili. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Libertador Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Libertador Arequipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.