We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - A Must Stay if in downtown Arequipa, Peru” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Jerusalen 202, Areq 01, Arequipa, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 84 hotels in Arequipa
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Excellent Hotel - A Must Stay if in downtown Arequipa, Peru”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel and my stay was amazing in downtown Arequipa. The service and the accommodations were the absolute best for the price. I arrived in Arequipa late evening with anticipation of finding a hotel that would suit my taste for the five day stay. However, most of the hotel that I visit were not adequate with room accommodation or hotel service. I searched for a day and a half before finding Tierra Viva Hotel. On a last note, your stay there will no question be a memorable one, with the service, room cleanliness and the breakfast that is provide (Free of Charge) by the hotel. I will return and stay there again!!

Room Tip: I had a standard room, there are large rooms if requested. Ask what room choices are available. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Charles J,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with the rest of travelers.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    60
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
131
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

not many words...we were happy to stay in this has. it's was wonderfull. we put our luggage one day bevor in this house. it was ok and no payment so nice from them. the room was clean ..the only think that wasn't so nice is the traffic infront of the hotel ...but thats traffic and traffic ist in arequipa everywhere...so we come and stay again in this nice hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear tsalzburg,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your Tierra Viva´s experience with the rest of travelers .

Once again thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again, at any of our hotels, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knivsta, Uppsala Län, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Beautiful rooms in a very good, calm and central location. Fantastic beds and the showers was so fresch with nice smelling soap, body lotion and scampoo. The towels were thick and cosy. The breakfast was also very good, but not excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We were travelling during one month in Peru, and this was the best hotel. Without doubt!! We really would like to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Elisabeth A,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your Tierra Viva´s experience with the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to see you again very soon at any of our hotels.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Flor, the name of the afternoon/evening shift employee at the front desk, was a delight. I had gotten ill from altitude and some kind of bug and she really helped me get around. This included lining up a masseuse, giving me directions on maps to various locations and even finding me a good hotel in Cusco. It's nice to be in a new hotel with new furniture. Unless you can sleep through a fireworks show you should get the rooms that do not face the busy street. Even for rooms not facing the street I could still hear the noise of cars rolling down the cobblestone street. Not too much to keep me from sleeping but admittedly I am sensitive about these things. I doubt it would bother most people. Breakfast is decent, they say it starts at 6 but things don't really get out there until 6:30. I was hoping the guy doing the breakfast buffet could make me an omelette but he was the only staff on duty and didn't have time. I really enjoyed the spaciousness of the superior doubles, almost the size of small suite.

Room Tip: Get rooms that dont face the street and you should be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Traveller454545,

Thank you so much for your wonderful words about our hotel and for sharing your Tierra Viva´s experience with the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and was very happy with the experience
1. New hotel, so very clean and all the equipment were very new. Consistent and modern decor
2. Service was good and fast
3. Staff was very friendly. Provided good suggestions for restaurants and also helped making reservations.
4. Location was excellent, 1 block from main square and close to many good restaurants
5. Breakfast options could be expanded. I am a vegetarian and also do not eat eggs. There were no real options apart from toast or cereals. I stayed at 3 other hotels (not Tierra Viva) in my trip to Peru (similar budget) and all of them had 1 or 2 veg dishes that I could eat.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the courtyard to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear ngupta83,

Thank you so much for you excellent comment!

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The hotel is located centrally and only a few blocks away from Plaza de Armas and within walking distance of most of the sights within the city.

The hotel provided complementary pick up from the airport and was in touch with us via email a few days prior to our arrival confirming flight details. Check in was very efficient and staff were very friendly and welcoming.

The hotel is modern and comfortable. The rooms are spacious, bathrooms well appointed and the beds are large, comfortable and provided a great nights sleep. We had no problems with wi-fi from our room and it was fast. Our room faced the inner courtyard which was quiet.

Breakfast provided featured a good but simple selection of cold and hot choices, enough to get you through the morning.

Overall, we had a great stay at this hotel and would recommend this to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Andres V,

Thank you so much for you excellent comment and for considering our hotel as: “an excellent choice in Arequipa”

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again, in any Tierra Viva hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nothing bad to say about this hotel,only good things. The hotel itself is very new and modern. The price is excellent for what it offers. Good rooms, good bathrooms. Breakfast is good and in a very nice facility. Staff is very helpful and speaks reasonable ingles. Extremely fast in helping out, no surprises with the bill. The price i booked via trip advisor is all i had to pay and in dollars, so no extreme exchange rates. Location is very good, two blocks from the centre and restaurants. As far as i am aware they can pick you up from the airport or bus station, but we did not use this service so i am not sure. There is no doubt about this hotel in my mind. Just hope for others the price stays the same.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Caspar V,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for having staying with us.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel

Address: C/ Jerusalen 202, Areq 01, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 84 hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.