We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victor Gonzales is a liar and a cheat!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Andes House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Andes House Inn to your Saves list
Andes House Inn
Calle Ayacucho 207-211 Cercado, Arequipa Areq 01, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 111 Arequipa B&B and Inns
1 review
“Victor Gonzales is a liar and a cheat!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Please do yourselves a favor and under no circumstances stay at Andes House. The hotel location is ok but otherwise it's on a noisy dirty street, the towels smell and feel like sandpaper. Most importantly, the staff are out to rip you off as much as they can. We booked one Lake Titikaka tour and unfortunately our guide to Machu Picchu withVictor Gonzales. We paid at least $150 more than others and were promised all inclusive service, full taxi transfers, etc. Instead we've been left stranded at bus stations twice now and haven't received any of the "full" services promised. I'm really concerned we won't get our entrance tickets to Machu Picchu and our guide won't show up as no one has shown up as promised thus far. Victor has made our trip stressful and upsetting. Please do not book with Victor Gonzales.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    1
    1
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
6
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de janeiro
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Please never book with them !!!!!
It was the worst experience ever..... The owner of the place Victor pretend to be a member of a tour operator but it's not ! Andes house is just an hotel.
We booked a couple of excursions with him thinking that he was honnest but unfortunately after having paid we noticed that he was lying to us.....He guaranted that everything was included but finally we had to pay a lot of extras such as dinner, bus ticket, equipments, entry for machu picchu ( usually all agencies include all those things)....
Trust me the main goal of Victor is stealing MONEY from tourists !!!
Please BE CAREFULL !!
Furthermore, the organisation was so bad, he never respected the time he announced, we never knew who was our guide, what was the plan of the day.... Basically, once we pay he doesn't care about us anymore !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hostel's double room with single occupancy was a good value for price I think, the room was spacious and clean and had a tv set. The owner - Victor was very helpful and informaive. I bought some trips from him ,maybe they were a bit overpriced but everything was organized well and I felt well guided and even looked after. I overally enjoyed the trips and the hostel, even though I was a bit distracted after having red the negative reviews on this website. In my opinion the hostel worth recommending and if you have nothing booked on arival to Arequipe you just go to the travel agency at the bus station which is run by the owner and you have all you need straightaway..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed some days in this hostel because I went on a tour to the Ampato (6310m). The hostel is really central. You reach the plaza in 7 minutes. It is quiet and has a nice terrace where you can take breakfast. After breakfast we left for a 2 hour ride to Chivay for acclimatization. On the next day a jeep picked us up to drive us to the basecamp of the Ampato at 5060m. The following day, we climbed to the second camp at 5400m to start our attempt for the summit at 12 h midnight. The weather was perfect and I climbed with two guides, Alain Chacon Gonzaes y Hugo Gonzales Gonzales (Aspirantes de case de guias de Huaraz) who are really resposible and made the expedition save. I would always do a tour again with them; we had a lot of fun and reached the summit early in the morning. If you also want to do a tour like this or to other mountains, I can recommend Alain y Hugo highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

the owner is called Victor, cheated us on several trip planned. Don't trust this guy with anything, it will cost you... Sosa room, but don't do it! Wish I had read this before going, but now let me warn you all...

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

They try to take money out of the tourists. Do not book any tours there! They promise things which are not true. The hotel is very noisy and the owner not very friendly. There are much nicer hostals in Arequipa. Do not stay at the Andes House Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balgach, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We're travelling for 6 months but never had such a bad experience, although the Andes House Inn was a friends recommendation!
All 3 nights were unexaptable noisy (smashing doors, shouting kids,... and also after 11pm) whats not big fun if you have to get up at 2.30am to start your Colca-Tour and are facing a 6 hours hike.
The laundry costs 5 Soles per Kg which is twice as much as in other places. The rooms don't get cleaned and there is either no warm water or just boiling hot water, which makes showering quite uncomfortable.
Additionally the brakfast is very basic and can only be eaten on the outdoor terrasse, which can be freezing and wet, depending on the weather conditons.
The worst thing was that they (Victor) ripped us off with the Colca Canyon Tour and provided us with obviously and on purpose wrong tour information. He promised us to get a very special private tour by visiting the Lahar Lodge which he promised is a culinaric highlight and the best lodge in the whole canyon - that was also the reason why we payed more than double of the standard tour.
It turned out, that the guide (Alain) had no feeling for the timing and distances of the trek, the Lahar Lodge was a very basic and dirty place and when we saw the kitchen, we decided not to eat meat/fish but still got both diarrohea. Victor even tried to force us to take the public bus at 1am  to the canyon to make a better deal for him and late in the evening before we started, he tried to convince two other tourists for our "private" tour.
Conclusion: The other tourists who did the standard tour did a much better deal - just don't go for tours organized through the Andes House Inn...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andes House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andes House Inn

Address: Calle Ayacucho 207-211 Cercado, Arequipa Areq 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the "Andes House Inn", a cozy and comfortable place. We are a family with years of experience in the hotel and tourism business. So it is the perfect choice for backpackers and short-trip-travellers. Our attention guarantees that you can enjoy the quietness and safety you need. Hospitality and personalized service are combined to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Andes House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andes House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.