We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joel at Reception desk made our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Jerusalen 202, Areq 01, Arequipa, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 84 hotels in Arequipa
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Joel at Reception desk made our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed two nights here last month. Location of hotel is good - close to Plaza de Armas, and safe. Room was clean, bathroom was clean, and sheets were nice and crisp. Breakfast was decent. However, the location of the room was weird - at the back on 3rd floor, and had two windows but they were opaque glass so couldn't see through them. It was also warm in the room and we felt claustrophobic as we couldn't open the windows. No air-conditioner.

Having said that, if it were not for Joel's (reception) and Tomas' (bell captain) services, we would have given this hotel a poor rating. Joel was gentle and had a quiet sense of humor. He suggested a great itinerary for us for the next day including restaurants. We ate at ChiCha (excellent), Sol de May (also excellent), and Pirador (sp?) 1900. We visited Santa Catalina (recommend using a guide), the museum where we saw "Juanita," the Jesuit church (compania?), and the cathedral (also recommend using a guide).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear BoiseRocks,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers. I have read your comments carefully and I would like to thank you for taking time to let us know your impression.

We really value the feedback from our guests because it helps us improve our service every day. We are committed to ensuring that every stay at Tierra Viva Hotels is as pleasant as possible.

Hope to welcome as our guest again soon in Arequipa, Cusco, Puno or Lima.

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    65
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
135
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel while staying in Arequipa. The hotel is perfectly located just one block from the main square and other attractions. The staff was always very friendly and the rooms are large and clean. We defenitely recommend it.

Follow us on Twitter and FB for pics!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Breakaway T,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza with other travelers and for having stayed at our hotel.

We hope to welcome as our guest again soon in Lima, Cusco, Arequipa or Puno!

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Excelente hotel.. Very good place with an excellent staff....Plaza de Armas and the best restaurants in town were only 1-2 blocks distant... You could easily walk to it... I really enjoyed my time in Tierra Viva!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Bscolari,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza as a “Great hotel”. We hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Hotel is very nice and conveniently situated in the center, rooms are very spacious.
The additional plus was kindness of the staff: we arrived early in the morning after 4 days of trek and night bus, and our room was available upon arrival at no extra charge, which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Mv P,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers and for having stayed at our Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza.

We hope to welcome as our guest again soon in Lima, Cusco, Arequipa or Puno!

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Centrally located a couple of blocks from Plaza de Armas. Rooms were very comfortable, nice amenities, wonderful service and one of our favorite breakfast buffets.

Only bad thing were the walls were thin and I could clearly hear my neighbors and street noise. We also were not offered complimentary service to the airport as mentioned in other reviews.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear SullafaK,

We would like to thank you for taking time to share your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

We really value the feedback from our guests because it helps us improve our service every day. We are committed to ensuring that every stay at Tierra Viva Hotels is as pleasant as possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to have you again at any of our Tierra Viva hotels in Lima, Arequipa, Puno or Cusco.

Best regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Situated centrally . Room is very big (superior double ) . Is definitely worth the extra pay . Free coffee facility as well . You also get free complimentary beer and soft drinks once only . Free water every day (we only stay for two nights ) Breadfirst choice may not be to every one liking due to the limited selection . However we find that was sufficiently .Staff are very friendly . Get one complimentary tranfer from airport to hotel .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Connieconni,

Thank you for your excellent comment!!

We hope to have you again at Tierra Viva very soon.

Kind regards,

Carolina Saenz
Guest Relations
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This may have been our favourite hotel in our South American travels. The staff were excellent, helpful, and consistently friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and actually had relatively good soundproofing windows. The whole mix made for a great sleep.
Even the breakfast had extras we didn't find elsewhere.
Customer service is not always front and centre in South America but this hotel was a wonderful exception.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Deb H,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for having stayed with us.

We hope to have you again very soon at any of our Tierra Viva Hotels.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel

Address: C/ Jerusalen 202, Areq 01, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.