We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada del Parque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Posada del Parque to your Saves list
Posada del Parque
Dean Valdivia 238 A | Cercado, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great people, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We had a large, clean and interesting room. We arrived in the early evening and the ladies at the front desk could not do enough for us, they were helpful and welcoming. Breakfast on the rooftop with a view of the volcanoes was a treat as was the location just a few blocks away from the main tourist streets. It was an easy walk to Plaza Armas and also to the tour operators so we could book our trip to the Colca Canyon. A draw back for us was the lack of pressure in the shower and the warm, but not hot, water. It is not a 5 star but it offers good value and a kind, concerned staff for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    14
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
11
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Rooms and halls are adorable, old colonial style, very clean and well maintained, spacious, comfortable with nice view – especially dining room and kitchenette on the rooftop, from where you can see tops of volcanoes and a cathedral.
Unfortunately there is NO ONE who speaks English, not the nice lady (I guess the owner), not anyone on the reception – very inconvenient, as you always get the best information at your hotel when you’re in the city for the first time. The only person we could communicate with was a friendly man at tourist office (only few hours a day present). We bought a bus ticket for Colca Canyon and condor watching, but the bus was an hour late (we waited in cold at 2:30 AM!) and we stopped for breakfast (it wasn’t mentioned while buying the trip) for like 40 minutes and for condors we had only half an hour – definitely too little time :(
The breakfast is optional, so is laundry service, the costs is almost double comparing with prices in the city. There is no possibility to negotiate prices, even for longer stay, or couple of pesos.
To sum up: beautiful but not very tourists friendly hostel, though good value for money (55 soles per night in big double room with bathroom and balcony, TV). Very good wifi.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Clean, well-decorated. Hard to get a hold of staff, though-- the front desk wasn't always manned, and they didn't necessarily respond to the bell. Also, breakfast wasn't at 7:30, as advertised on the sign in the lobby-- you had to make arrangements the night before in order for the cook to get there on time. Would have been nice to have known before we sat at the restaurant for 45 minutes, waiting for someone to show up. Otherwise, no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Owner on site 6 days a week to operate his agency so very aware of what is going on and very eager to make is hotel even better. He asked me if I had suggestions and all I found was to tell him an extra towel would be nice to put on the floor when getting out of the shower. That should tell you how I had nothing negative to say about his place. He speaks perfect english by the way and a little french too.

The neighborhood is fine, the breakfasts are good, the fact that it is served on the terrasse on the roof with the mountains/volcanos in the background makes it even better and the staff is very helpful. There is a laundry service that dries your clothes in the sun when possible and it is a nice touch for me. The rooms are roomy and clean and for 15$ a night for a single room with a double bed as of may of 2011, it is hard to ask for a bette value!

Ty Cesar for the great hospitality, I would return for sure!

Room Tip: reserve in advance?!?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

I really liked this hostel. It's an excellent deal in a great location, close to everything and really cheap. Totally recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

I made a reservation by telephone and e-mail to this hotel. I told them I'll arrive the night from friday to saturday, they undertood wrong and the cancelled our reservation, so we arrived to Arequipa at 5 a.m. without a place to stay. Great :-(

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

This's a 2 star hotel in central arequipa. Close to the local market and within a walking distance from central plaza. An anique interior with a lot of nice painting, photos and funiture. Nice roof top. Clean and secure place to stay. Be prepared to speak/know Spanish because some staffs don't speak English. If you're fortune, you'll have a English staff on duty or seek helps from your roomates. Taxi sevices? They will order a taxi they know to drive you to the airport. Feel safe & secure.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada del Parque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Parque

Address: Dean Valdivia 238 A | Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the historic center of the city, only three blocks from the main square, you will find Park Hostel (before Posada del Parque). A large colonial house, specially remodeled to offer you a friendly service for a most relax and enjoyable stay. The hostel has a great and colorfull design with a nice terrace where you will have one of the best panoramic views of the city and three volcanoes that surround it: Misti (5,825m), Chachani (6,075m) and Pichu Pichu (5,600m). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Posada del Parque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada del Parque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.