We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“customer service is beyond excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Wayra River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Wayra River to your Saves list
Hostal Wayra River
Cruz Verde 309, Arequipa AQP, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 124 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“customer service is beyond excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hostel was great. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is plenty. However what stands out from the rest is the customer service. Alfredo and his son swell as all the staff are very friendly and helpful and go way beyond the call of duty.

I really cannot state this enough, the customer service is superb. Without wanting to go into detail their advice, help and even accompanying us was much more than we expected and made us feel very welcome and like one of their family.

In sum, hot water, secure, good breakfast, clean and inexpensive with amazing customer service.

The only slight downside was that our room was next to the common area and kitchen but we didn't mind when they made us feel so welcome and relaxed.

We would certainly recommend the hostel and would to back for sure.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a room with a private bathroom as these have a view of el Misti and are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    41
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
6
44
30
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days and I loved it. The owners made me feel home and they did everything possible to help me and the rest of the guests. Breakfast is fantastic, location is great.Wifi is working great and there are two computers free for the guests. I was in a dorm with shared bathroom, incredible deal!!! Area is safe at night and really central. Access to the kitchen makes a big difference after a month of peruvian food.
I will absolutely go back there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great owner, very hospitable, comfortable warm beds, hot showers with good water pressure (many hostels advertise hot water but very few deliver, this hostel actually does have hot water), free use of kitchen with great facilities (eg. microwave, toaster, gas stove and good pots and pans), wifi that actually works. Overall, one of the best hostels in which we have stayed for a reasonably cheap price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was one of the cheapest places we stayed in South America and it does have a rustic charm. The owner was incredibly friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The room was a decent size with it's own bathroom but I can't say it felt really clean. There are facilities to cook your own food which is a bonus if you're on a tight budget. And the view from the roof top is beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hostal is located near the main plaza in a safe neighbourhood. The building is an old but really charming building. The personal was always really helpfull and nice, breakfast was good. Including kitching, free internet. When we get back in Arequipa we definitely will return to this hostal!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

When going to Arequipa stay in this friendly and well organized hostal! The owner is very helpfull and the whole atmosphere is great! It has a nice rooftop and a patio where you can have breakfast in de morningsun everyday and enjoying your eggs and fresh bread (included in de price) while looking at beautifull volcan El Misti! We enjoyed our stay really much!!

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor with mountainview are recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Room 4. This is a good place to stay for very budget-conscious travellers. You get a cot in this room, a double and single bed, table and chair. We’ve been on the road for 7 months so we’re not easily fazed. The things that might deter a traveller accustomed to a higher standard would be lack of floor towel for the shower, no light shades, tired paintwork, risks around the building of unprotected drops from a great height on the rooftop terrace (especially young children), padlock rather than door lock, soap not provided. On the plus sides the staff we amazing, and very helpful information was provided on arrival about attractions, including a map, and a kitchenette with four hobs was invaluable for preparing meals. Breakfast is cornflakes, eggs and white bread rolls. Kindly, the owner offered to buy in some soya milk as we don’t drink cow’s milk. There’s a supermarket under 10 mins walk down the hill. In sum, if you’re used to pushing up towards mid-range accommodation, you probably won’t be as happy as you could be. If you’re on a tight backpacker’s budget, and want a bed and roof over your head plus ability to cook and a nice atmosphere with happy staff, you’ll be happy here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Wayra River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Wayra River

Address: Cruz Verde 309, Arequipa AQP, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is ideally located in the centre of Arequipa, only four blocks from the Plaza de Armas, near shops, supermarkets, bars and restaurants. The house is very nice, we offer rooms with private bathroom and shared bathrooms, hot water 24 hours and good beds for relaxation. Private rooms have cable TV. Breakfast is included. Comfortable lounge with TV, and free internet access and wi-fi. We have a complete kitchen if guests want to cook by themselves. Friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostal Wayra River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Wayra River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.