We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great, cozy place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azul Colonial Inn

Save Saved
You added Azul Colonial Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Azul Colonial Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Calle Lima 617, Cerrito San Vicente | Yanahuara, Arequipa, Peru   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Public transport tickets
Ranked #4 of 106 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Poland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great, cozy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This place was fantastic. One of the best during our trip to Peru, considering value/price (we got very good price 34 USD/night). Breakfast is basic but it's enough. The hotel is very nice, colonial and quite!
It's 15-20 minutes walk to the center of the city but you can take taxi, cost 5-6 soles (ask at the reception - they can arrange it at no additional cost).
Oskar was very helpful - thank you Oskar!

Room Tip: They speak very little English (just basic), we spoke Spanish in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
20
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenmore, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Where to start.... Easily the most charming place I have ever stayed at because the owners mother is an interior decorator and a very good one at the details. Not just the details in the lobbies or breakfast nook, but also in the room just pop. You should definitely take some photos here. Solid wifi, clean rooms, some English tv stations, super helpful staff and great location only ten minutes from plaza de armas make you feel like a local.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was well worth the 15 - 20 minute walk or 6 soles taxi ride to the centre. Here are it's highlights:
-clean/comfortable rooms
-hot showers with good pressure
-beautiful courtyard
-good breakfast
-friendly/helpful staff
-strong wifi
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a delightful find and super bargain. We stayed two nights and really can't fault it. Oscar the all round recept/doorman/chef/ was wonderful and never seemed to stop. He and his wife kept the property spotless and were very friendly - I hope they are appreciated for the great job they do.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I intended to stay at this hotel for 2 nights, but as with any great hotel at a reasonable price we had to stay on for longer! We ended up staying 4 nights, we visited the colca canyon one night and the hotel kindly stored our bags for us. The furniture and fittings were very nice and gave the hotel a really Arabian feel. The bathroom was one of the nicest we had come across in Peru. The breakfast was great (we got scrambled eggs) and was accompanied by freshly squeezed juice. The location was a bit of a walk from the centre but we were happy with it as it was safe and quite a scenic walk. The manager and Oscar were very helpful and friendly and gave us advice about Arequipa and called a taxi for us on the last day two. In summary, if you're looking for somewhere really relaxing at a very reasonable price consider this hotel. The only downsides were that the toilet flush was a bit hard to press and late night knocking on the hotel door disturbed us a little. This was easily overlooked because of the many positives. The wi-fi was brilliant in our room too!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed in arequipa 3 nights at azul colonial and i loved it. Amazing design hotel, in a very nice area. Friendly staff, very clean, cozy and familiar at a great price value. It was the best hotel we stayed in peru. It is not very central, its a 15-20 min walk to plaza de armas, which for us was totally fine. Thanks to oscar and owners for creating such an oasis in arequipa!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Azul Colonial is situated at Yanahuara , with a few minutes walk to Plaza de Yanahuara. A taxi downtown is about 5 soles.

The place is wonderful, with a fountain with rose petals, nice chairs and so on.

Our room was also very nice, with two large beds, and a big bathroom.

Service is perfect, Oscar and the owner try to help with questions, they don't speak english very well.

Breakfast is basic, but with fresh juice and good coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azul Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Colonial Inn

Address: Calle Lima 617, Cerrito San Vicente | Yanahuara, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Azul Colonial Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Azul Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.