We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we stayed in during our time in Perú” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Hosteria

Save Saved
You added La Hosteria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Hosteria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Bolivar 405 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 84 hotels in Arequipa
Willemstad, Curacao
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The best hotel we stayed in during our time in Perú”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

In the heart of downtown Arequipa--and, really, there's very little to see or do outside that central area--La Hostería offered us the best location for our visit. It's an old house now adapted to house guests, but the feel of the place, especially the common areas--the downstairs patio, the upstairs terrace with a view to the snow-capped mountains over the gushing bougainvillea--is that of staying at a friend's house. An affluent friend, to be sure: antique Spanish tile everywhere, expensive carpeting, a colonial stone staircase under a skylight that helps several potted plants thrive... Our room was comfortable, the beds good, the duvet warm enough to kick off in the middle of the night, and that view to the mountains! Service was excellent in every way--demure staff, helpful and polite in the best Peruvian tradition. We loved it.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, make sure to request a room in the back, away from the street. Especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    53
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
50
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had one lovely room for one night, then went on a colca tour, came back and t next room was nowhere near the first room, damp ceiling, paint falling off, bathroom looking old and run down.

As I say the first room was immaculate. If that was the standard throughout the hotel would have lived up to its rating but unfortunately on the second and third night the room was a major let down.

Also breakfast wasn't worth getting up for but this is the case in a lot of basic Peruvian hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is really great, very close to Plaza das Armas and just at the same street of Monasterio, hotel is very classic and quiet, rooms have old style but very well cleaned and comfortable, really recommend for every traveler.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We had a non-refundable booking with booking.com when our flight from Juliaca was cancelled due to bad weather.
With a simple email the hotel staff was so nice as to cancel our reservation without any penalty on the day of arrival!! We would def book there again!
Thank u again very much!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed two nights in this wonderful hotel. We had very nice room on the second floor. The breakfast was most delightful, the personnel was very friendly. The receptionist miss Victoria was very kind and helped us to overcome the hight illness with learning us to drink coca tea. This very quiet hotel was one of our highlights during our trip in Peru.

Gaston Demaree and Eva Orvanova

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Of all of the places I stayed at during my trip to Peru my ultimate favourite was La Hosteria in Arequipa. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and helpful, and despite my not speaking any Spanish the staff and I managed to understand each other perfectly well with just a hint of help from my phrasebook.
The room was bright, airy and clean, the bed super comfy and there was plenty of storage space for my case and backpack.
I was provided with a map of the town and also the staff recommended places to go and even organised a tour of the city at a reasonable rate. When having to leave the majority of luggage there for 2 days while exploring the Colca Canyon the staff locked my luggage away in a safe place.
The hotel itself situated in the midst of some of the great sites to visit, practically in the middle of the city, and still the location was tranquil, you could sit in peace quite comfortably in the secure gated courtyard and just be.
Breakfast was always ready and waiting and the staff would bring out freshy and warm rolls out for you as soon as you sat at a table.
Leaving was quite emotional as the staff had wished me a wonderful time for the rest of my trip and invited me back to return to stay at any time.
Absolute gem of a place and even though i was travelling on my own I was well looked after by the staff. I intend to return there as soon as possible due to the fact that the hotle and staff left a positive and lasting impression in my heart and mind

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great place to be! Location quite but in the middle of all important sites in the city and quite. Nice spanish court, styled and maintained in its historic sence and with attention to a lot nice details. Terrace with nice view over the town and sunny lovely place that invites to stay much longer and rest. Comfortable rooms and sufficient large bed (for Peruan conditions) for this category with flat screen TV. Soap and lotion in small extra jugs - stylish in its old fashion. Staff friendly, helpful and attentive. Really absolutely worth the money and to stay longer.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hosteria

Address: Calle Bolivar 405 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 84 hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Hosteria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Hosteria is located in the city center, five minutes ago to the main square by foot.It has a colonial architecture dating before 1800.We are delighted to welcome our guests and affer to you our services:we have WI-FI, TV (LED) with cable,parking, bathroom with hot water in own bedroom, and buffet breakfast, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Hosteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Hosteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.