We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet building, excellent staff, beautiful room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Jerusalen 202, Areq 01, Arequipa, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Arequipa
a
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Quiet building, excellent staff, beautiful room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Pros:

Strong wifi signal
Big, beautiful rooms
Extensive breakfast buffet
Super quiet and a great night's sleep
Perfect location (2 minutes to plaza de armas)

Cons:
Not really a con, but the first night I couldn't find the light switch to turn on the light in my hallway, so I had to find my room and insert the key in the dark. Of course, it's a completely secure building there was no danger.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Mellamo M,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Kind Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    84
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
53
172
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

All of the staff, including the folks at the front desk, were efficient and very friendly. Our room looked just like the one in the Booking.com photo. A large room, a large bed, two large windows and lots of sunlight The shower was also large and luxurious. The breakfast was very good and located next to the computer room, which resembles a small conference room with two computers, a printer and a large flat screen TV.

The front desk called a Doctor for my wife who was suffering from the altitude and starting to feel complications setting in. Within 30 minutes a very competent fellow came to our room, examined her and took her to his clinic for a three day stay. High quality care and a positive outcome.

The hotel is centrally located, just a short walk from the Cathedral and the Plaza de Armas.

I needed to extend our stay for three or four extra days. Even though there were some availability issues due to renovations in several rooms, the good folks at the front desk managed to get me those additional days and I was able to stay in my original room.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view and got a room at the front of the hotel with two large windows and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear SenorBill9000,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with other travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again with us in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel kindly offered us a transfer from the airport, unfortunately we were arriving by bus and for some reason they couldn't accommodate picking us up from the bus station., though they did advise which taxi company would be safe to use. We received a warm welcome on our very late arrival and the rooms were very comfortable. We had three single room and as these were at the back of the hotel they did not have windows. My friend felt claustrophobic in hers (the altitude didn't help) and although they at first said they couldn't move her they did eventually at her insistence.

The breakfast room is light airy and pleasant place and the breakfast was very decent with nice staff.

the location is great, a couple of blocks from the Plaza De Armas and we had a p,wasn't stay in this attractive, friendly town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Pollydog11,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

Kind Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Really nice hotel, great service, the staff at the front desk were very kind, loved the architecture of the hotel, made of sillar, the White volcanic Stone.
Great location, breakfast was good, overall was a great choice!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear UlisesMA,

Thank you for having stayed at Tierra Viva and for writing this excellent comment.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again, very soon, at any of our hotels Tierra Viva in Lima, Arequipa, Cusco or Puno.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niterói, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Incredibly confortable, staff and location! Rosa and Juan was very attentious. They gave a contact of a doctor when i needed. They have laundry. Breakfast good, the shower is really good, for the ladies have the hair drier....a few blocks from everything, restaurants, plaza da armas end etc

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear PedroM,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva as “The Best”.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is our second visit to Arequipa within a year and first time stay at the Tierra Viva. Excellent location within a walking distance of all places to see and restaurants; no need for cabs. The hotel is clean, attentive staff, and nice breakfast choices. Overall, we were happy and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear baruta12,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for highly recommending our hotel.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel in Lima, Cusco, Puno or Arequipa, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a business trip last week.

Internet in the hotel is awesome. Easy to keep in touch and get work done. The rooms were clean and neat. There is a simple continental breakfast that hits the spot. The staff is really responsive and helpful...plenty of English is spoken for us lazy anglophones.

The location is great...within easy reach of great restaurants and sights in the city.

And the price for a room...well let's say the CFO won't be complaining. You won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear tyrerubber,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for sharing your Tierra Viva´s experience with the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel in Lima, Cusco,
Puno or Arequipa, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel

Address: C/ Jerusalen 202, Areq 01, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.