We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zig Zag Restaurant

Zig Zag Restaurant
Calle Zela 210 - 212 | Cercado (Centro Historico), Arequipa 054, Peru
+51 54 206020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 205 Restaurants in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Peruvian, Winery, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Alpandina dishes offered by the Zig Zag Restaurant are the result of a creative culinary fusion deeply rooted in the mountains, where the sun endows foodstuffs with energy and balanced components. The dishes most representative of Alpandino gastronomy arise from a marvellous synthesis of unique time-hallowed ingredients from all over Peru, combined with ancient and modern culinary techniques from the Alps and the Andes. One of the results is our great speciality: Volcanic-Stone-Cooked Meats and Fish.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

For once, this restaurant totally deserves its rating. Services is excellent, trying to serve wines the French way, the food is excellent, the place is beautiful, well located, the chocolate mousse was more than excellent. Maybe the best food we had in Peru.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,124
    307
    77
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food in a delightful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very nice restaurant in Arequipa. A little pricey for Peru, but the quality of the food is excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Nice place to enjoy a variety of meals. I enjoyed my dinner. They have a good service and the atmosphere is very relaxing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Service better than the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Wont add my words about food, which is up to the reputation and reviews. Liked the atmosphere, perfect lunch or dining. However the place will be forever in our memories due the great care of the waitresses with our almost-2-year old son, it was almost on-spot babysitting service!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“food with character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We loved our visit here. The grey vaulted stone ceiling and walls with rustic furniture and decoration gave the dining room real character and atmosphere The owner originally from Germany oversees and helps in the service which was impeccable and attentive. This was my first attempt at a Lama steak and was cooked and tasted wonderful. My wife had the Quino and potato gnocchi, light and tasty. The wine list carried a good selection of South American wines and although a little dearer that your normal Arequipean restaurant was well worth the money. I would love to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zig Zag Restaurant also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to Zig Zag Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zig Zag Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.