We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, staff, location ... and price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Jerusalen 202, Areq 01, Arequipa, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 84 hotels in Arequipa
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great room, staff, location ... and price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed several nights at the Tierra Viva last November, at the recommendation of the terrific Tierra Viva staff in Cuzco. We couldn't have been happier. The room was clean and comfortable ... with windows that opened onto the central area for ventilation. The in-room safe was a good size, the staff was always friendly ... and the breakfast spread was wonderful! Since we were vacationing, we'd let any business travelers eat first and we'd go down a bit later. The food was fully replenished, not like some hotels where you feel like you're eating the leftovers. We had the hotel arrange for a driver for the day, to visit the outlying area of Arequipa and take us to the airport. He was professional and knowledgeable about the city. The hotel is centrally located, in walking distance to everything downtown, without being in the noisy thick of things. Excellent restaurants in easy walking distance. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Tierra Viva on my next trip to Arequipa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear SoFlaSharon,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment andsharing your experience at Tierra Viva with the rest of travelers.

We are so glad that you enjoyed that much your stay at our hotel and we hope to have you again
with us, at any of our Tierra Viva Hotels, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    60
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
131
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at Tierra Viva in Arequipa. The rooms were very chic, large and nicely decorated. The furnishings and quality of the bathrooms were surprisingly high-end considering how reasonable the rates were at this hotel. The staff was also very professional and helpful, anticipating our needs. The hotel is well located just a couple blocks from the Plaza de Armas. We also liked the included breakfast buffet, which had a wide variety of options.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Elliott M,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva a "Chic and modern hotel"

We are so glad that you enjoyed that much your stay at our hotel and we hope to have you again with us at any of our Tierra Viva Hotels.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Terra Viva in Arequipa for two nights. The location of the hotel is very convenient and only 5 minutes walking distance to the main square (Plaza de Armas), Santa Catalina Convent, and a good number of restaurants.

The hotel is a modern "city stay" affair, generally the spaces were all modern clean and bright, with good strong wifi throughout. 

Our room was very large, as was the bed. The windows faced onto an interior courtyard, and so we were also shielded from the cities noises. A safe was provided, but not quite laptop size. Laundry services were cheap; but you get what you pay for. The chief downside was noise travelling between the bathrooms, which carried a bit too well and can wake you up in the mornings.

The service was excellent and always with a smile.  All the staff were very helpful with making bookings, assisting with translations, and even packing boxes of souvenirs to send home.

Breakfast could have been a bit better, and was fairly basic spread, and not the nicest of seating layouts.  A lot of local tours start at 8am, so if you get to breakfast late it can be slim pickings.

Really enjoyed this experience of the Terra Viva group, and would stay at their Arequipa hotel again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

It's in the middle of downtown where all the action is, things are all within walking distances.
Two blocks away from Santa Catalina , that's how centrally located it is.
Staff were friendly, helpful in all respect and always carry a smile.
Rooms are clean and modern, my only complaint is that there is no ventilation in the bathroom.
Breakfast was adequate.
Takes half an hour to get to the airport even around noon, not bad.
Not the cheapest, but worth the value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Arequiba is an amazing place to visit, and the experience in Tierra Viva made this trip even better. The hotel staff is very nice and helpful, and the room has comfortable space and clean. furthermore, the location is close to many good restaurants and please ask for help with the reservation to the frontdesk. comparing to other hotels nearby, the price may be a little bit high, however, it is definitely worth the cost.

Room Tip: rooms away from the street will be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear GuanW_13,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your Tierra Viva´s experience with the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here four nights. It was great! Excellent location, just two blocks from Plaza de Armas. Everything within easy walking distance: churches, museums, shopping, and wide range of restaurants. The hotel lobby fronts onto a busy street, but the rooms are cleverly positioned on either side of a three-story atrium, such that our room (#211) had absolutely no street noise. I assume same is true with other rooms. No air-conditioning, but not needed, as we could regulate room temperature by opening windows … and no insects came into our room. Attentive, friendly reception staff. Great breakfast buffet: ample, fresh, varied. Laundry service: in by 10, back by 5. Free coffee available in lobby throughout the day. I also recommend the four-hour bus tour of sites around the edge of the city (tickets can be purchased at hotel desk): viewpoints of volcanoes, terraced fields, alpaca zoo, horseback riding, etc. Recommend the 9:15 departure, as sky seems clearer in morning than afternoon.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Walk_in_Beauty,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment about our hotel and for highly recommending us to the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Tierra Viva chain of hotels are fantastic. I stayed at the Arequipa and Puno branches on a recent trip to Peru and was impressed by the quality of both hotels. The rooms are comfortable, huge beds, clean big bathrooms, welcoming staff, good breakfast selection and central location. Additionally, the rate makes these hotels very good value. Good, modern hotels in regional Peruvian cities are quite hard to find, so I would happily stay here again.

Additionally, Arequipa is a very nice little city - pretty, relaxed, some good restaurants, and friendly welcoming people. It was by far my favourite city on our tour of Peru.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear joegriff,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering our hotel chain as “Fantastic”.

You will find our hotels in Cusco, Arequipa, Puno and very soon in Lima.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again, at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel

Address: C/ Jerusalen 202, Areq 01, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.