We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Jerusalen 202, Areq 01, Arequipa, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Gent Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“almost perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Tierra Nova sets new standards in the hotel business in Peru. Perfectly dressed rooms with touches of design, Very helpfull staff that will advise or even arrange every trip for you, Bottles of fresh water every day, Not the best but good breakfast (even to Peruvian standards). And also important as the Arequipa Tierra Nova proves; always right at the center of the city. Very enjoyable stay here. Reception helped organising our trips and gave very helpfull information. (one tip for this hotel: arrange the roof terras which was just one table and a few chairs. Get some shadow onto it, some more chairs and tables, some more atmosphere. It could be a great place to relax and to enjoy the fantastic view on the city and the surrounding vulcano’s. )

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear ginobelgiantraveller,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed with us.

We hope to have you again, very soon, at any of our Tierra Viva Hotels, either in Lima, Arequipa, Cusco or Puno.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    75
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
157
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff made this clean and comfortable hotel an ideal base to explor Arequipa. Our room was very spacious with an excellent bathroom and large shower. Turning the beds down for night and placing a chocolate on our pillow was a lovely touch. We were disappointed that their hotel in Lima was full when we wanted to go to Lima, we should have booked earlier.

Room Tip: Our room over the courtyard at the back was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear isuis,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza with other travelers.

We hope to have you again, very soon, at any of our hotels Tierra Viva in Lima , Arequipa , Puno or Cusco.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The beautiful room was larger than in Lima. I mentioned that there was only one chair, and the bed is so high that it becomes hard to tie your shoes (even for very tall people like us). A second chair was rapidly produced, even though I had not asked for one! The maid had overlooked our room (understandable, she had to cope with a family with three ill-behaved children); of course, I did not get mad but asked that she come back after we had rested and taken a shower. She was lovely. When we came back in the evening, the whole staff had given me a little box of chocolates to apologize for their mistake and thank me for my "patience!" The staff was great, the location excellent (3 blocks from Plaza de Armas), the breakfast abundant and good, the hotel beautiful, clean, with excellent wi-fi and, in Arequipa, some beautiful antique leather trunks. $80 is a very reasonable price. We went to Tierra Viva Lima, Tierra Viva Arequipa and Cusco Saphi. I absolutely recommend this chain.

Room Tip: Higher floors, toward the back and, if possible, not close to families with screaming kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear MagaPhiladelphia,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for praising Tierra Viva as a chain of hotels.

We are so glad of knowing that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our hotels in Cusco, Lima and Arequipa, and we hope to have you again very soon, at any of our hotels Tierra Viva

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

One block off the square. Could not be a better location. Nondescript exterior and lobby. Clean, comfortable, spacious room. Better than average bathroom. Nice hot breakfast included. Can't beat it for $60-65/night.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Mebent,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza with other travelers.

We hope to have you again, very soon, at any of our hotels Tierra Viva in Lima , Arequipa , Puno or Cusco.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gifhorn, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Five times we stayed in this wonderful city, but this time it was the best, due to the very good service (thanks to all!!!), the central ubication and the comfortable equipement (WIFI, large and clean room, excellent breakfast). We enjoyed to stay first time in Tierra Viva and we will come back and recommend to all

Room Tip: Room in the back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Siegfried R ,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for having stayed with us.

We hope to have you again very soon at any of our Tierra Viva Hotels.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I checked in here for one night before leaving for cusco. The hotel was very clean, with a comfortable bed and great Wifi. The staff was very helpful and always attentive. The breakfast in the morning was excellent as well. It was a little more expensive than some other places but well worth it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We've found in our travels throughout Peru that Tierra Viva hotels are consistently clean, comfortable, well located, friendly, and hospitable. Our only complaint is that the breakfast becomes a bit monotonous after a few days. If you're only staying a couple of days it won't matter, but we stayed a week in each hotel, and the breakfast never changed. Good quality, just no variety. Staff and service were exemplary in every case, though.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Doug P,

Thank you very much for having stayed in some of our Tierra Viva Hotels and for recommending them to other travelers.

We are so glad of knowing that you had a wonderful time with us, and we hope to have you again, at any Tierra Viva, in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel

Address: C/ Jerusalen 202, Areq 01, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.