We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queen's Villa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Queen's Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Queen's Villa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luna Pizarro 512 - Vallecito, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights. Upgraded to an executive double room. The bathroom was tastefully decorated with a modern touch. Beds were very comfortable with high quality linens. Full hot breakfast was the best of any during our 3 week tour of Peru & Chile. Pool was lovely but too cold to swim in during our stay. Hotel located in a quiet upscale neighbourhood. Taxi ride to Plaza d'Armas was 7 soles each way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
16
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have lived in Arequipa and stayed at this hotel before, but never gave myself the time to review it. This time I used all the services provided and had the time to enjoy the hotel in its entirety. What most impressed me about the hotel is its constant improvement, special touches and unending gardens. The hotel has now become a boutique hotel because it has renovated many rooms and its old house, the "casona." I stayed in the casona and my room is adorable. They place fresh flowers in your room too and around the casona. There is a mini-fridge in all rooms, and paintings and old photos of Arequipa in the public areas of the casona too. The televisions have changed to flat screens and there is ample space to place your clothes. One thing about TV in Peru: some channels are just fuzzy. It may be the cable company or just how it is here. I don't know. There is an elegant restaurant with antique chairs that have been beautifully reupholstered. The outdoors has flowers everywhere, tall trees and cactus. There are many little small pots of cactus; they are too cute. The reception area has a beautiful light fixture that is quite modern. They also have computers and a printer for clients' use. Don't miss the hot mate de coca while you wait for your taxi, etc. It is delicious.
I had breakfast for the first time and it was very pleasant. You eat outside right in the bar area, so if you get cold easily like me, wear a sweater. It is so lovely with the gardens and pool views, and the bar is a unique fixture of the hotel. I didn't see people use it, but they should because it is too cool. The coffee served was really nice. It was a bit richer than normal American coffee and not very watery. You can order fresh made juice. I got papaya mixed with pineapple (piña). You can get toast (tostadas) or bread rolls (pan de trigo). I always get pan de trigo because it is unique from here. It looks like a triangle with air inside. Sometimes the bakers put anise (anís) in the bread which I find delish. They make the eggs fresh in front of you. I always got scramble eggs. I usually don't eat so much in the morning, but it had been a really really nice treat. Delicious.
The workers are overall nice. A bit shy in my North American opinion. The receptionist in the evening is especially friendly and is eager to help you with anything you need. She has a positive attitude and makes you smile. Sonia is very responsible. Virginia who serves breakfast is sweet and you can tell she worries about making a good impression during your breakfast hour. Oscar, the morning receptionist, is good as well. You just need to talk to him a bit so he can loosen up, but this is in the perspective of an American. He says he wants to practice his English more, but gladly helped me practice my Spanish. The night receptionists have always been very professional.
The hotel has so much to offer like parking, the restaurant, a pool, many chairs and lounge chairs to enjoy the scenery. I wish it much luck. It seems to have a hard time at getting out all it has to offer tourists since it is not in the center. It is just a bit aways from the center, but completely reachable on foot or you can just get a cheap taxi, around 5 soles. I think that getting the word out is it only downfall. Little things that you may not like are the yellow stripes on the stairs. I found out it is law in Arequipa. Another thing when requesting rooms in the casona, request not to be in a room next to another occupied room if you are a light sleeper. The people next to me had their TV on all night.
I am writing my first trip advisor review because I realized how much I myself have used it to find places and the need to get these reviews out to help fellow travelers!

Room Tip: The casona is cute, but they also have rooms outside too that are larger and more modern. If you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queens_admin, Director de Recepción at Queen's Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Queen's Villa Hotel is very grateful for his public congratulations, we are pleased to be able to meet your expectations.
Receive a warm greeting from all the family from Queens town and we hope to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here once in january 2013 and then this past week. The rooms in the main building were just updated with all new floors and bathrooms and are so nice! Also in the older house, all new decor and many new updates to rooms. Looks great.
The rooms are ALWAYS clean, which is important to me.
The location is about 5 minute taxi ride to city center, and 15 minute walk during the day. I've read some reviews about dogs barking, which I have noticed to be MUCH worse in other hotels in Peru.
The top rated hotel in Arequipa, that I've also been to, had similar rooms but no pool, no bar, no restaurant, and no dog (miskol!)... although that hotel is closer to the main square, I felt the street was extremely busy and not as charming as vallecito.
The hotel staff is not as forthcoming as they could be, but if you ask them, they will do ANYTHING you need! Very helpful!
Delicious deserts at the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queens_admin, Director de Recepción at Queen's Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Queen's Villa Hotel is very grateful for his public congratulations, we are pleased to be able to meet your expectations.
Receive a warm greeting from all the family from Queens town and we hope to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We did enjoy the pool at the hotel, however I do think that the rooms could do with an update. We stayed here (3 friends) in May. The hotel was well located, and staff were very friendly. i would just suggest to update the decor!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queens_admin, Director de Recepción at Queen's Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Queen's Villa Hotel is very grateful for his public congratulations, we are pleased to be able to meet your expectations.
Receive a warm greeting from all the family from Queens town and we hope to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

