We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent price for large room, clean shared facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riviera Arequipa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arequipa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Riviera Arequipa
Calle Puente Bolognesi 114 | cercado - Arequipa, Arequipa Areq 01, Peru (Formerly Solar de Arequipa Colonial Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 84 hotels in Arequipa
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Excellent price for large room, clean shared facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed for five nights, ten metres from the centre of Arequipa. The room was clean, huge and had access to the joint balcony. I would recommend ear plugs if you want a quite sleep as it suits you, because until the taxi drivers calm down (around 1 am) it is quite noisey. Having spent a month in Peru, Solar de Arequipa had strong, hot showers!! Very excited about that. After a few days I found it quicker to use Google Translate on the phone to ask in reception for what I needed, which is entirely reasonable because my Spanish is relatively non-existant :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
10
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Firstly I'd like to say they accommodated us very well when we turned up as the trip advisor app had a bug and booked us for November 20 instead of October 20! The staff were great about it and there was a room free.
However, at breakfast the next day there was nothing set up for us, this was sorted in about 20 mins, but there was also no key to our room, the people before had taken it with them and gone off for a tour, but the hotel did not have a spare, so for over 24 hours we had no key to our room and could not lock it when we were not there.
Finally the key arrived, we went out, when we came back reception had misplaced the key! 20 mins and a few calls later it was located, somewhere in another room.
Also our room was not cleaned and so the bin (which you need to put your used loo roll in) was not emptied, I had to give it to the manager to empty and ask for more loo roll. Maybe our room was not cleaned as there was no key?!
Like I said they did sort out the booking date issue, but after that it was a bit of a fiasco.
Also the rooms are very noisy, one wall is stone, the other is pretty much a sheet of plasterboard (drywall to Americans) you can hear a pin drop next door, and think it is in your room!
The location is brilliant though.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great location, good security, spotless clean room and public facilities, rather big room, bed with duvet (so warm and cozy), lots of very hot wáter in shower, high-speed wifi, nice roof terrace with mountain view for breakfast and hanging out, very kind reception staffs... All these only for S/40 for a single use of twin room with shared bathroom.
I thought I am so lucky to find this place, as I passed by, and I moved from nearby Los Andes which was recommended in LP but increased Price from s/31 on the book to s/37.
I am a Japanese woman traveling alone, and I didn´t have any bad experience here. Actually, Young English speaking receptionist was very helpful with translation when I was making online reservation for bus to Lima.
I am coming back here again next month. It is highly recommended to everyone!

Room Tip: Just walk around rather than depending on guidebook!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My stay in this place as a women traveling alone was very uncomfortable. The young manager had some male friends making use of the common areas of in the hotel during all hours of the night and day while I was there. Every time I stepped out of my room to leave or walk to the shower I was whistled, and cat-called at, and was treated to an endless stream of comments about my physical appearance. Using the lovely balcony was out of the question for me unless I wanted to put up with constant harassment. This was the worst harassment I experienced in my three months travelling along in Peru--and it was INSIDE the hostel! The manager did absolutely nothing to try to stop it, so I would warn solo women against staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this neat secure spot which is only a stones throw from the main plaza. It was a little noisy at night but there was a lot going on the plaza. Great hot water and wifi. The owner let us leave our bags there while we did a two day walk, when we got back our bus tickets had not arrived so he helped us a lot and sorted the matter out. We were dusty and tired so he let us have towels and soap and a hot shower, he would not accept any money either. A lovely man

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Jorge and Hugo are great hosts. Breakfast is served carefully by them and it is really good.

Both are receptionists and they are really friendly and informative. The hotel is an Old restored house, built with witish volcanic stone from the "Misti volcano". The showers run hot water and the beds, matresses and blankets are warm and new.

Some rooms have TV inside and private bathrooms. Enjoy Solar de Arequipa Inn!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadi, Fiji
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Showers had instant hot water and all day long. Very good value for money. Close proximity (walking distance) to the Plaza De Armes and the Santa Catalina Monastery.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with the mountain views. On clear days, you can see the El Misti!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riviera Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera Arequipa

Address: Calle Puente Bolognesi 114 | cercado - Arequipa, Arequipa Areq 01, Peru (Formerly Solar de Arequipa Colonial Inn)
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 84 hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Hotel Arequipa is located in the heart of the city of Arequipa, just 15 minutes from Rodriguez Ballon airport, 10 minutes from Bus Terminal and Bus Station, half a block from the main square of Arequipa, we have the advantage of being in the center historic city and close to the main tourist attractions; we are considered one of the 18 most valuable colonial houses of Arequipa (Cultural Heritage). The benefits you will have with us are our full breakfast, free Wi Fi in all rooms, friobar (in each room), safe (in each room), hot water 24 hours, booking service in restaurants city, luggage, games, service, scanner, telephone, terrace, laundry service, taxi service, medical assistance, tourist information, tour and tour packages 24 hour service 01 computer available 24 hours for the exclusive use of guests. It is very important for us to offer a quality service and excellence providing comfort, elegance and safety through our distinguished staff of collaborators, exceeding their expectations. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riviera Arequipa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Riviera Arequipa to your Saves list