We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arequipay Backpackers Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arequipay Backpackers Downtown to your Saves list
Arequipay Backpackers Downtown
Pasaje Ohiggins 224 Vallecito, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We had problems on arrival with our booking not being available and is being told by email whilst we were on the bus to Arequipa, from La Paz. So it was a bad start, but our first night in dorms was fine, even if she did insist on giving us the full tour at midnight when we had decided to just stay the one night. The next day was when the magic happened! We went to their apartment. Our private room with en suit was cheaper than at the hostel and lovely. The owner was lovely and helpful. It is a way from town but he takes you to the main hostel and brings you back. You can chill out in the hostel while you wait.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    53
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
35
64
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hey,

so we stayed a few nights at this nice place in Arequipa. It is located about 5 blocks from the main square, which is an easy 5 minute walk.
The two kitchen have enough room for everyone to cook what they like.
Breakfast is like we know it from any other hostel in Peru, with the typical 24 Hours free tea.
The rooms are standard dorms. The biggest (10 beds) dorm is divided into to parts which makes it more a 4 or 6 bed dorm and thus more comfortable.
They have a nice closed garden surrounding the house with fooseball, table tennis and hammocks. Pool-table, Tvs, PS3, just read about the equipment online, its amazing.
Also a very, very friendly receptionist!
Its an absoult five star budget hostel and the top choice in Arequipa in my opinion.
Of course offering all standard tours to Colca Cañon and so on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

On of the best hostels I have stayed in. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hostel is spotless (the bathrooms are constantly cleaned). There is loads of space, fast Internet and hot, power showers. We organised our tour (3 days 2 nights) with them to the colca canyon and it was excellent. Would absolutely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Arequipay BAckpackers was a delighful stay. It was recommended to us by a friend and it fullfilled all the reviews. The facilities have been the best we have experience in SudaAmerica so far. Multiple tv rooms with endless dvd selections, pool tabes, ping pong, fooze ball, the biggest hammocks you can imagine, as well as decent hot water, plenty of warm blankets and very friendly staff. The best thing about the hostel was the bargain tour agencey attached which made our travels 100x less stressful and more enjoyable. Ask for Venessa at the front desk. She was incredible helping organise everything we needed from booking machu pichu, white water rafting and climbing the canyon in the nearby vallies, as well as orgainising accomodation in the next town Cusco. Thanks for the enjoyable stay and friendly vibe.

Room Tip: Cheapest room is 20 soles per person in a 12 bed dorm but beware, most people including yourself wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

A really lovely hostel. Very clean, friendly helpful staff and great facilities such as good kitchen, mountains of DVDs, a playstation and a pool table. Really great vibe I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a gem of a hostel located in the ideal location in Arequipa. The staff are incredibly warm, friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The hostel is kept scrupulously clean and the rooms are a decent size with comfortable beds and plenty of warm blankets. The hot water can be hit or miss; the bathrooms on the second floor are the most reliable if you´re looking for a hot shower (be sure to turn the knob quickly, and it may take a few tries). There are two kitchens - both very well equipped with everything you need to cook. There is also a spacious outdoor patio with hammocks, a pool table, TV room, and three computers for guests to use.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. My one suggestion is to bring earplugs, as sometimes the common areas can get quite loud.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The first thing that got my attention as soon as I walked through the door was how friendly and helpful the staff at Arequipay Backpackers are.
The hostel is in the perfect location, with decent size rooms, comfortable beds, hot showers (although I did find the water on the 3rd floor to be rather tepid), TV room, movie room, pool room, decent kitchen and lots of recreational space, which makes this the ideal place for those who are looking for a place to unwind whilst still meeting other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arequipay Backpackers Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arequipay Backpackers Downtown

Address: Pasaje Ohiggins 224 Vallecito, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The address of our new location (since 1 year ago)is PASAJE O´HIGGINS 224 VALLECITO (Arequipay Backpackers Downtown) and when you take a taxi to come here you have to give them our address. DO NOT TELL THEM ONLY THE NAME BECAUSE THEY MAY TAKE YOU TO OUR OLD LOCATION WHERE NOW IS OPERATING ANOTHER HOSTEL. ********About Arequipay Backpackers Downtown*******We are not a basic hostel, do you know why? Because we have attractions and facilities that others in Arequipa do not have that make us the funniest, coziest and homiest hostel in town all brand new with a funky and modern d�cor. We are a cozy hostel and you are going to feel like you are in your own home. We offer both indoor and outdoor spaces that are perfect to socialize with all travelers. If you are looking for a place to relax and recharge your energy to continue your journey the best place in Arequipa is Arequipay Backpackers House!. We are not a party hostel where you always going to find people that disturb your peace of mind, here you going to find tranquility, great vibe and the best service in town, we put our guests above and beyond because you are number one priority for us. We know - you like it clean�that's why we take care of it around the clock making sure everything is spotless. LOCATION:Only five blocks away to the main square. Even though we are situated downtown, we are in a peaceful neighborhood away from the hustle and bustle of the streets around the main square in a private neighborhood. Our location is perfect because it�s near banks, supermarkets, bars, and principal tourist attractions. *******FACILITIES****** A Game room with a 32 LCD HD TV and professional Pool table. 3 computers with flat-panel with free internet and wifi Two movie rooms with a 52 LCD HD TV with DVD and an extensive movie collection. Hockey Table, foosball table and Ping Pong Table. PLAY STATION 3! with the latest games Patio with hammocks, patio sets and a heater. A kitchen good equipped. Barbicue Area *****You will find for free***** Free Individual Lockers Free tea and coca tea 24/7 Free spices to cook Free Wireless Internet Connection and 3 computers Free access to guide books from all around the world Book exchange Free Maps and Advice Free Luggage storage Free Satellite TV and films, Free bread in the mornings (we don�t offer breakfast although as courtesy there is bread for free from 7 am to 10 am and free tea and coca tea 24/7) +++++++Location++++++ If you take a taxi please say the taxi driver that our address is near to COLEGIO CLARETIANO, or in front of HOTEL CASA DE AVILA, or near the intersection of Calle san martin cuadra 1 and calle cusco cuadra 1 in vallecito almost one block away from siete esquinas +++++++++Warning about the taxi drivers+++++++++++ There is a high level of corruption between the taxis inside the bus station and some hostales! So please do not believe the taxi drivers when they try to persuade you not to come to Arequipay Backpackers Hostels taking you to other hostel, they always lie because those hostales pay the taxis commission and for sure you will not find a better hostel like Arequipay, our comments are our best guarantee! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Arequipay Backpackers Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arequipay Backpackers Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.