very hightly rated for what they offer, small and dirty rooms, housekeeping never visited the room while our stay of two nights. Not recommendable location, it gaves you the sense of danger when going out at night, dark neighborhood. Dogs barking overnight, very bad nights spent there. There are better hotels with better prices and better location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queens_admin, Director de Recepción at Queen's Villa Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado señor, ante todo queríamos agradecer su tiempo para para compartir su experiencia en nuestro Hotel Queen’s Villa , una de nuestras fortalezas es tomar en cuenta todos los comentarios y verlas como oportunidades para mejorar continuamente nuestros servicios e innovar nuestras instalaciones para satisfacer las expectativas de nuestro actuales y futuros visitantes.
Nuestro Hotel se encuentra Ubicado en una zona Residencial y segura ”Vallecito” y a solo 5 minutos en taxi de la Plaza de Armas de la ciudad de Arequipa,

Le pedimos, acepte nuestras más sinceras disculpas, ya que no tuvo una experiencia muy grata en su estadía. Asimismo, quisiera compartir con usted que en nuestro Hotel contamos con diferentes líneas, las cuales se ajustan a las exigencias, gustos y preferencias de nuestro Visitantes, de esta manera tratamos de satisfacer los diferentes presupuestos de viaje. Contamos espacios con lo que no cuenta ningún otro Hotel como son nuestros más de 1500 metros de jardines , nuestra piscina, estacionamiento privado , computadoras a su disposición y el WiFi gratuito ,además con tamos con los servicios de Cafetería, Restaurante con chimenea para su calidez y nuestro Bar para su disfrute al costado de nuestra piscina .
Definitivamente le agradecemos una vez más su comentario, y se tomaran las medidas pertinentes de manera inmediata para corregir algún error involuntario, de eso no tenga la menor duda.
Esperamos que siga con nosotros en una próxima oportunidad, nuestra Familia Queen’s Villa siempre estará gustoso de poder atenderlo.
Muchas gracias por su tiempo y acepte nuestras más distinguidas consideraciones.

QUEEN’S VILLA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a very pretty property and the basic staff is very nice. Our experience with the management was poor, actually very poor. We have traveled extensively and have never provided a negative review but there is always a first time.
Our prearranged transportation was not at the station to pick us up and after almost 30 minutes we sought a taxi. Upon arriving at the hotel we were greeted by the Manager (we will leave the name out to be nice) who began by raising her voice that her brother was going to be mad because he had gone to pick us up and was waiting for us. Where was he when we were looking for him for 30 minutes??? We were put in a room with twin beds when we had reserved a double. Moved to a lovely ground floor unit overlooking the pool and garden but was told only temporarily as it was being saved for local visitors. We were told the move upstairs was the same exact room just up a floor which was not even close to accurate. The room was half the size, dirty walls, holes in the walls, bathroom light fixture coming off the wall showing the wiring and a huge hole and on and on.

The highlight was when we were checking out they were attempting to charge additional taxes and not honoring our discounted rate. The Manager was not on property so the front desk kept calling her with the situation. I had all the paperwork and a good thing. I told the front desk we would not pay one sole more than we had contracted. We couldn't wait to get out of there!!!

Room Tip: Horrible experience with management!!!!!!!! Room quality depends on which unit you are given. I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queens_admin, Director de Recepción at Queen's Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Queen's Villa Hotel is very grateful for his public congratulations, we are pleased to be able to meet your expectations.
Receive a warm greeting from all the family from Queens town and we hope to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Quiet and tidy, but a bit overpriced in my opinion. The outdoor area is nice, with a small pool and lounging areas. The breakfast experience was negative. It seemed like there wasn't enough food for all guests. The hotel is located in a classic neighborhood, some 15 minutes away from the Main Square.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queens_admin, Director de Recepción at Queen's Villa Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Queen's Villa Hotel is very grateful for his public congratulations, we are pleased to be able to meet your expectations.
Receive a warm greeting from all the family from Queens town and we hope to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen's Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Villa Hotel

Address: Luna Pizarro 512 - Vallecito, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen's Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged by nature and yet close to the Plaza de Armas of Arequipa, Queen's Villa Hotel offers all of the convenience, comfort, and peacefulness that you need to have a pleasant stay. We harmoniously join the elegance and comfort of our Deluxe rooms, the warm decor of our Colonial rooms and an exceptionally pleasant place inspired by nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Queen's Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen's Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.