We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place in arequipa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa to your Saves list
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Portal de Flores 116, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
california
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great place in arequipa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights.my flight arrived in Arequipa at 7 A.M. & it was nice on the part of the management to allow early check in.we had the room facing the plaza.i strongly recommend the room facing the plaza.it has nice balcony & you can sit & watch the plaza.it is right in the center of town & walking distance to santa catalina monestry,cathedral,casa moral,lots of resturant.beds are nice,room clean,bathroom adequate & lots of hot water.They serve great breakfast & lovely resturant for dinner.we did not have dinner at the resturant,due to diet (vegetarian)restriction.front office is fluent in english.they serve nice herbal tea with small pastry in the evening.

Room Tip: room facing the Plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Guests :

Kind regards from the team of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Hotel.
We would like to offer you our appreciation for taking the time to gave us your opinion regarding our services and facilities.
It is a great pleasure to know that your stay in our hotel met your expectations.
We look forward to have you with us on a near future.

Best regards,

Aracelli Moreno

Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    127
    38
    11
    10
See reviews for
40
129
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Friendly staff and good service, reasonable rates, and an excellent location.

However, if you pay with a credit card in Peruvian Soles (not possible to pay in US$) it will cost you 6% more than if paid in US$ cash. Example: A recent 4-night stay costing $369.60 (if paid in US$ cash) became $391.83 on my credit card. Why? Simple. The hotel converts your US$ owing for your room rent (plus service charge) to local currency at a non-market rate (in my case 2.75 instead of the going rate of 2.58 or 2.59). This thus inflates the number of Peruvian Soles owing. The bank then converts the inflated soles back into US$ at a market rate (around 2.59), and these US$ appear on your credit card statement. In all fairness, the hotel does disclose the 2.75 rate prominently at the reception/cashier desk. (Incidentally, I stayed at the Gran Hotel in Tacna several days later and that hotel converted at a market rate of 2.60.) When I stayed at the Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa a second time (also in March) I paid the bill in US$ cash to avoid paying 6% more. I brought this to the attention of the hotel staff (the General Manager was unavailable) since I believe that in spite of its disclosure, it is an unfair practice. The hotel did respond positively by giving me a 50% discount on my last night's room rate. This hotel is one of a chain in Peru and it appears they have many foreign tourists as guests, many of whom are likely unfamiliar with the intricacies and consequences of different exchange rates. It would be of interest to know if the other Sonesta hotels in Peru also employ this practice, or whether it is dependent on each hotel's management. I do not want this practice to detract from the appeal of the hotel. I have been a repeat guest and will likely stay again during a future visit to Arequipa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear guest :

Kind regards from the team of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa Hotel.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinions, which are very important for us in order to improve our quality standards.
We are glad to know that you had a good impression of our hotel services and location; and we thank your preference.
We will transmit your comments regarding the method of payment to the corresponding department in our hotel brand in order to find the best options for the different types of payments of our guests.

We look forward to have you with us again.

Aracelli Moreno
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Quito
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

While having a Roman arched facade...the remainder of the hotel is modern. The views are great, staff is very accomodating, and has the modern conveniences of a four star hotel. We selected this hotel for our tour group and everyone was pleased. the best thing about this hotel is its location....overlooking one of the nicest Plazas in Peru.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest :

Warm greetings on behalf of the team of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa.
Thank you for taking the time to gave us your impressions of our hotel.
We are very glad to know that your stay in our hotel was pleasant and that you enjoyed our facilities and services.
We look forward to have you back in our city and hotel soon.

Best Regards,

Aracelli Moreno
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hotel is in a beautiful location overlooking the town square and histotical cathedral. We had a suite that similarly looked over the square and church although it was properly soundproofed.
The room was large, comfortable and warm. Hotel facilities were good and the restaurant service and food quality were great. Pricing was okay for the offering. If your looking for location, this is the place although there are better luxury options available in Arequipa. Loved the historic centre of this town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest :

Warm greetings on behalf of the team of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Hotel.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and let us know your impressions of your stay in our Hotel.
We are glad to know that your stay was pleasant and that you could enjoyed our facilities and services.
We look forward to have you with us again.

Best regards,

Aracelli Moreno Castillo
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The best part is the location on the square next to the cathedral. Breakfast is good, rooms marginal for a "4 star"; our airconditioner was noisy and never fixed, although we requested. Do not have a basis for comparison to nearby hotels of the same star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest :

Received warm greetings on behalf of the team of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa Hotel.
We would like to thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay in our hotel.
We regret no having met your expectations in terms of our facilities; we will make our best efforts to improve our quality standars in order to offer to our guest the best service and facilities.

Any other comments or suggestions, please let us know, we will be glad to assist you.

Best regards,

Aracelli Moreno Castillo
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We only stayed one night due to our tour commitments. but this was a delightfuly positioned hotel with outstanding views of the main square. The room was clean and well appointed. Do take addvantage of the views from the first floor balcony. Despite the main square being close it was not especialy noisey.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest :

Warm greetings from the team of Sonesta Posada del Inca Arequipa Hotel.
We value the time you spent in leaving us your comments and let us know the impression you had of our hotel during your stay.
It's very greatful for us to know that your stay at Sonesta Posadas del Inca met your expectations.

We hope we can to have you with us again, in the near future.

Best regards,

Aracelli Moreno Castillo
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We only stayed at this hotel for single night but our room was fine with comfortable beds, a good size bathroom, good storage space and a generally well appointed and clean room. Our room was on the upper floor and was very quiet. It could be that the rooms overlooking the main square were more noisy especially as the city refuse trucks seemed to be equipped with their own music systems - a bit like Lt.Col Kilgore's attack helicopters in Apocalypse Now! The hotel was located directly on the main square adjcaent to the cathedral. The buffet breakfast was good and it was possible to dine on the balcony overlooking the square. The hotel had a rooftop terrace which was not open this early in the season but it did have good views of the cathedral towers. The staff were all polite, friendly and helpful. We did not have dinner at the hotel because a few minutes walk away directly behind the cathedral there are a variety of small restaurants and cafes in the Pasaje Catedral which offer a whole range of menus. The hotel was also within easy walking distance of the Museo Santuarios Andinos but unfortunately its prize exhibit - the mummy Juanita, the Ladyof Ampato - is currently not on display.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QAM-SPIArequipa, Quality Coordinator at Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest :

On behalf of the team of Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa Hotel receive a warm greeting.
We would like to thank the time you took to give us your comments and let us know your impressions of our hotel and services.
We are glad to know that your stay met your expectations and that you had a great time in Arequipa.
Our entire staff makes all their efforts to provide to our guests the best service under quality standars.

Thank you for your preference.

Best regards,

Aracelli Moreno Castillo
Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa

Address: Portal de Flores 116, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Arequipa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privileged location opposite the Plaza de Armas and next to the beautiful Cathedral of Arequipa, it allows easy access to major attractions like the Santa Catalina Monastery, the Museum of the Lady of Ampato and other tourist attractions. Excellent infrastructure, friendly atmosphere, variety of cuisine, highly qualified staff and excellent location, are the characteristics of the Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa hotel. The historic city center is designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO because of its uniqueness, aesthetic and cultural significance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Posadas Del Inca Arequipa Hotel Arequipa
Sonesta Arequipa
Arequipa Sonesta Posada Del Inca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Posadas del Inca Arequipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.