We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Libertador Arequipa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Libertador Arequipa to your Saves list
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Bolivar s/n, Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Arequipa
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was a charming hotel! They had colca tea ready when you arrived to check in. It was too cold to swim, but the pool was very clean and pretty. There was a huge tortoise and some alpacas on the grounds. We sat out by the pool and had yummy pisco sours - nice way to end a long day. The beds were extremely comfortable and had great linens. The bathroom was a nice size and very clean. Breakfast was a buffet and all the food was very good. The dinner we had after we arrived was also very good - I had steak and it was great! You must try Queso Helado while you are in Arequipa. We couldn't find it in any of the other cities we visited in Peru.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. Which I have shared with my team.We hope see you soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    61
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
50
73
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at the Libertador in Arequipa as bookends to our tour of Colca Canyon. Our experience was excellent:
-The staff was consistently efficient and very helpful,
-Our rooms met and exceeded expectations, and
-Our dining experiences were great, with attention given to every detail.
As a bonus, try the Libertador's pisco sours-delicious! Also, take advantage of the breakfast buffet. It was comprehensive and again, delicious. Service starts before 6am, which accommodated our crazy schedule.
We could not have been more pleased with selecting this property and would do so again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, Gerente at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We hope see you soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel of the Libertador chain is located outside the centre of Arequipa, only 25 min walk to the Plaza de Armas. Main lobby, restaurant and bar are nicely decorated. Rooms are rather small and dark and so are the corridors (carpets in dark colors and walls in undefinable yellow are not helping to be in a good mood).
Breakfast is served on the terrace in the sun. Dinner was nicely prepared. Both are of more than average quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent two full weeks in Peru, always on the move visiting this amazing country. Of all the hotels we stayed in this was the best one with great service from very helpful staff, flexibility when we needed it (check out times) and a lovely outside pool area to chill on a sun bed.
The hotel is outside of the main town but a very easy (reliable and 5/6 soles each way) taxi ride to the colonial and characterful city of Arequipa.
The gardens are very well tended and have some Alpaca's and a huge Galapagos tortoise in the, all very friendly and accessible.
Room service was speedy and accurate and breakfast was good quality food. We didnt eat in the restaurant and the cocktails in the bar were very expensive.

Room Tip: If you are a family of three, ask for the BIG triple rooms, they vary a lot in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your comments, thank you very much.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel Libertador Arequipa was definitely one of the best hotels we have stayed during our holiday in Peru. The service in the hotel is excellent and I can recommend everybody the breakfast they serve.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your comments,which I have shared with my team.We hope see you soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumelle, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was by far my favorite hotel in Peru. I stayed here with my friend for two knights and then went to Chivay on a bus, we were supposed to go to Bolivia after but I got very altitude sick and we had to go back to Arequipa. The Libertador was extremely helpful in finding a doctor who came to our room. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are beautiful. They have tons of English TV channels. The breakfast was good (for Peru). This is a fantastic hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, General Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for three nights on and off around a trip to Colca Canyon.

Throughout, we found the staff to be pleasant and welcoming, with particular compliments to reception and the restaurant.

The food was tasty, though portions are large for those suffering altitude sickness symptoms post-Cusco/Puno. Two starters proved sufficient for most of us in the evening.

For those travelling with children/those who particularly like tortoises, make sure to ask to see Juanita.

My one recommendation to the management would be to fix the slamming of the room doors, which can disrupt sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoMenchola, Manager at Hotel Libertador Arequipa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Cordially,

Renzo Menchola
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Libertador Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Libertador Arequipa

Address: Plaza Bolivar s/n, Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Libertador Arequipa 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing better than relaxing in one of the 88 newly remodeled rooms, in the atmosphere of peace and tranquility of the Selva Alegre district, just 5 minutes from the Plaza de Armas of Arequipa and 20 minutes from the airport Rodriguez Ballon.Whether traveling for pleasure, you can begin to enjoy the pool and the gardens, as well as our fine restaurants Los Robles. To close deals, you can access the lobby, with workstations, and to enjoy the company of good friends, is the Montoneros Bar remodeled with a very modern cellar station and with direct access from the street. The hotel has a new multi-purpose area, ideal for major events and conventions of up to 900 people and has ample parking. AlsoArequipa has a lot to offer, and the hotel can arrange tours and transfers to the Colca Canyon, the Convent of Santa Catalina and other attractions within the city. In addition, those seeking more activities with more adrenaline, offers boating on the river Chili. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Libertador Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Libertador Arequipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.