We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting big Inca Site” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tambo Colorado

Tambo Colorado
Peru
Improve this listing
Ranked #370 of 622 attractions in Peru
Type: Ancient Ruins
Attraction Details
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting big Inca Site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is quite a large Inca administration site. I was surprised to find still a lot of original coloring.
I recommend the trip there even if it seems like there are no tours going there. I took the collectivo from Paracas to Pisco (Soles 2). At the Plaza de Armas I went to Overland Travel and he got me a driver for Soles 80. In Paracas the going rate was Soles 150.
You can also take a collectivo from the Pisco Market to Humay and walk from there 2-3 km. The collectivo might take you for some extra pay.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but hard to reach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The site is large and very interesting.
Don't forget your hat and sun block.
There is a small museum and you can walk around all the site without supervision.
You receive a site map upon arrival.
Unfortunately, this site is not widely known and few persons visit it each day.
Transportation for the attraction is not easy to find, too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bighock58
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bigger than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Arriving at the site , seemed abandon but it was only that we were alone and had freedom to explore all we wanted, walk up the hill behind the site to get a better view , walk in the rooms to see the ancient paint ( please don't be tempted to chip a piece off, that's why it's still there ) small museo on site, if your lucky to visit and are alone you will be able to take some Really great panoramic photos

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lencois, BA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

When I arrived I had the place to myself, and was so impressed by the state of preservation on this 600 year old place. The view across the Pisco river valley is stunning, and you can see why the site was of such strategic importance on the route from the mountains to the sea during the Inca reign.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A jewel for people that like archaeology and great scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

A local guide told me about this site and I decided to explore it. Rented a car in Lima and was part of my tour to Paracas and Nazca.
The road from Panamericana Sur to the Tambo Colorado site is quite nice. Built 10 year ago is well amaintained ant it goes by little towns and nice vineyards. The site is well preserved (incredible how it lasted so many centuries without any touch and specially as the old road used to cut it in the middle ...you can still see it). I was tahte alone and had the chance to chat with the local guard, who leves there. Wonderful family that will tell you a little bit about the site and a lot about how peruvians live there. Do them a great favor and bring them things to read in spanish (newspapers, magazines, old books, anything .. they are avid readers but have very little contact with civilization). The scenery is great and walking those ruins alone was quite charming. Bring water as there is nothing there for you to buy. Enjoy !

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tambo Colorado also viewed

 
Peru, South America
Peru, South America
 

Been to Tambo Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tambo Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tambo Colorado to your Saves list