We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa to your Saves list
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Portal de Flores 116, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We chose this hotel above others for its location in the city and we weren't disappointed! The hotel itself inside is a little dated for my taste, however it was very clean everywhere so this didn't matter. The rooms were very comfortable and the shower was very powerful!

The restaurant overlooks the main square and you really can't beat its location. We had a slight hiccup with the lunch that my mum ordered as it came raw, despite not actually being described as raw (lost in translation) however after a little two-ing and fro-ing it came back cooked and was delicious!

Breakfast was nice, although we stayed here 2 nights we only sampled it on one day as we had to leave very early before breakfast started on the 2nd day. That said it was great to be able to grab some bread and drinks at reception which they lay on for any guests needing to leave at the crack of dawn!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Toria,

Warm greetings on behalf of the team Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa Hotel.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our wonderful location in the centre of the beautiful city of Arequipa.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa – Hotel when your travels bring you to Peru again.

Kind regards,

Erika Gutierrez
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    125
    37
    11
    10
See reviews for
40
129
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex,UK
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

The hotel is situated on the central plaza and near to shops and restaurants. However, this is the only good thing about the hotel.

The whole place is outdated and in dire need of refurbishment. It's dark, dingy, and decorated in baffling brown complete with brown plastic sofas.

Our bathroom had a trick toilet that gave a vigorous backwash at you if not careful. You would definately have wet feet if you stood too close after flushing. Yuck.

This was one of the few hotels on our trip around Peru that did not have tea/coffee making facilities in the room. The air-conditioning was old and noisy. All in all it is not somewhere we would stay again or recommend to others.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm regards on behalf of the team at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Hotel - Arequipa.We would like to offer you our apologies for the inconvenience regarding the room we assigned you at chech in time. We regret did not meet your expectations in terms of infraestructure of our hotel.

Your comments help us in our constant efforts to offer to our guest the best services under quality standars.

Kind regards,


Erika Gutierrez
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Had 3 nights here interspersed with a night at Colca Canyon. First room was quiet enough but spoiled slightly by cooking smell/ noise from kitchen/ restaurant which seemed to share an air vent which came through bathroom (fine if kept door closed). Commented on this and on last night they upgraded us to a suite on main square which was lovely. Well insulated so no issues with noise. Small restaurant only seemed to be used for breakfast as so much choice nearby. Nice to have coffee or drinks on balcony facing onto square. Overall a big city centre hotel used by flight crews and tour groups. Perhaps slightly in need of a refurb in some areas but very happy to stay there again

Room Tip: Try and get one away from kitchen/ restaurant. Front facing onto main square is best (if more expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Warm greetings on behalf of the team at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Hotel - Arequipa. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback about your experience at our hotel.

We are glad to hear that the team members did their best effort to make your stay more comfortable.

Kind Regards,

Erika Gutierrez
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

A nice hotel with great staff at reception (well done Shayla!). We were in rooms 409 and 209 (two separate nights), which both smelt of cigarette smoke (apparently from the casino nearby), so Sheyla upgraded us to a room at the front which was much better.

We felt the breakfast was a bit poor, with cold scrambled eggs and probably the worst coffee we had in Peru, but to be able eat on the terrace overlooking the city square and the cathedral was a consolation.

Overall a nice hotel with a swimming pool terrace on the 5th floor where we relaxed before being picked up for our trip back to Lima and then home :(.

Room Tip: Avoid 409 and 209 or any at the back as there is a bad smell of cigarette smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Warm greetings on behalf of the team at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Hotel - Arequipa.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the service you received from our Reception staff.
We are truly sorry to hear that the breakfast we gave you tainted your experience here At sonesta Arequipa.

Comments and feedback like yours helps us in our going efforts to provide our guests the best services under quality standars.


Kind Regards

Erika Gutierrez
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights and located in the centre of the city with view of the plaza...couldn't ask for better location and within walking distance of several interesting sites.
The rooms are a bit small but very clean....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Coordinadora de Calidad at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Warm greetings on behalf of the team at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Hotel - Arequipa. Thank you very much for your nice comment. We are delighted to hear that you liked our especially the very central location - next to the Main Square.

We hope to welcome you back again.


Kind Regards,

María Gracia Vilchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I've been twice in Arequipa and at the first time walking through the historical center I saw the Sonesta and thought it would be ideal to stay there next time in town and actually I did. The hotel is quite well located, I would say in the best place of the historical center. Just across the main square, where the magnificient cathedral is located. Walking distance to traditional restaurants, shops and the wonderful Santa Catalina Monastery. Although the furniture seems to be not renovated for while, the rooms are very confortable with the facilities one needs to relax. The restaurant has a terrace with a marvellous view to the square and the cathedral. It worths staying there watching the people walking around the square, its gardens and trees. From the terrace in a clear day you can also spot the volcane and its permanent glacier.
But besides its location, arquitecture, restaurant, terrace and athmosphere the most importat at Sonesta is its amazing staff. Young people always with a smiles on the face. Always helpful and willing to provide you a great service. The two times I've been to Arequipa was for business, but I'll be back with my family and definitively will stay at the Sonesta. No doubts the best option for enjoying the ancient city of Arequipa. The gate for Colca and Puno.

Room Tip: Although a little more expensive than the standard rooms, ask for a room facing the square and the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings on behalf of the team at Sonesta Posadas de Inca Hotel - Arequipa.
We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations and you enjoyed your visit our beautiful city.

Comments and feedback like yours help us in our ongoing efforts to provide our guest the highest quality of service and hospitality possible.

Kind Regards,

María Gracia Vilchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Very old fashioned but met most of our requirements. Might have given it a better rating if it had not been for the lack of breakfast on our final morning. It must be a common occurrence for people to have early morning flights so why just 4 pieces of dry bread, 4 pieces of fruit, coffee and tea. No jam, butter, cake. There were 8 of us and there was not even sufficient fruit juice for all.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Esteemed Guest,

Warm greetings of behalf of the team of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa Hotel. We greatly value the comments and input which our valued guest provide us with.

We would like to offer you our apologies for the inconvenince regarding the breakfast. We regret not having met your expectations in terms of breakfast service.
We provide our guests who leave the hotel early in the morning, a basic station with coffee, tea, bread, fruit, juice from 4:00 a.m. to 6:00 a.m. And our breakfast buffet starts from 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.

Be assured that our main objective is the satisfaction of our guests and feedback like yours helps us in our constant effortsto offer to our guest the best services under quality standars.


Kind regards,

María Vilchez Calderón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa

Address: Portal de Flores 116, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Arequipa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privileged location opposite the Plaza de Armas and next to the beautiful Cathedral of Arequipa, it allows easy access to major attractions like the Santa Catalina Monastery, the Museum of the Lady of Ampato and other tourist attractions. Excellent infrastructure, friendly atmosphere, variety of cuisine, highly qualified staff and excellent location, are the characteristics of the Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa hotel. The historic city center is designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO because of its uniqueness, aesthetic and cultural significance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Arequipa Hotel Arequipa
Sonesta Arequipa
Arequipa Sonesta Posada Del Inca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.