We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, clean, nice staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portal La Merced Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Portal La Merced Hostel to your Saves list
Portal La Merced Hostel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Merced 131, Arequipa 51, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Peru
1 review
“Excellent location, clean, nice staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in this hostel and it was great.
The location is excellent ( like 1 minute walk to the main plaza ).
The rooms are clean and the price includes breakfast .
You can book different tours in the hostel and the staff are really helpful.
I loved it .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    16
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
13
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in May 2014 by myself. The rooms were clean, had amazing shower pressure with hot water (except one day but I just waited 15 minutes and it worked again), and the people were so helpful.

I had really heavy suitcases and they helped me bring them up the stairs, they ironed shirts for me in under 20mins, and they even let me store food in the freezer. Breakfast was plentiful, with bread, eggs to order, jam and butter. The location is amazing, a block from the Plaza de Armas, and it is easy and safe to walk to all the major attractions. It is also really easy to get a cab from that corner and I really like that there area lot of banks around which meant security guards all around that made me feel safe walking around as a single female. To add, there was decent cable with English channels, and I was in the inner courtyard so I heard none of the noise that you sometimes hear in hostels in Peru.

Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The best thing about this place were the people working there. The main guy, Nino, said he used to be a porter, so he's a very good talker and knows everything there is to know about all the good places to travel. After talking with him, we would pretty much follow his advice. He or another worker there would actually make breakfast for us each morning. One night, we were supposed to arrive at 3 or 4am on the bus. The bus ended up arriving at 6 or 7am--lo lamento Nino!--but he was waiting to let us in that morning, even when we arrived late. How nice!

The showers, sinks, and toilets were all good, things were clean, we were close to the Plaza, and had a TV, and there was luggage storage. Unfortunately, some of the beds are extremely uncomfortable. Others are just fine, but some feel like there's a piece of plywood on top of some springs, and that's it! Otherwise, everything else was just fine.

Room Tip: Find a room with comfy beds: some do, others don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This budget hotel is in a great location, though a touch noisy with street traffic. It is quaint. But that doesn't come near making up for the hard bed...very uncomfortable by morning...and especially the unprofessional, poor customer service shown by the manager. I sent laundry out, and it came back barely folded and stuffed into the used grocery bag I had put it in. Worst of all, about half the items still smelled dirty. When I complained, the manager became quite nasty, accusing me of calling him a liar and worse. I tried to explain that I couldn't go out into the city in clothes that did not smell clean. He remained upset and angry. It was a very unpleasant experience for me ... I am moving to the other budget hotel downtown...farther away and higher cosy, but worth it to get away from this manager.

Room Tip: I would avoid this hotel. If you do come, try to get a softer bed, don't send your laundry out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The staff of the hostel is not helpful or friendly.
You are asked to pay for all your stay during check in, cash. You can pay using credit card, with addition.
The rooms are very simple and the doors don't close well. They have good space, but no black out. So, be prepared to wake up with the first Sun rays in some rooms.
The breakfast is simple, but include egg and fruit.
The check out time is 10:00 AM.
The wifi is very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Really good central location. The streets of arequipa are pretty hectic with traffic so it was really nice to escape it - it's a peaceful place. Theres a fab view from the roof and they were renovating it to make it into a chill out area.

The main plus is the owner - he was so helpful and was really keen to hear our opinions about our stay. He took on board our comments, positive and negative.


All in all, a good central budget place for people wanting a chilled out place (not a party place!)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay here just off Main Square. Staff were so helpful and owner has great English. Fast wifi connection
And Good breakfast. Staff put on early breakfast to accommodate our early bus departure, organised taxis, carried bags etc- Couldn't do enough for us! Clean rooms en suite and fresh towels everyday! Place being renovated as we stayed so it can only get better from here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portal La Merced Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portal La Merced Hostel

Address: La Merced 131, Arequipa 51, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Portal La Merced Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portal La Merced Hostal” ofrece una combinación inmejorable de buen servicio, calidad, precio, comodidad y seguridad y es indiscutiblemente la mejor opción para los visitantes que buscan alojamiento económico en el centro de Arequipa. Estamos a un paso de las atracciones más populares de Arequipa; incluyendo el famoso lugar de entretenimiento nocturno Calle San Francisco, la zona de compras de la calle Mercaderes, Santa Catalina, Moran y la calle donde estamos ubicados. En “Portal La Merced Hostal”. Ofrecemos alojamiento para todos los gustos, desde habitaciones individuales, dobles, triples, cuádruples todas con baño privado y dormitorios solo para mujeres y dormitorios mixtos con baño privado. Casa colonial con vista panorámica a todo lugar desde la terraza, ven y comparte tu estadía con nosotros, te esperamos!!.Best Regard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Portal La Merced Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portal La Merced Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.