We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric & Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Agustin Posada del Monasterio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Agustin Posada del Monasterio to your Saves list
Hotel San Agustin Posada del Monasterio
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Santa Catalina 300, Arequipa 054, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 123 Arequipa B&B and Inns
New Canaan, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Atmospheric & Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

A great atmosphere in the colonial style, well located, and very comfortable. Rooms are clean and functional. WiFi not the best, and breakfast could be a bit better, nonetheless a good choice in Arequipa. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    33
    21
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
28
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I stayed in two separate rooms at this hotel; 204 and 304. (I did an overnight in Arequipa then traveled to the Colca Valley then back to Arequipa.) The hotel is in a great location. Right across the street from the Santa Catalina Monastery and within minutes of the historic area of the White City and many restaurants. The common areas are quite beautiful. The rooms are average and the laminate flooring is lifting everywhere! I wasn't impressed with the breakfast offerings but did enjoy eating outside in the beautiful courtyard.

For two overnights this hotel suited my needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Breakfast should always be ready and warm for the passengers until the time of closing, in this case upto 10 hours. We went to have breakfast at 9:30 hours and food was always cold. However the waiter was always very willing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto La Cruz, Anzoategui, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The building is amazing and right across the street from the monastery. We got the "expedia" room, so it was not updated (the hotel was renovating). The dining room and lounge areas are really lovely. The breakfast left something to be desired. Much of the hot food had run out (with very few dining staff to replenish it) or it was cold. The reception staff was very good and helpful. We certainly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We had the joy of spending two nights here! The hotel is really rather run down and our room was in need of a major makeover. The bed wasn't too bad, but had certainly seem better days. Breakfast is an absolute joke with no choice and all the butter had turned.

We also found ear plugs had been left in our room which confused us - all was made clear a few hours later when we were awoken by dance music coming from the monastery across the road! This seemed to go on all night, but the ear plugs did their job.

The location of the hotel is good, but that is about it's only good feature.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were on A Rambler's Tour. Have no idea why they use this hotel. It's only virtue is it's proximity to the town square and the Santa Catalina Monastery opposite. We were there on a Friday and Saturday evening and the constant thump of the bass from a nearby disco went on until 6am. Possibly nuns across the road having a 'knees up'!
Worst of all was the food!
First course was a soup with roll. (Acceptable if a little cold).
Main course was a small portion of steak (Thin and approx 6cm long. Tender though), a tablesppon full of mash which had the taste texture of reconstituded dried potato and a quantity of vegetables that would fit on a teaspoon. (No exaggeration). The desert was a dryish chocolate gateau which was so thin it can only have been cut on a bacon slicer. Still hungry as I went back to my roomso was forced to supplement my evening meal with a banana.
Breakfast was buffet style so I could 'pig out' a little there but the choice was the worst of the hotels we visited whilst on the tour.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A very nice hotel very close to the main tourist area and right across the road from the beautiful Santa Catalina monastery (a must visit). A very helpful receptionist helped us with a multitude of questions and made us feel very welcome. Our room was on the first floor, with doors opening into a lovely garden, in which you could take breakfast. Rooms were big enough and clean, with comfy beds. During the day the hotel is a quiet oasis in the middle of the busy city, however, for the two nights we stayed, the night club music in a bar behind the hotel started at 10pm and FINISHED at 6am - the music shook the room. The hotels solution for the second night was to provide some ear plugs! So this spoilt our experience of the stay at this hotel - after all, the most basic reason for staying is to sleep!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Agustin Posada del Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Agustin Posada del Monasterio

Address: Calle Santa Catalina 300, Arequipa 054, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Agustin Posada del Monasterio 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located in the historical center of Lima, this is the ideal hotel for you to visit Peru, nearby the Presidential Palace, the Main Square, the Cathedral, and the Park of the Reserve which offers one of the greatest Water Tour in the world.The Riviera Hotel is a living reference of Lima culture and society of the 50s. It is a Classical Republican hotel.Our Hotel offers you 160 spacious and comfortable Rooms, and Suites.Room amenities: TV cable, Fridge, Telephone, Hair dryer, Mini Bar, Air conditioning, Non-Smoking Rooms, Breakfast buffet, 24-hours Daily maid service, Restaurant and Lounge Bar, Fax, Wireless Internet (Wi-FI), Laundry service, and Meeting Facilities. Personalized service and multilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel San Agustin Posada del Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Agustin Posada del Monasterio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.