We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor breakfasts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Andes Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Los Andes Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
Calle La Merced 123, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location, poor breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The location here is the main advantage, as it is a stones throw to the plaza de armas, restaurants and sights. The breakfast isn't worth getting up for. There was a plumbing problem in our ensuite which leaked and had quite a bad smell. We were provided with extra towels and a bucket to keep it under control and were offered a different room but as it had only twin beds we decided to stay put. Otherwise it was a comfortable and pleasant stay. Staff are helpful and booked bus tickets for us.
PS - if visiting Arequipa, eating in Zig Zag is a must!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    68
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
81
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I spent 3 weeks here and it was great. Staff very helpful, rooms are very clean, its the best place I have stayed in, in the 3 months I have been in Peru. Hot water and wifi were good and the kitchen area with tv was a great place to hang out and meet new people. I also went to the Spanish school that is behind the hostal and loved to spend the afternoons on the roof terrace doing my homework.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed at Los Andes for several days. The rooms were very clean and pleasant and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The price was very reasonable. I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Arequipa.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitegate, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The best location you could find in Arequipa. Clean, huge rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. Simple, but good breakfast. The taxi driver tried to convince us that it`s very expensive, but it`s not true. I booked the rooms in advance, so I knew how much I`ll pay for it. It was the normal price, like everywhere in Peru for a backpacker hostel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in July and had a private single room. The room was quiet and simple with a small bathroom. The breakfast was good and the location was perfect, across the road from the "Juanita" museum and half a block from the main plaza. The hotel is close to all main attractions and travel agencies.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My partner and I spent 8 nights at Los Andes B&B in April 2012, as we decided to do a Spanish course while we were there.

We paid 72 Soles a night for a twin double-bed room, with an en-suite (including hot shower), which was a reduced rate as we were doing a course at the EDEAQ Spanish school linked to the B&B. I was ill during our stay, so we were pleased we paid the extra and got a private room with en-suite.

Our room was huge, very clean and comfortable. There was a table and chairs to do our course homework in our room, and a TV to relax in front of. The only downside was it overlooked the busy street outside, which was very loud. We had to wear earplugs to sleep well.

The free wi-fi always had a great signal, and the communal kitchen was well stocked. It lacked tea towels most of the time, so drying up when the drainer was full was difficult, but that was nothing to worry about.

Breakfast was simple, so we usually bought a few more things from the supermarket to bulk it up a bit (some cereal and yogurt or fruit), as we needed the energy for our Spanish lessons.

The location of the B&B is excellent, right next to the Plaza and all the shops. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
na
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is literally steps away from the main square and directly across the museum. The hotel is actually a hostel and it was great just for a couple of days. The rooms were a fair size, staff were friendly and most of the time there was hot water. Hot water seemed to run out around 9ish when everyone was taking their showers.

Breakfast was decent, just a continental spread but for the price it was worth it!

Room Tip: Avoid a room that faces the street it's really noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Andes Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Andes Bed & Breakfast

Address: Calle La Merced 123, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Los Andes Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Andes Bed And Breakfast
Los Andes Hotel Arequipa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Andes Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.