We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped and noisy (but clean and modern)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casona Terrace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casona Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
Casona Terrace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Alvarez Thomas 211, Arequipa Areq 01, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Ditchling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Cramped and noisy (but clean and modern)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel functions as a stopping place in Arequipa but is average rather than excellent. Staff are friendly and helpful and our room was spotlessly clean and modern. It did make generous use of the colour orange throughout and this was especially intense as the sun blasted through the thin orange curtains in the morning...

Major irritations were that it was quite noisy - despite our window being closed we were woken at 5am by hotel staff hosing down the courtyard that we overlooked. The bathroom was the absolute bare minimum size to achieve the space for a shower, toilet and sink and left no room for easy manoeuvre. Finally the (adequate, but not impressive) breakfast was served in quite a small (but very nice) room with a stone barrel vaulted roof. Fine when there were a few guests the first morning but when the hotel was full there was no space at all to sit and the tables blocked access to the food and everything got very chaotic and confused. It is unclear why they didn't expand the breakfast space in these situations to include the (freshly hosed) courtyard adjacent with a few extra tables - it would have made all the difference.

In summary - functional but probably better hotels available at the same pricepoint.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casona-Terrace, Owner at Casona Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello nji1000,
We thank you very much for the positive comments on your stay, and we understand there were two things that could have made your experience much better, please allow us to explain.

The noise: it had just happened that during the month of October our hotel was in the process of an elevator installation, and even though we took all the precautions to minimize the spread of dust and dirt, it was necessary to hose the courtyard and other areas in order to provide a clean appearance, unfortunately this couldn't be done at late hours when the installation team was done, so we were forced to do it early in the morning. We greatly apologize for the inconvenience this caused. We can now assure you this will not happen again and that next time you visit us there will be an elevator available to you and other visitors.

Breakfast accommodations: you are completely right, we realized the set up we were using wasn't the most efficient; we have now set some furniture apart to create more space and a more simple sit down area, again, we are sorry for the inconvenience.

Thank you for the time to let us know about your experience, and we look forward to having you with us in the near future.

Sincerely
CTH***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
15
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Rooms were spacious and lovely decorated. Walls were quite thin but didn't affect the great sleep we had in the comfy bed. The hotel is literally 2 mins from the main sq and felt very safe in the hotel and the surrounding area. The only disappointing things of the hotel was the breakfast - limited choice with no milk for cereal and the shower temperature was temperamental meaning one day I had a cool shower. There was also free wifi which you could access from your room. We had a room facing the back and were glad as the road out the front was very noisy. We would stay here again definitely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casona-Terrace, General Manager at Casona Terrace Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello Lauren F,
We greatly appreciate the compliments on your stay with us. however we are sad to hear we did not meet your expectations in regards to breakfast choice, as a general manager I am disappointed my self about the fact that you did not find any milk available, I can only think that it was on its way to the table as we consider it to be a prime element of our breakfast buffet.
Please know that we think very highly of our breakfast buffet and your comment is very helpful to address any downsides it may have.

Again thank you very much for your time to let us know about your experience at Casona Terrace.

Sincerely,
CTH***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is situated in a lovely, previuos single family dwelling.from the 1700's, 1 block form the central square.
The rooms are very clean and safe.. Breakfast is provided..The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. English is not a problem here

A happy tourist from Victoria B.C. Canada..Cheers..

Room Tip: Noise is not an issue for me..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a renovated property, sparkling, and modern. My room was painted with vibrant colors, bathroom was shiny, very clean, had a great hot shower. People who work there were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casona Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona Terrace Hotel

Address: Calle Alvarez Thomas 211, Arequipa Areq 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casona Terrace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casona Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casona Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.