We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Tambos

Save Saved
You added Los Tambos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Los Tambos
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Puente Bolognesi 129 | A half block from Plaza de Armas, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 84 hotels in Arequipa
Perth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Top hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

My wife and I revisited this hotel for 4 night in October 2013 We returned again because we found the location was excellent. The staff were friendly the room was clean & modern. The TV large. and the breakfast was delicious. The price was good because they have a policy of stay for 4 nights pay for 3 so the price was good. The view of the hills from the top floor was very good as it allowed me to take photos of the hills when the weather cleared. We did the Colca canyon before and were quite happy to wander around town to see the sights again. The market was also very good plus I did a cooking class

Room Tip: We always had a front room in the 3 times we have been there so not too sure of the other rooms. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    526
    90
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
87
343
47
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delmar, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My stay at Los Tambos was excellent. They arranged for a tour to the Colca Canyon which was memorable and very enjoyable. I think what stands out most about Los Tambos is the staff, who are extremely helpful and friendly. They are willing to accomodate your needs. They gave wonderful suggestions on what sites to visit. The breakfast was delicious and served in a very nice setting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

A really super hotel to stay at very close to the central square in Arequipa and the nearby key attractions. Central Arequipa is quite small but even so the location here is excellent.

The staff were excellent and spoke great English when our Spanish attempts were poor. They were very friendly and helpful, made a good breakfast and helped show us the best places to visit on the map.

The Airport pickup was great and I can't fault anything about the hotel, its rooms (very clean and comfortable) or the service. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The hotel is half a block from the main plaza, which is good not just because its walking distance to the whole historical center, but also because it's safe: there are always policeman patrolling the area.

The service is excellent: from the owner, the counter and the service personnel... everybody efficient, helpful and kind.

We got a regular double room which we found small but ok for the price ($90). The beds were ok, the tv was small and there was no mini-bar.

The bathroom was perfect, seemed brand new.

Don't miss the breakfast!! Really one of the best breakfast I've had in hotels in Peru. It's not a buffet so you'll get what you want within 6-8 options, from natural-light ones to local tamales and cheese.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at Los Tambos at the end of September 2012 after spending the previous days hiking the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu. While this review is definitely long overdue, I did not want to fail commending the impeccable service that we received at Los Tambos. We felt the hospitality of the hotel from the moment we arrived (e.g., airport pickup with cold bottled waters waiting for us) to the second that we departed. Because it is not a big hotel, their service felt intimate and everyone on staff extended themselves to help us on all matters, big or small. We are especially thankful to Michael for his help in trying to resolve an issue we had with a pre-booked tour. While still in the US, we had booked a Colca Canyon Group Bike Tour with an adventure tour company and had paid a 50% deposit. Upon arriving in Arequipa and checking in with the tour company, we found that we were the only bicyclists on the tour (everyone else was traveling by bus). Instead of having 2 hours to spend at Colca Canyon as advertised, the time was reduced to 30 minutes. The advertised bike route was also altered to complement the non-bicyclists. Since the trip was significantly different from what we had signed up for, we requested a refund from the tour company. The person working that day had finally agreed to a refund and told us she will reach out to us for our Paypal information. Two days later, her answer changed and she informed us that the deposit was non-refundable. As we were leaving Arequipa for Lima the following day, we were unable to contact the tour company in person. Michael from Los Tambos reached out multiple times to the tour company on our behalf, even after we had checked out, to try to resolve the issue for us. Michael even contacted us while we were in Lima to update us on the situation. I can think of few hotel properties that I have stayed where the staff went so far out of their way to be as helpful as they can.

And not only was their service outstanding, the location is convenient and the included breakfast in the morning with fresh juices is great! I would absolutely recommend this property to anyone visiting Arequipa!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Just off the main square so handy for all sorts, but still a quietish location. The staff were friendly and helpful and we used their recommendations for places to eat. Rooms were clean and pleasantly decorated, and there was a computer and free tea and coffee available in the lobby.
I enjoyed the cooked and juiced to order breakfasts, but do like to fill up with fruit, yoghurt, something savoury, then toast and jam, which was not possible here (there is a menu to choose from). Very thoughtfully, we were provided with "breakfast in a bag" on the morning when we left before breakfast time. Overall, we thought this hotel was excellent value and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Higher floors mean reduced street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The staff at this hotel were extremely helpful and polite. They were very welcoming and checked us in early which we were grateful for as we'd had a very early start and needed a nap.

The rooms are compact but nice, modern and clean. The hotel is in a great location just off the main square. Good breakfast, free wifi, free transport to and from the airport - what more do you need? Great value for money!

The only slight issue was the church bells ringing from about 6am / 7am. I just used my earplugs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Tambos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tambos

Address: Puente Bolognesi 129 | A half block from Plaza de Armas, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#2 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#3 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Tambos 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let yourself be seduced by the colonial charm of Arequipa and experience unmatched hospitality at Los Tambos. Located in the heart of the city center amidst historic buildings, and world-class attractions, Los Tambos is right next to Plaza de Armas and 20 minutes away from Arequipa Airport. Los Tambos, a TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice award-winning hotel, promises excellent accommodation and extraordinary experiences. Revel in our modern and comfortable bedrooms, à la carte breakfast, wireless high-speed Internet access, private transfer to/from the airport (2-night minimum). All included in your rate, complete with panoramic views of the White City and our majestic volcanoes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HostelBookers, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Los Tambos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tambos Hotel Arequipa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Tambos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.