We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Hosteria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Hosteria to your Saves list
La Hosteria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Bolivar 405 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 88 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Tel aviv
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in May 2013.
The hotel is and old house renovated with a lot of caracter.
Loved the patio and the common areas. The rooms are very good and full with small details.
The location is perfect in downtown so you can go walking every where.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    69
    21
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
74
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

As a single traveller I found this a very safe place to stay. and also very central. The front entrance is gated and there is a bell to ring to enter. A member of staff can see who is entering the property and opens the gate. There is a beautiful courtyard overhanging with flowers with small seated area. I stayed here for two nights and found it very peaceful, comfortable bed room with friendly staff. and breakfast very good. An easy walk to the centre of Arequipa. I can recommend this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

In the heart of downtown Arequipa--and, really, there's very little to see or do outside that central area--La Hostería offered us the best location for our visit. It's an old house now adapted to house guests, but the feel of the place, especially the common areas--the downstairs patio, the upstairs terrace with a view to the snow-capped mountains over the gushing bougainvillea--is that of staying at a friend's house. An affluent friend, to be sure: antique Spanish tile everywhere, expensive carpeting, a colonial stone staircase under a skylight that helps several potted plants thrive... Our room was comfortable, the beds good, the duvet warm enough to kick off in the middle of the night, and that view to the mountains! Service was excellent in every way--demure staff, helpful and polite in the best Peruvian tradition. We loved it.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, make sure to request a room in the back, away from the street. Especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Had one lovely room for one night, then went on a colca tour, came back and t next room was nowhere near the first room, damp ceiling, paint falling off, bathroom looking old and run down.

As I say the first room was immaculate. If that was the standard throughout the hotel would have lived up to its rating but unfortunately on the second and third night the room was a major let down.

Also breakfast wasn't worth getting up for but this is the case in a lot of basic Peruvian hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is really great, very close to Plaza das Armas and just at the same street of Monasterio, hotel is very classic and quiet, rooms have old style but very well cleaned and comfortable, really recommend for every traveler.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a non-refundable booking with booking.com when our flight from Juliaca was cancelled due to bad weather.
With a simple email the hotel staff was so nice as to cancel our reservation without any penalty on the day of arrival!! We would def book there again!
Thank u again very much!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed two nights in this wonderful hotel. We had very nice room on the second floor. The breakfast was most delightful, the personnel was very friendly. The receptionist miss Victoria was very kind and helped us to overcome the hight illness with learning us to drink coca tea. This very quiet hotel was one of our highlights during our trip in Peru.

Gaston Demaree and Eva Orvanova

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#1 of 88 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#6 of 88 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#9 of 88 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de Avila - Tourist Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hosteria

Address: Calle Bolivar 405 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 88 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Hosteria 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feature colonial house with rooms ashlar and vaulted ceilings with patios and sunrooms filled with color and sunshine. The lodge is at the heart of the historic center of Arequipa, in the center of the city very near to banks, shopping and restaurants in the city, opposite the convent of Santa Catalina, three blocks from the main square. About 20 minutes from the airport. The hotel has 16 rooms between superior and standard, ranging from 20 to 40 m2, these rooms are equipped with safe, cable TV, private bathroom and minibar. Guests can enjoy a breakfast buffet with cereals dairy, fruits, and juices. The property has a 24h reception, free Wi-Fi in public places as well as room service, parking and provides laundry services at additional cost. We have a Roman bath, spa and swimming pool, which is an additional cost, so you can relax and feel comfortable in our hotel stay. You can program the pick up and transfer from the airport with prior arrangement with the hotel. Tourist information is provided free, and you can schedule multiple and various tours. The rooms feature all the amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your La Hosteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Hosteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.