We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, price and sound sleep in downtown Arequipa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Su Majestad Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Su Majestad Hotel to your Saves list
Su Majestad Hotel
Calle La Merced No. 408, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 111 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Great location, price and sound sleep in downtown Arequipa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We booked online in advance, and found it clean, efficient, a good breakfast, and charming especially for those who love patio gardens. Our bathroom was recently renovated, and my bed had a reading light. Economical with a superb downtown location 3 blocks off the Plaza de Armas. You can walk almost everywhere.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs, or have lots of luggage it´s best to ask for a room on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
19
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Hotel Su Majestad Arequipa has a very good location, 5 blocks from the Plaza de Armas (main square of Arequipa) in a beautiful Spanish style casona or old courtyard house with nice gardens. The security in its location is very good and we felt extremely safe at all times.
The service was very good, we asked for several items and were provided promptly and without any hassle.
That being said, this hotel is not for the picky traveller. It offers basic accomodation with good size bedrooms and bathrooms with old windows and doors proper of an old casona. This may appeal to some like us, but may turn off others. Also, some bathrooms have small high level open access to the outside yard which could be of concern to some people with respect to insects. We found it a none issue for some, in another case, we asked for a different room.
Lastly, If you decide to go, ask for a room that is not located under the dining room. Activity starts early and while not that noisy, it is noticeable when they drag chairs.
Breakfast is very good, but go first thing or late because the space fills up quickly.
For the seasoned traveller, this is a great hotel at a moderate price for Arequipa standards. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: At then end of the courtyard (away from the street) and not under the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very affordable and accordingly you cannot expect opulence. It is a good location to access everything on foot being a direct walk of a few blocks to the square.
By following these two tips you'll definitely enjoy this hotel:
1. Request a room that is NOT under the dining hall which is above. The noise of them setting up the breakfast at 6am woke everybody. We asked to be moved, they did, and it was great from then on.
2. Shower at night or after 11am. During the morning the hot water goes very quickly and is not restored until 10 - 11am.
So...assuming you follow those tips you'll benefit from all the good bits:
The staff are very helpful with good English (on day and afternoon shift). They went out of their way to accommodate our change request.
The architecture is beautiful bu it is an old property (in a historic sense, not lack of condition). The courtyards and ambience are beautiful.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The Majestad Hotel has beautiful courtyards and is located only a few blocks from the main square. However, the construction within the hotel each morning made for a rude awakening. The rooms are large, but filled with a mouldy stench. The showers were great!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Hotel Su Majestad is located in city of Arequipa in country of Peru.
At address of 408 La Merced S, Arequipa.

Good location and service was good. At arrival we were all directed by the staff to location of all our rooms.

Rooms were very big and had an interesting double wooden room with a latch.
The room had good carpet and a television that was safely on a table so it would not fall off.

The bathroom had a shower and sink to which I was able to get good hot water at my command.
The toilet always flushed successfully and was located well in the room.

The beds were nice and comfy and located well in the room and lots of blankets provided in case one gets cold.

Front desk area had good seating and located and staffed well.

Breakfast area was upstairs and coffee and buns were greatly served in the morning.

Hotel was very safe and secure. Location was good as you walk to main town square within ten minutes or less.

This was also choosen location for Intrepid Travel and I would recommend to this place to anyone who is going to Arequipa.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Su Majestad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Su Majestad Hotel

Address: Calle La Merced No. 408, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Su Majestad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Su Majestad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.