We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Tambos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Los Tambos to your Saves list
Los Tambos
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Puente Bolognesi 129 | A half block from Plaza de Armas, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 87 Hotels in Arequipa
Arlington, Va
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Excellent location, phenomenal service, good restaurant recommendations, and a clean/safe place to stay. The staff at this hotel went way beyond our expectations and we would stay their again in a heartbeat. Thomas in particular was very good.

Room Tip: You'd be a fool not to stay here. Stay on the 5th floor for an awesome balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    112
    17
    1
    0
See reviews for
103
396
57
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Thomas and his team provided the best customer service we experienced at any hotel while in Peru. They were proactive in providing us a box lunches when we were headed out at 0300 hours for a Colca Canyon tour, arranged free taxis for us to and from the airport, and provided spot on recommendations for restaurants. The entire staff was the best I have experienced from top to bottom. The location is just a few steps from the main plaza and all the amenities one could need. We were lucky enough to get one of the rooms overlooking the street (room 201) and ti was quite large, had a large TV with DirecTV, the bathroom and shower were large and the bed was very comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel and if you like to open your windows and view the street activity, request one of the street rooms if available. Also, the rooftop is fabulous!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are larger, have sound proof windows, and provide views to people watch all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Ok, this hotel is a regular 3*. But what makes this special is their customer service, attention to detail and care of their guests. I've never seen a hotel being so proactive like here. They have arranged a free taxi to pick us from the bus station (even after midnight) and also arranged the taxi to take us back when we were leaving, extraordinary... One day we booked a trip to Colca canyon and without hotel knowing it, we've received a breakfast packages at 3am when we were leaving the hotel, wow... The rooms are standard, nothing special but all functional. There is only one thing I'd change and that is a breakfast. You are given menu instead of a regular buffet. However, location of the hotel is just a stone throw away from the main square. We were very comfortable here, would have chosen it again. Thanks Los Tambos!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordighera, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We spent three nights at Los Tambos and it was by far the best accommodation we had in Peru.
Hotel stuff was very helpful and friendly.Breakfast really nice peruvian style served in a cosy restaurant.
Location superb!
I highly recommend to stay at Los Tambos.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in total during April 2014. Location - perfect. Steps from Plaza de Armas, on a side road that has a lot of convenient amenities (drug store, ATM, restaurants, fast food). Room - wonderful. Good size, well appointed and modern, great bathroom with good shower. Bed was very comfy, great linens. Blackout curtains were great, room was quite. Very good wi-fi reception in the room. Breakfast was excellent, a great selection so tnat you didn't need to eat the same thing everyday.

What really makes this place stand out are the staff. They cannot do enough for you. Extremely friendly and attentive. It felt like a home from home. Don't bother looking elsewhere, if there is a room available at Los Tambos, snap it up!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night in this beautiful town at Los Tambos. Reserved based on previous TA reviews and did not regret it. Reservation process was very easy over the internet. Airport pickup was prompt and our driver Carlos was very friendly and pointed out helpful hints. The drive into the city will make you think whether it was a wise decision to come visit but once you enter the old city these doubts vanish. Check-in was simple and Vanessa at the front desk was very efficient. We got in early but were lucky that our room was ready.

Staff were extremely helpful in planning the day and arranging and negotiating with a taxi for a visit to a Picanteria. The hotel was conveniently located at one corner of the main plaza and walking distance to all the major sites including the Monastery of Santa Catalina. They even made dinner reservations for us at Chi-Cha Restaurant at our request which was very helpful. Breakfast options were good (eggs as well as Tamales and quinoa pancakes on the menu). So recommend it highly and will definitely like to stay here if we find ourselves back in Arequipa.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydneyaustralia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We can't speak highly enough of the hotel, manager and staff from the moment we were driven from the airport until our early departure due to a family emergency - they were so welcoming, friendly, accommodating and kind. They are AMAZING and go above and beyond to ensure their guests have wonderful stay and were genuinely caring at a sad time. The hotel has a warm ambience and is steps from the main square, the rooms and bathrooms are fresh and modern, the beds are very comfortable and our room was very quiet. Breakfast on the terrace with a view of Arequipa was a highlight with many delicious choices and charming service from the staff. We would highly recommend Los Tambos to anyone and hope we will return.

Room Tip: rooms not fronting the street are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Tambos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tambos

Address: Puente Bolognesi 129 | A half block from Plaza de Armas, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#1 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#6 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Tambos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let yourself be seduced by the colonial charm of Arequipa and experience unmatched hospitality at Los Tambos. Located in the heart of the city center amidst historic buildings, and world-class attractions, Los Tambos is right next to Plaza de Armas and 20 minutes away from Arequipa Airport. Los Tambos, a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice award-winning hotel, promises excellent accommodation and extraordinary experiences. Revel in our modern and comfortable bedrooms, à la carte breakfast, wireless high-speed Internet access, private transfer to/from the airport (2-night minimum). All included in your rate, complete with panoramic views of the White City and our majestic volcanoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Los Tambos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tambos Hotel Arequipa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Tambos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.