We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must like meat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zig Zag Restaurant

Zig Zag Restaurant
Calle Zela 210 - 212 | Cercado (Centro Historico), Arequipa 0000, Peru
+51 54 206020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 155 restaurants in Arequipa
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Swiss, Peruvian, Healthy, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Alpandina dishes offered by the Zig Zag Restaurant are the result of a creative culinary fusion deeply rooted in the mountains, where the sun endows foodstuffs with energy and balanced components. The dishes most representative of Alpandino gastronomy arise from a marvellous synthesis of unique time-hallowed ingredients from all over Peru, combined with ancient and modern culinary techniques from the Alps and the Andes. One of the results is our great speciality: Volcanic-Stone-Cooked Meats and Fish.
WashingtonDC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Must like meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We ordered the three type of meat of the volcanic stone- lots of meat! The meat cooked on the hot stone... Very interesting to watch. The staff were attentive. Food was served fast. Delicious overall.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    739
    200
    50
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Best alpaca we've had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Upscale restaurant, and worth it. We didn't have reservations (weeknight), and should have, but were lucky to get in. I had the "three meats on a sizzling volcano stone dish" (lamb, beef, alpaca) and was thrilled to finally have alpaca that was delicious, tender, juicy. The other meats were good, too, and the sides also. Hub had the meatballs menu of the day, also very good. Four pisco sours (yum) brought our bill to about $40.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere with exceptional food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We had lunch here after finding it in tripadvisor.com. The food was excellent. The service was more European than Peruvian. The restaurant is very well decorated. We ate on a balcony overlooking the convent of Santa Catalina. Very attentive waitstaff. Try the tea of 10 Andean herbs...it was fabulous. I bought some to take home. The lacuma ice cream was wonderful as well.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Delightful Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We enjoyed a fantastic dinner for 2, with the best seat in the house, upstairs at the front of the restaurant, having booked the night before. Everything about this restaurant was great. The service polite and helpful, and an excellent aperitif recommendation in the 'Pisco Sauco'. Dinner was cheese fondue with bread and potatoes, each with side salad and pickled vegetables. The Nougat dessert was also yum.
My wife and I would both happily eat here again, and would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Arequipa.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Fabulous Swiss Periuvian restaurant.. get the 300g Argentian Fillet cooked on Served on Hot Volcanic Stone.. can cook it more your self if you like 5 sauces, potaos salad etc steak melt in your moth, fondue great too... upper end of restaurant prices but compares to Europe US or other prices for nothing.. All the Locals love this place as well as the |tourist..its THE RESTAURANT in Arequipa. Went once with some friends just keep going back

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zig Zag Restaurant also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to Zig Zag Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zig Zag Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.