We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casona Plaza Hotel AQP

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casona Plaza Hotel AQP to your Saves list
Casona Plaza Hotel AQP
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle San Jose 207, Arequipa 54, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 89 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here- close to the main square. Very clean hotel with helpful staff who allowed us to store our luggage when we arrived early. Breakfast. Is pretty average and if you go towards the end of the session then there won't be much left! WIFI - didn't work well in our room and even in the lobby area was weak- but that's not unusual in South America.At the desk prices. Are much higher than eg booking.com.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    64
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
24
63
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed in a triple room, very big and comfy with a big bathroom. Very helpful staff and good breakfast. Location-wise quite close to the center, was a 5-10 minute walk and you can leave all your luggage there after check-out. All in all, very good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Lindois, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here on our tour of Peru for 2 nights. Arequipa is a beautiful place surrounded by towering volcanoes and this hotel is really convenient being close to the main square and restaurants. The staff were really helpful and although the room was very comfortable we had no air con and it was a hot day,
There is also nowhere to sit outside but thats because of its city location. There was a fridge in the room and drinks were cheap form the minibar.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The breakfast is limited, but that's not the problem, the problem is that everything was dirty. If you want to have an idea, the glasses and cups were "glued" to the surface of the shelf, probably because of the dried dirty on them. The plates were all oily in the back. VERY oily. The impression was that they did not even washed the dishes. Really disgusting. After that we didn't attended to the breakfast anymore. It was enough.
The bathroom had some hairs in the bathtub and the toilet wasn't really clean, you know... There was some dirty inside of it, and it had the sign that it was all sanitized. Well... not very well as it seems.
After all that when we went to do the check out, they wanted to charge FREE phone calls we did to Brazil because of our reservation was canceled when we tried to do the check in, but that was a problem of GTA (which did the reservation for us), not the hotel. The problem in this case was that they tried to charge us a fee that never existed. The phone number was 0800, which is free.
The room doesn't have blackout on the windows and there are several parking lots around and the cars sound the alarm for anything that comes closer to them, which is a little annoying.
Well, after all that the good thing was an overall (compared to other places in Peru) good internet speed and some very polite and attentive employees.
Must have been bad luck but our experience there was very frustrating.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This hotel is well located, the service is good and the rooms are confortable. Its not really a 4 stars, much more like a 3 stars but the rates are good. So its a good option in Arequipa. I stayed there twice and I recommand it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel was in the heart of Arequipa. It was walking distance to the center of town. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There was free wifi and the breakfast was excellent. The hotel also provided parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had two large beds in our room with nice crisp bed linen and duvets that were very comfortable. Plenty of hot water in the shower. Very clean. Close to the shopping area and centre. Easy to get around town. The breakfasts were good with a fair selection of fresh fruit and juices, eggs, bread, cereals, etc. Wi-fi was good and so was the restaurant where we had a couple of meals. We stayed 3 nights after 48hrs traveling by bus from Guayaquil. It was nice to have a bit of luxury after traveling for so long. They even provided you with toiletries and there was a hairdryer - the second one I've seen in 4 months of traveling so far. The staff were pleasant and helpful. We had an enjoyable stay.

Just be careful when getting into the bath for a shower as it was quite slippery!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.4 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 89 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#1 of 89 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel
1.1 mi away
Casa Andina Classic - Arequipa
0.2 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona Plaza Hotel AQP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona Plaza Hotel AQP

Address: Calle San Jose 207, Arequipa 54, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 89 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casona Plaza Hotel AQP 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casona Plaza Hotel AQP located strategically to only a few stables of Arequipa principal Plaza – Sur del Peru offers them a modern structure of housing, restaurant, room of events and with wireless access to Internet of high speed that is free also it possesses a multilingual personnel and offers a personalized attention of the first level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casona Plaza Hotel AQP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casona Plaza Hotel AQP, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.