We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great spacy rooms but poor breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Andes Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Los Andes Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
Calle La Merced 123, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Killarney, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location, great spacy rooms but poor breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Really good hostel, lovely old building but big space rooms...clean and good shower, they let us check in early and allowed us to store our luggage. Breakfast was the only complaint as the water has a funny taste and breakfast was fairly basic. Excellent location, right next to main square. Overall very good!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    78
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
95
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Located in central Arequipa, Los Andes is clean and very convenient, a huge well equipped kitchen, simple but filling buffet breakfast nice rooftop and decent wi fi. We read other reviews prior that matramonial rooms were 50 or 70 soles, we paid 60! Was still the best value accom. We found in the city centre. Also supermarket 100 meters away, and travel advuce everywh! Only complaint really was we tried to book online but got no reply.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good, but ours was off the street and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Los Andes is a 2 minute walk to the main plaza. Its clean, well maintained and reasonably priced. We were quoted a different price on arrival to what we had in the email but they gave us the room for the email price. Room was bright and airy, beds very comfortable, shower warm and the wifi was intermittent. Breakfast was simple continental but had nice fresh juices and the coffee wasn't bad. Staff helpful and informative. Communal kitchen was nice and clean. Great coffee shop 2 mins away called Cusco coffee.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Firstly, Los Andes is a lot more expensive now than what is listed in the Lonely Planet. Prices are 25 for a dorm, 65 for private and 85 for private with ensuite. (I note other reviewers paid less - eg 50 for a private... At that price Los Andes is a great option)

The location is great (just metres from the main square), wifi is good, rooms and communal facilities are impeccably maintained and the kitchen/dining/socialising space is big, airy and inviting.

On the downside, the oven, and one of the burners is broken meaning there is inevitably a long line to cook food, and the rooms are Spartan for the money.

A safe bet but not amazing value.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed in a private twin (2 double beds) ensuite room at Los Andes for 2 nights.

We arrived very early on an overnight bus from Cusco, and were immediately offered breakfast by the reception staff while our room was being prepared, which was a really nice gesture.

The room was huge, with 2 comfortable double beds, but the curtains were quite thin and there was a fair bit of street noise, as the room was above one of the main roads leading off the main plaza in Arequipa. So the location of the hostel was excellent, but we needed an eye mask and ear plugs for a sound nights sleep - nothing unusual in Peru though!

The bathroom was fine, the shower had decent pressure but wasn't always piping hot.
The breakfast was basic but fine, bread, jam, tea and coffee, sometimes including fruit or cereal and yoghurt.
The Wifi was intermittent in our room, but worked fine in the common areas of the hostel.

All in all, a good value hostel, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lhasa, China
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

It's right in the center of Arequipa. We had a huge room, the breakfast buffet was excellent as well as the WiFi.
Very friendly staff, hot showers and clean shared bathrooms - what else can you wish for. We paid c. 50 Soles for a double w/ shared bathroom. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very good hotel. We stayed there 3 nights, during very low season and we enjoyed the room. We had a very good price for a double room with private bathroom.
The bathroom was really nice with hot water. Good wifi.
The people at the reception were very helpful and nice.
The hotel is well located near the plazas de armas.
Very good beds!
And enjoyed after our trek to have a shower even after check out in the bathroom at the reception: it makes a difference before 10h00 of bus.
Fully equipped kitchen available.
Good breakfast with fresh juices!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Andes Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Andes Bed & Breakfast

Address: Calle La Merced 123, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Los Andes Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Andes Bed And Breakfast
Los Andes Hotel Arequipa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Andes Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.