We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place in Arequipa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa to your Saves list
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Portal de Flores 116, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Arequipa
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best place in Arequipa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I recently visited Peru we started on Cuzco and traveled all over to the south as i said we first visited Machu Pichu then after four days in Cuzco we went to Arequipa beautiful Place and by word of mouth we end up on this great Hotel Posada del inca let me tell you i will recommend this wonderful hotel right outside the door it shows 4 stars but i think the person who rated this great place lost probably the glasses it is a 5 star hotel. Great people,great atmosphere and they have a great General Manager Mr. Fernando Amat he is doing a great job,great person, when you visit Arequipa please stay there even if they don't have rooms available they will find the second best place for you.Great job people keep up the good work

Room Tip: any room they provide is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest :

Warm greeting from the team of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Hotel.
Thank you for share your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to know that your stay with us met your expectations. Our team members are always motivated in order to provide to our guests the best services under quality standars.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Aracelli Moreno
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    141
    45
    12
    10
See reviews for
48
138
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The main feature is its location (in the heart of the center town, right to the Cathedral) and from there you can get to different attractions by foot (some churches, the Museum where is Juanita the mummy, the Cathedral, Santa Catalina Cloister, some clubs e.g. Forum, nice restaurants and fast foods and a mini market). Also, the breakfast buffet is the second feature of the hotel and if you like it, you can take it in the balcony with a great view to the Main Place (Plaza de Armas) and the Cathedral. So if you travel with a great partner, your stay will be phenomenal. Because I ussually live in a humid place (because Arequipa has a very dry weather) the rooms - conveniently - count with humidifier, so life was very much easier from that point.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest :

Warm greeting on behalf of the team of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa Hotel.
We would like to thank the time you took to share your comments and let us know your impressions of our hotel.
It is important for us to know that your stay with us met your expectations. We are grateful for your preference.
We hope you have the opportunity to come back to our city.

We look forward to have you with us again.

Kind Regards,

Aracelli Moreno
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The location of this hotel is the best ever! It's on the main square in the centre of the town and you can sit on the balcony at breakfast time and watch the world go by, plus glimpsing the surrounding snow-capped mountains. You can't get much better than that! Then, after the sun has gone down, you can go to the top floor and look over the square again with all the lights shining and take a million photos of the cathedral all lit up!!! The rooms were good, the staff pleasant and the breakfast was excellent. What more can anyone want?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest :

Kind regards from the team of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa.
We are thankfull to receive your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We are glad that our services met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are very pleased to know that you could enjoy the beauty of our city from our privileged location and we look forward to have you with us again.

Best regards,

Aracelli Moreno
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel had the best location we had all over Peru. It's right on one side of the main square in Arequipa. The rooms are clean and of good size. We didn't have a view but there wasn't any noise either. But you have the best view of the square from the breakfast area, which is a terrace on the 2nd floor. Breakfast was also the best we had in Peru (we stayed at 7 hotels during our Peru tour). There's free coca tea in the lobby and they also serve cookies with it in the evenings.
On the top of the hotel there is a small swimming pool (but it's too cold for anyone to use it, I suppose) with another great view of the main square and surrounding area. So, what is it not to like about this hotel? And believe me, I am always very critical (but not absurd either).

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest :

Warm greetings on behalf of the team of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinions regarding your stay in our hotel.
Your comments inspire us to keep giving our best efforts in order to maintain and improve our quality standards.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities, services and location.
We look forward to have you with us again.

Best Regards,

Aracelli Moreno
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I'll start off by saying that the location of this hotel is superb, as it overlooks the main square in Arequipa....unfortunately that's as good as it gets.
Try as I might, I could not erase 2 of the 4* displayed on the plaque as you enter the hotel....as 2* is all it's worth (IMHO).
The majority of the staff are very helpful and friendly....I did say majority (not all).
However, the actual hotel is another matter...it would appear that the management seem to think it's ok to charge premium rates for a sub standard hotel due to it's prime location. I stayed in two different rooms, although they were adjacent rooms, so mirror images of each other ..in every respect. Both fairly small for twin rooms and both dark and in total need of renovation...in addition to which, this was the only hotel of the 10 I stayed in throughout Peru, that did not supply free bottled water in the bathroom...and this was one of the most expensive !!
The food at breakfast could have been hotter for the food that was supposed to be hot and the overall quality could have been better.
Overall...a poor experience !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest :

Kind regards from the team of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us.
We regret not having met your expectations in many aspects of your stay. In terms of infrastructure our hotel forms part of some historical buildings in the city making it difficult for us to make mayor changes in the construction. However we will take special care of the aspects that did not satisfied your expectations in order to improve the quality standards of our services.


Best regards,

Aracelli Moreno
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Rooms are very noisy, you can hear cars honking its horns all night and day, rooms are big enough but dirty, I thinks they need better maintenance. Breakfast could be better considering teh rate we paid for the room. Staff needs to speak better English, they just can say a s imple phrase and when you ask something they do not answer you becasue they do not understand you.. I think this hotel is very overrated, considering the services we got. The only thing that is positive is the great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest :

Warm greetings from the team of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay in our Hotel.
We regret not having met your expectations. We offer you our appologies if your stay with us was not pleaseant becuse of aspects such as cleaness of the room and the noise you heard form outside.
We will consider all your recommendations regarding the service and products that we offer in order to improve our quality standars. We will take special care of the aspects you have mentioned.

Best regards,

Aracelli Moreno
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel located in front of the Plaza Mayor, walking distance to main attractions. They welcome us with fresh fruit punch - very nice. Service is great and attentive. The have WIFI. Rooms are OK, very clean. It's a combination of good service, good location and price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest :

Kind regards from the team of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa Hotel.

We are glad to receive your positive comments regarding your stay in our hotel.
It is very important for us to know that our services met your expectations and that your stay in Arequipa was pleasant.
Your comments inspire us to keep working in order to reach our main goal wich is to fullfill and exceed our guest expectations.

We look forward to have you with us again.


Aracelli Moreno
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa

Address: Portal de Flores 116, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Arequipa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privileged location opposite the Plaza de Armas and next to the beautiful Cathedral of Arequipa, it allows easy access to major attractions like the Santa Catalina Monastery, the Museum of the Lady of Ampato and other tourist attractions. Excellent infrastructure, friendly atmosphere, variety of cuisine, highly qualified staff and excellent location, are the characteristics of the Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa hotel. The historic city center is designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO because of its uniqueness, aesthetic and cultural significance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Arequipa Hotel Arequipa
Sonesta Arequipa
Arequipa Sonesta Posada Del Inca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.