We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Sol de Oro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Sol de Oro to your Saves list
Hostal Sol de Oro
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Calle Cruz Verde 307 | Cercado, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We loved this place so much that we stayed an extra few days after our Colca Canyon trip.
Lovely staff, such comfortable rooms and always clean.
Average breakfast - bread rolls, fruit juice and tea/coffee.
Great staff - they helped book our trip to Colca Canyon and kept our luggage for the three days.
Excellent wifi. Good location, so easy to walk to everything.
Lovely terrace to sit out in the sun to chill out.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
1
26
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taumarunui, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

a clean and tidy hostel with in walking distance of the main square and shopping, bars etc... being a little away you do not get all the traffic noise. Here in Arequipa I found the cheapest silver than any other town or country in South America. The staff are extremly friendly and helpful,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Really friendly and helpful staff which were willing to help. Lovely having breakfast on the terrace each morning with pool table and ping pong.

However the there nights we stayed we were woken at about 7am every morning by the in house family children outside our door. Our room also had no window and the shower curtain wouldn't keep the water in the shower because it was too short and no shower mat.

But all in all good location and friendly staff.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Everything facility wise is amazing and the free breakfast is delicious. Laid back environment, although a bit pricey for a private room for two. My favorite part of this hostel was the staff. Not only were they friendly, but very helpful as well. A few weeks back the sole of my hiking boot was destroyed and despite the many shoe repair facilities along the way it was a bit challenging for me to fix it because I don't speak Spanish very well. We were planning to do the colca canyon trek and we asked the receptionist where I could fix my boots or rent some. Without even thinking twice she graciously offered to take them to the shoe repair herself and pick them up on her way home! Very unexpected act of kindness that I am beyond grateful for. I highly recommend hostal sol de oro.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

A very good place to stay in Arequipa. Near Plaza de Armas, it's a confortable and beautiful hostel, very clean and with two amazing girls who manage the hostel and are incredibly nice to you, making you feel home! The juice in the breakfeast it´s also very good. Thank you, Julia and Dayana!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed at this place for about 2 weeks and it was a great place to say. They had it all, tv in the rooms, kitchen for all, computers for all, wifi, many games, x box, and a loving support staff. The trips were all scheduled from their office and all went very good. They will also help you with tickets, and anything else you might need. When i was there, it was the down season, go i stayed in a four person room and i was the only one in it. Price was 32 soles around and it was like staying in a one person.... Also, they have a two people that speak english that works there also....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is so much more than an ordinary hostel. The family who runs it were amazing to us, taking so much care to ensure we had information and comfort. Spacious, cosy and very central. The breakfast was fabulous too! We even had space to do our morning yoga practice with a view of the volcano.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Sol de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sol de Oro

Address: Calle Cruz Verde 307 | Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Sol de Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Sol de Oro is located in the center of Arequipa, three blocks away from the Plaza de Armas, el Corazon of the white city: close to just main attractions: museums, banks, supermarkets, shopping, colonial buildings and restaurants, bars, nightclubs. Hostal de Sol de Oro is a cozy hostel with a friendly family service. We offer several types of entertainment facilities to enjoy your stay. We have a beautiful and colorful terrace to get healthy breakfast (including in the price), free WIFI; open terrace with a sunset view to pass time with friends and share a drink, or having a meal or a barbecue. The kitchen well furnished is at your disposal.A comfortable TV room (including DVDs selection, play station unit, music stereo) is available as well exercise equipments. In others rooms are book change, pool table, ping pong table and other games a lot to keep yourself entertained.Also a free internet space with computers is available: no need to go out and pay to check your emails and download your photos.The rooms are all equipped with televisions and have their private bathroom with solar and gas powered hot water available 24 hours a day. The beds have brand new mattresses to ensure you sleep comfortably. Our friendly and helpful staff can assist with our laundry services as well as information about the city and the surrounding regions to visit. We will be more than happy to supply you with all the information you will need to fully enjoy Arequipa and the surrounding areas. Sol de Oro Backpackers hostel welcomes you to Arequipa, Peru! Yuliana and John.EXCHANGE RATE .......S/.2.75Check in at 11:30amCheck out at 10:30amcredit cards accepted (only visa)+9 pax group bookings acceptedCancellation and no show policy: Cancellations or changes are accepted only with minimum 24 hours before the arrival date via phone or email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Sol de Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Sol de Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.