We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Le Foyer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Le Foyer to your Saves list
Hostal Le Foyer
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Alfonso Ugarte 114, Arequipa, Peru   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Basic 2Star with extra friendly service. The staff was kind enough to recognize that the single room that had for me was too close to their noisy bar, so without asking, they gave me a 3 bed room for more quiet. The open air courtyard makes for a nice dynamic, breakfast served on the outside balcony was basic but romantic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    26
    11
    7
    5
See reviews for
7
30
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

A lot of noice at night from the bar downstairs, in the morning lot of traffic. Poor english speaking staf. Nice hot shower but not really clean. Breakfast is o.k. Beds are nice and clean rooms. No lockers or swimmingpool as some websites suggest.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hostel is in a great location and has brilliant facilities (including a new sofa/bean bag area with 50" TV and computer with internet). The rooms are spacious, some with balconies, although being in the 'bar/clubby' end of town it can be quite noisy at night. Other than that, the beds were comfy, average breakfast (bread+jam+juice+hot drink). Good for couples, and occasionally offered free drinks vouchers to encourage socialising within the hostel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very nice breakfast served on a sunny balkony, but rooms are just average, not very clean, bathrooms are cleaned to less. Under the hostel is a night club - on weekend days it´s impossible to sleep - even with ear plugs it´s like sleeping in a disco! Staff is very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I stayed there 2 nights in January 2012. The location is great, near la Plaza de Armas in an area where you can find many restaurants. I payed 45 soles (breakfast included) per night for a private room with a double bed and an en-suite bathroom. The room was simple but comfortable, quite large for one person. But it could have been cleaner. The bathroom looked quite new, but is still on the small side. The hostal also provide a TV with many channels, but it was always blurry.
The room itself was good but there is a communicating restaurant and a bar downstairs. It's great if you want to grab a bite or have a drink, but good luck if you are trying to sleep. Some of the rooms (the one I was in too) are situated around a gallery from which we can see half of the restaurant above. So we can hear everything. I had to sleep with earplugs.
The breakfast was good. They offer the typical bread + jam and butter + tea combo with a great mango nectar. It is served on the balcony in front of the hotel, a nice spot to have breakfast. However, I left the hotel due to the noise. I would have stayed if it had been quieter because the amenities were convenient.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the gallery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

I had an amazing time in this hostel everytime I was in Arequipa. I have just spended 7 months in Peru and have therefore seen a lot of hostels, hotels, other kinds of accomodations. I might say that "Le Foyer" is way the best I have ever experienced. Go there if you want a budget hostal with amazing service. You will never find any recepcionists that cares that much for you, as they do in "Le Foyer"...- they know the city, they know the great restaurants, they are able to help you organize tours, buy bus tickets etc etc. The hostel has a huge balcony from where you have a great view of the city and the mountains..- nothing in Arequipa beats the sunrise from this balcony..

To sum up..- go there if you´re looking for a centrally located hostal with really reasonable prices and fantastic service..- My best recommodations..

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

I travel last december to Arequipa to celebrate new year´s eve, and every turned up to be awsome. Excellent location, the people that worked there were very nice and kind. The rooms were clean and it was close to every nice spot in Arequipa. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — The location and the service
  • Disliked — A little bit noisy
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Le Foyer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Le Foyer

Address: Alfonso Ugarte 114, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Le Foyer 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hostal Le Foyer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Le Foyer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.