We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Hosteria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Hosteria to your Saves list
La Hosteria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Bolivar 405 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$56 (USD)
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very nice Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

It is classified as Hostel, but actually it is more a Boutique Hotel, it has two beautiful courtyards, sunny with lots of plants. The bedrooms are 5 stars, have new tasteful furniture, big flatscreen tv, great beds and feather duvets, beautiful views, a bathtub in the bedroom, and great details in the spotless bathroom. There are a couple things that could have been better, it needed a heater in the bedroom, it was freezing at night (so the beautiful bathtub is almost useless, you would be freezing as soon as you get out) and the poor quality of the toilet paper. The location is perfect, 5 minute walk in safe nice streets to get to the main plaza, and around the corner of Monasterio de Santa Catalina, one of the major attractions of the city.

Room Tip: the third floor has beautiful views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARNALDO M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Hosteria, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thanks for your good opinions, we really appreciated how you express about our place, and we are also thankful for the points you have mention we need to get better at, we are seriously thinking about the heaters suggestion and we are also going to check the toilet paper situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    66
    20
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
72
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Spent 4 nights in this cozy hotel. It is conveniently located right next to Santa Catalina Monastery. Staff was helpful but not above expectations. Breakfast was a bit repetitive but good and plenty. Our room was spacious and clean just as the bathroom.
Unfortunately I do not remember our room number (401 maybe?) but the view of Chachani was truly breathtaking....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARNALDO M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Hosteria, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
It’s very nice to hear good opinions about our hostel, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. In the other hand La Hosteria staff take really serious your recommendations about breakfast and considering your opinion we have change a little our breakfast situation, very soon we will also offer “TAMALITOS” and some other things. We hope our guests like them.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Nice, comfortable, affordable, cozy hotel with character and a beautiful courtyard just a short walk from many city sights and restaurants. Rooms were spacious, clean, and updated. WiFi was the fastest we had in Peru. Our room even had a jacuzzi tub. Safety box in the room, though ours was not functioning. Breakfast was satisfactory and included. Hotel was more than willing to store our bags while we hiked Colca Canyon. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The old colonial building with beautiful patios and courtyard is lovely. Views are beautiful. The hotel is in an ideal spot, very close to the old convent, Santa Catalina, and downtown. Our room on the 2nd ifloor was spacious and bright. However, It had a bizarre submarine-like pinging sound, and when we told the management about it, they said they knew of it, it had something to do with the ventilation, and couldn't be fixed. And our room couldn't be changed because the hotel was full. Perhaps until they figure this out, this room shouldn't be used?
The staff was good about responding to issues (other than the room!), but definitely not proactive. We had to show them that the breakfast buffet was almost completely empty at 8 a.m., for example. public areas were cleaned only once a day (emptying ash trashs). A bit of a mixed bag.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARNALDO M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Hosteria, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Is good to know that you liked our place in general, on the other hand we took seriously the suggestions or critics from our guest that is why the problem of the sound that had to do with the ventilation system in the room has been solved. Also we are constantly checking the breakfast offered by the hotel same as the common areas, that way our guests will feel good and confortable at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed in 8 hotels in Peru during 3 week trip in April and this was the best. After long haul from Australia, definitely worth paying the top end of of our budget for this room. Airport pickup was great, staff very welcoming, lovely building, big room, fabulous view and fantastic mattress. Lots of great common areas, including the lovely courtyard. Breakfast buffet wasn't the best of the trip but still excellent - typical for Peru with bread, eggs, fruit, Peruvian cereal, juice, tea/coffee. Very close to all the action and the area felt very safe, day or evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We spent 3 nights at this beautiful boutique hotel and we did not regret our choice. The place is perfectly located minutes form the main square and right next to the beautiful monastery of Santa Catalina. The hotel itself is a beautiful colonial building which opens up on a spectacular garden with fountain where you can hang out and have breakfast listening to the birds singing. Breakfast was great but beware that they run out of eggs pretty rapidly! Although we booked a matrimonial room we were upgraded to a suite for no extra charge. The room is right at the top of the building with spectacular views of the town and El Misti, which is definitely awe inspiring. The staff was really helpful and the person at reception suggested to us some good restaurant and places to visit. Only one thing that left us a little baffled: the toilet had no door. It’s a real pity as the suite is beautiful and clean and the bathroom is modern with an open Jacuzzi right in the room, which is fine. But under what circumstances is it ok to have a toilet without door? I fail to understand that. We had to make do by using the shower curtain to cover the entrance!

Overall a great place in a beautiful location but please put a door in the bathroom!

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room where the bathroom has a door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed two nights, 3 in a room
The place is lovely, the staff is kind, and the location is excellent, close enough to the main square, but not too close to here all the noise.
The room for 3 in the second floor has main room with two bands and smaller room with one bad, this was convenient, though the smaller room suffers from street noise.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hosteria

Address: Calle Bolivar 405 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Hosteria 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feature colonial house with rooms ashlar and vaulted ceilings with patios and sunrooms filled with color and sunshine. The lodge is at the heart of the historic center of Arequipa, in the center of the city very near to banks, shopping and restaurants in the city, opposite the convent of Santa Catalina, three blocks from the main square. About 20 minutes from the airport. The hotel has 16 rooms between superior and standard, ranging from 20 to 40 m2, these rooms are equipped with safe, cable TV, private bathroom and minibar. Guests can enjoy a breakfast buffet with cereals dairy, fruits, and juices. The property has a 24h reception, free Wi-Fi in public places as well as room service, parking and provides laundry services at additional cost. We have a Roman bath, spa and swimming pool, which is an additional cost, so you can relax and feel comfortable in our hotel stay. You can program the pick up and transfer from the airport with prior arrangement with the hotel. Tourist information is provided free, and you can schedule multiple and various tours. The rooms feature all the amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your La Hosteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Hosteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.