We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern hotel in a good location but...it has "a few hairs".” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casona Plaza Hotel AQP

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casona Plaza Hotel AQP to your Saves list
Casona Plaza Hotel AQP
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle San Jose 207, Arequipa 54, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Clean, modern hotel in a good location but...it has "a few hairs".”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Like
- Clean, modern hotel.
- Good location close to main shopping street and tourist sites.
- Allowed us to store luggage for 2 days while at Colca Canyon.
- Wifi good, faster in lobby.
Dislike:
- Next door to several parking stations. We stayed 4 nights on 5th floor overlooking 2 stations and the noise from frequent loud car alarms became very annoying. Take earplugs.
- No air con or fan in room meant it got quite stuffy - too noisy to leave windows open at night. We stayed in rooms 503 and 505 and neither had ventilation.
- Breakfast was terrible - not 4 star quality at all. Often only scraps left when we got there at 8am.
- We requested an early breakfast one morning (5.45am) as we had to leave at 6am for our Colca Canyon tour - nothing was organised and by 6am there was still nothing available, even though breakfast is supposed to be from 6am. We left hungry.

I would recommend this hotel if they added some room ventilation and sorted out the breakfast issue.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    47
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
48
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had booked another hotel (5*), but a mix up with bookings meant we ended up here. Our room had 4 beds squeezed into it (don't know how) so there was no room for us (a couple). It was noisy (street noise) and we had a rubbish night's sleep. However after a good breakfast we asked to be moved and the staff said we should go out and enjoy our day and they'd sort it out whilst we were out. To their credit, they did. When we got back our bags had been moved to a large, quiet room and everything was ready. Kudos to the staff. It was further away from the city centre than the hotel we'd booked, but was OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johns, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel is rated 4 stars, and the price was so good for a 4 stars hotel. We had a twin room, and both beds had several hairs in both beds. The bath tub also had hairs. It was obvious they didn't change the sheets and didn't clean the bathroom good enough. I called reception and they sent two ladies to change the sheets and clean the bathroom. Next day we were offered free dinner as an apology for this issue. It was a nice gesture. Our bedroom was small. Breakfast is nice, good variety of fresh fruit and juices. Location is fine. Staff was helpful keeping our extra luggage during our trip to Cuzco. We had some problems with wi-fi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a total of 3 nights. The first night was brief due to missing our connection flight in Lima. Anyways, we checked in after 10pm and checked out by 3:15am (for a 3 day/2night Colca Canyon Trek). We were thrilled when we first got into the room. Big, spacious, clean, comfortable bed and pillows. As our accomodations in the Colca Canyon were very basic, we were looking forward to returning to the Casona Plaza for our last 2 nights in Arequipa/Peru. Our room the second time around didn't disappoint. No issues with hot water, and lots of it (which after spending 3 days hiking was very much appreciated). This is a 4 star hotel, and I truly got a fantastic rate. The hotel is located no more than a 10 minute walk to the Plaza de Armas, which was great. There is a computer off the lobby for accessing the internet, which was helpful. The front desk staff helped us call a rafting company to book a trip for the following day, and made some very good restaurant suggestions as well. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Very clean big rooms.... Ask for one of the front rooms with the balconys overlooking the street. You will get a glorious sunrise.
Very attentive staff.
Very clean and tidy.
All the comforts and in the perfect city location.
Very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

We have very positively surprised by this hotel. We booked a twin bedroom and we got a large room with two double beds, white and soft/warm duvets, a large bathroom and a safe in the room. WiFi is fast, the service very friendly and the breakfast in the morning is a very large buffet with fresh fruit, ham, cheese, different kind of yogurt and juices, a real brunch type of arrangement. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from Plaza de Armas and far enough from any night-club. The price was such a bargain for what we got, that we decided to come back here to rest after visiting Cuzco.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Housekeeping is very good, staff normaly friendly and helpful. The bar on the first floor is mostly nonexistent, since nobody is ever there. We were given vouchers for frees drinks when we checked in. Once we decided to redeem the drink, we waited in the bar for 20 mins until we finally had to go to the front desk and ask where the bartender was.
The rooms are okay but on arrival we were given a "non- smoking" room that smelled like an ashtray. They changed our room but for one that wasn't even half as nice.
The biggest problem we had with this hotel was front desk service. After staying 7 nights, we wanted to pay with the credit card as we did not have the cash to pay for such a long stay. We asked if there was any additional charge and were told there wasn't. Instead of an extra charge for the credit card they charged an outrageous exchange rate, finally paying an extra $35 more. After questioning this, the woman at the front desk got an attitude with us, acting like we were wasting her time. If you stay here bring cash to pay for this hotel. The extra charge and attitude from the staff is not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casona Plaza Hotel AQP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona Plaza Hotel AQP

Address: Calle San Jose 207, Arequipa 54, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casona Plaza Hotel AQP 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casona Plaza Hotel AQP located strategically to only a few stables of Arequipa principal Plaza – Sur del Peru offers them a modern structure of housing, restaurant, room of events and with wireless access to Internet of high speed that is free also it possesses a multilingual personnel and offers a personalized attention of the first level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casona Plaza Hotel AQP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casona Plaza Hotel AQP, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.