We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great, cozy place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azul Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Azul Colonial Inn to your Saves list
Azul Colonial Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Calle Lima 617, Cerrito San Vicente | Yanahuara, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 127 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great, cozy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This place was fantastic. One of the best during our trip to Peru, considering value/price (we got very good price 34 USD/night). Breakfast is basic but it's enough. The hotel is very nice, colonial and quite!
It's 15-20 minutes walk to the center of the city but you can take taxi, cost 5-6 soles (ask at the reception - they can arrange it at no additional cost).
Oskar was very helpful - thank you Oskar!

Room Tip: They speak very little English (just basic), we spoke Spanish in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    20
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
45
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenmore, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Where to start.... Easily the most charming place I have ever stayed at because the owners mother is an interior decorator and a very good one at the details. Not just the details in the lobbies or breakfast nook, but also in the room just pop. You should definitely take some photos here. Solid wifi, clean rooms, some English tv stations, super helpful staff and great location only ten minutes from plaza de armas make you feel like a local.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was well worth the 15 - 20 minute walk or 6 soles taxi ride to the centre. Here are it's highlights:
-clean/comfortable rooms
-hot showers with good pressure
-beautiful courtyard
-good breakfast
-friendly/helpful staff
-strong wifi
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a delightful find and super bargain. We stayed two nights and really can't fault it. Oscar the all round recept/doorman/chef/ was wonderful and never seemed to stop. He and his wife kept the property spotless and were very friendly - I hope they are appreciated for the great job they do.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I intended to stay at this hotel for 2 nights, but as with any great hotel at a reasonable price we had to stay on for longer! We ended up staying 4 nights, we visited the colca canyon one night and the hotel kindly stored our bags for us. The furniture and fittings were very nice and gave the hotel a really Arabian feel. The bathroom was one of the nicest we had come across in Peru. The breakfast was great (we got scrambled eggs) and was accompanied by freshly squeezed juice. The location was a bit of a walk from the centre but we were happy with it as it was safe and quite a scenic walk. The manager and Oscar were very helpful and friendly and gave us advice about Arequipa and called a taxi for us on the last day two. In summary, if you're looking for somewhere really relaxing at a very reasonable price consider this hotel. The only downsides were that the toilet flush was a bit hard to press and late night knocking on the hotel door disturbed us a little. This was easily overlooked because of the many positives. The wi-fi was brilliant in our room too!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed in arequipa 3 nights at azul colonial and i loved it. Amazing design hotel, in a very nice area. Friendly staff, very clean, cozy and familiar at a great price value. It was the best hotel we stayed in peru. It is not very central, its a 15-20 min walk to plaza de armas, which for us was totally fine. Thanks to oscar and owners for creating such an oasis in arequipa!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Azul Colonial is situated at Yanahuara , with a few minutes walk to Plaza de Yanahuara. A taxi downtown is about 5 soles.

The place is wonderful, with a fountain with rose petals, nice chairs and so on.

Our room was also very nice, with two large beds, and a big bathroom.

Service is perfect, Oscar and the owner try to help with questions, they don't speak english very well.

Breakfast is basic, but with fresh juice and good coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.8 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#9 of 89 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#6 of 89 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#5 of 89 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Andina Classic - Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Colonial Inn

Address: Calle Lima 617, Cerrito San Vicente | Yanahuara, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Azul Colonial Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Azul Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.