We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison del Solar

Save Saved
You added La Maison del Solar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison del Solar
Calle San Agustin 316-318, Cercado, Arequipa 054, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 85 hotels in Arequipa
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Would definitely return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

On our 17 day trip through multiple cities and towns in Peru, we stayed in numerous hotels. La Maison del Solar was definitely a breath of fresh air! What set it apart from other hotels priced similarly was the friendliness and professionalism of the staff, and the owners, Julia and Hugo. From the very beginning, they made us feel like VIPs. They moved our luggage and stored our luggage for us, spent a lot of time trying to help us arrange travel in the city and elsewhere, and always seemed to have time for us. They graciously met our every need. The rooms were cozy, and the beds especially comfortable! I would definitely go back to La Maison if I returned to Arequipa!

Room Tip: We did not use the pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    34
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
16
49
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southold, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed at La Maison del Solar over a year ago on my first visit to Arequipa. This year, in June 2013, I brought a group of college students to Peru on a 21 day study abroad program. I thought so highly of La Maison del Solar and of Mr. and Mrs. Rosand’s hospitality that I stipulated with my tour operator that my group would stay here for the few days we visited this beautiful colonial city before visiting Colca Canyon and Lake Titicaca.

My students loved Arequipa and they loved staying at La Maison del Solar. The rooms are very comfortable and the hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to the Plaza de Armas. Great restaurants and shopping, beautiful churches, the Museum of Andean Sanctuaries and the Santa Catalina Convent are also just a few minutes walk away.

I really love Arequipa and I consider Mr. and Mrs. Rosand as friends. La Maison del Solar is like my home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intisilva, Propietario at La Maison del Solar, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We are very happy that your stay with us was of your complete satisfaction. We hope we can enjoy a new visit from you and we will offer special rates as a valued customer and friend. We hope that for your next visit, you will enjoy the new rooms, cafeteria and common areas. Thanks agian an dwe hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

It was just a great stay the klausnerhof. the service, the food was excellent. We liked the hospitality the complete staff loved it. Also the wellness area is just great. we were satisfied all around, be definitely go back and look forward already to the next time.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel was really near the main square and the staff were friendly and helpful. It was really noisy though and you have to bang on the door to get in at night. I was left banging for a good when returning on my own one night - I did eventually get in but bit scary when you are on your own.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intisilva, Propietario at La Maison del Solar, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are sorry to hear what you feel with your stay at La Maison del Solar. Regarding te nise, there is a construction starting of a new shopping center in front of the hotel and therefore the noise. We cannot do anything to stop this construction and furthermore because it will be for the best of us and our guests because in the near future you will have a shopping cener with supermarkets, cinemas, drug stores, restaurantes, fast food restaurantes and many more facilities. We are sorry about the noise but this is not our fault or responsibilitity. tThis is a construction that menas the progress of the city and is for our best. Maybe you can visit us in the future and will see how different it will be with a big shopping center in front of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this hotel for 4 nights it was a overall experience the people that work there, they made the difference.
If you are traveling in a budget this is the place to stay.
The owner or administrator insisted us to make a deposit before we arrived (we did) once we arrived we were the only people there, or at least it seems that way, and the worst part was that he did not mention that a demolition was taking place next to the hotel!!! I do understand that as an owner you would forget about it but the noise was awful.
The hotel has a really good location just 2 blocks away from the Plaza de Armas. The rooms are clean and they are comfy if you just go to rest there. The people on front desk are really nice and they gave us good tips for food, music and city tours. I highly recommend this hotel!!!! The demolition will be finish in 4 more days :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A great location, easy walking distance to the main square and restaurants. The owners and staff were very friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcomed. they offered pick up service (even at 5:30 am!) at the bus terminal. The accommodations were simple and comfortable (for mom and daughter), and included breakfast. There was construction happening during the day, but the evening was quiet and our sleep was restful. Highly recommend La Maison del Solar if you are passing through Arequipa!

Elizabeth & Lisa
Canada

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intisilva, Gerente at La Maison del Solar, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thanks for your review. For us was a really pleasure to have guests like you and hope to have your visit again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The interior and structure may not be all that great, but the customer service made up for the cracks in the walls and the loud construction across the street. Located just two blocks from the main plaza, this place has a great location and Julia is very helpful. We were struggling to coordinate some flights and tours and she was extremely helpful. She called airlines and tour companies for us and took the time to make sure we had all the information we needed. We also woke up very early (2:30 a.m.) to do a Colca Canyon tour and the overnight attendant stood outside in the freezing cold to look out for the the tour company who was very late in picking us up. The place has a kitchen and fridge to store food and breakfast is included. Not the Ritz, but we felt it was a great value. If you arrive late at night or early in the morning, the gates might be locked but if you holler at the door, there will be someone there to open the gate for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
intisilva, Gerente at La Maison del Solar, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thanks for your review. You ar ethe reason for us to exist. We will take intoconsideration your comments to be better in the future. We are going to start the construction of new rooms, common areas and serivces. We hope you can visit us soon to see our imporvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison del Solar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison del Solar

Address: Calle San Agustin 316-318, Cercado, Arequipa 054, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 85 hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Maison del Solar" characterizes itself for providing welcoming and cozy accommodations in the “white city” of Arequipa. It is conveniently located 2 blocks from the main square (Plaza de Armas) in the heart of the city and near the financial and commercial districts. It is also nearby many restaurants, establishments and facilities of all types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your La Maison del Solar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison del Solar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.