We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel

Save Saved
You added La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jerusalen 306-A, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 84 hotels in Arequipa
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed here in a single private room for 2 nights. The room was clean, and the water was hot. I was able to book my Colca Canyon trek through them with no issues & was able to leave my bag there as well. The courtyard area is a very nice place to sit and read. If you're looking for a place to socialize and meet people, this might not be it but if you're looking for a nice, quiet and clean hostel... This would be an excellent choice.

As stated in some other reviews, they do have some staff which speak little to no English but given you are in Peru where the official language is Spanish... I think this is to be expected. Between my efforts with speaking Spanish and their efforts in listening... We were usually able to get the point across.

If I found myself in Arequipa again, I'd come back here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
14
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat springs, co
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed one night here- we booked a double with shared bath but they upgraded us to private bath for free due to overbooking. Nice clean place and friendly staff. The room is fine but not amazing- only windows are in the door. great for the price though.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We arrived early in the morning having taken an overnight bus to Arequipa. We were able to leave our bags while we ate included breakfast and waited for our room to be prepared from the last guests. Two people on staff speak perfect English. They overbooked rooms with a shared bath, and they upgraded us to a room with a bathroom free of charge. The woman on staff gave us great food recommendations. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The room was very quiet, clean and the showers had hot water! We were able to leave our belongings safely locked up while we spent three days in the Colca Canyon. When we came back our room was in their partner's hostal just downstairs, La Posada de Jerusalen. Again, really clean rooms and bathrooms. Harry, the caretaker was unbelievable- extremely helpful and went out of his way to help us. We checked out in the morning but we're able to store our bags and use the bathrooms and wifi throughout the day before out night bus to Arequipa. We would highly recommend either place, you get much more than what you pay for.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocolalla, Idaho
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We did not prebook a room and the rate was less than posted. The nine rooms are located around a center patio where breakfast is served. Breakfast is fresh juice, bread, butter, jam coffee and tea. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is a small selection of basics (water, food) for sale on site. The off street rooms are amazingly quiet. The water is hot and good pressure.

The location is excellent. Tour shops, laundry and restaurants are abundant.

Room Tip: Off street rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo S, Propietario at La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment, we indeed have very good prices and the rates are very accesible to everyone depending on what type of room they want.
Everybody loves our sunny Patio to enjoy breakfast or a cold beer. Our staff is very customer oriented and just wants to treat guest the way they like to be treated! :)
We intentionally and strategically chose this location because it`s near everything and just in the middle of the Historic Downtown Arequipa. We like to offer a nice and quite space for our guest to be comfortable which of course includes, basics such as hot water with good pressure, clean white towels and maid service everyday.
We also offer tours, do laundry and sell tickets so that you buy with confidence and a backup that everything is going to be fine!
Thank you again and have a nice trip through Peru!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have stayed in La Casona during our stay in Arequipa, hostel staff is nice while we have arrived in the early morning, the room is not ready for checkin, so we left our luggage in their place. Security is good enough while all the guests need to give back their keys to host when they left the hostel.

We have stayed in Room 7, which is big enough for three people, equip with private bathroom which is clean but one thing need to notice that there is not enough hot water from the bath.

main square is within walking distance, the place is quiet and you can sleep well at the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. The common area was being re-tiled while we were there which added a little extra noise and inconvenience. We got a room with a double bed and a private bath.

The Good:
- Great location
- Comfy and clean bed
- Hot water as long as you gave it a break between people
- Friendly staff

The Bad:
- The place had a musty (bathroom) and poopy (gardening compost?) smell.
- The outside construction
- The overall quality of the room (bed lamp could not reach outlet, large fluorescent was painful to the eyes, pretty cramped for two)
- The towels smelled musty as well

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks and was very pleased. The entire place was spotless, including my room, the common areas, and the shared bathroom. My room was tidied every day and the towel and sheets were changed several times. The location is within easy walking distance of the main square, but it is very quiet at night. The staff were friendly and the place was very secure. An excellent value!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo S, Director General at La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you very much for your comment! specially because
a "Two week stay" means our guest gets to know and see the Hostel in every aspect, and to have passed that test with your approval saying that "the entire place was spotless" means a lot to our team!
It is a great satisfaction to know that the location we strategically chose was right! the cleaning we do is correct! and that our customer service is also friendly and our guests feel safe!
About the value we do our best efforts to keep a balance between price and quality and our goal is to have our guests happy with the value, just as you!

We thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you soon back in Arequipa!

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel

Address: Jerusalen 306-A, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 84 hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have THE BEST AND SAFEST LOCATION in Arequipa, just 3 blocks to the Plaza de Armas and in front of the Tourism Police.La Casona de Jerusalen is at the center of Arequipa at very short walking distances to the most important touristic places of the White City!We are a very CLEAN and QUIET Hostel which goal is for you to be happy here. We have all the great things the great hostels have, plus you feeling actually like a GUEST surrounded by friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.