We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chicha por Gaston Acurio

Chicha por Gaston Acurio
calle Santa Catalina 210, int 105, Arequipa, Peru
51 - 54 - 287360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 186 Restaurants in Arequipa
Price range: $7 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very nice place to go out for a fancy dinner! Pretty pricy, especially for Peru standards but its for sure worth it. The staff is very nice and friendly, the meals are super tasty!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    191
    97
    45
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Arequipa Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Chicha by Gaston Acurio, Peru's premiere chef, is a great restaurant in Arequipa. It showcases cuisine as done in Arequipa. The bread - especially the quinoa bread sticks were awesome. Ocopa was our potato appetizer - it is a large plate of potatoes with sauce - Arequipan style - based in peanuts. I had the pato - duck, which was so delicious and the rice was just awesome. The service was very attentive and patient. For what was paid, we had a great value since the same type of meal would have cost us 3x or so more in NYC. Chef Acurio hit upon a fantastic idea - having restaurants showcasing the local flavors - rather than a general type of cuisine. Each region/town has its own unique flavors and that is very much evident wherever we went in Peru.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Peruvian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Wonderful ambience, great food, attentive staff, a must visit in Arequipa. My husband and I had the stuffed Peruvian pepper and couldn't resist finishing with the chocolate souffle. All totally delicious with of course a delightful Pisco Sour and a local red. All reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best meal in Peru!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Wow- this place is incredible. It has a beautiful modern/old Spanish decor, great service and the food is fantastic. My husband had the swordfish with mashed potatoes and veggies and every bite was impressive, especially for less than $18 US! I had the triple platter of Peruvian local dishes (rotcoto relleno, deep fried pork and some potatoe and cream curry). All of it was very tasty. So much so, that we went back for drinks later that night. A must visit in Arequipa!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

With only one night in Arequipa, we had competing recommendations on where to eat dinner. We chose Chi Cha and were not disappointed. The traditional Peruvian food we ordered was great, and the ambiance was great. The staff were friendly and the overall experience was very relaxing. Prices were very good.

We ate early by local standards - feel sure that it can get quite busy later in the evening.

It is located quite close to the Main Square.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicha por Gaston Acurio also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to Chicha por Gaston Acurio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicha por Gaston Acurio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.