We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really big lake, really high up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Titicaca

Lake Titicaca
Peru
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$262*
and up
Lake Titicaca and Sun Island Catamaran Cruise...
Ranked #62 of 658 Attractions in Peru
Type: Islands, Lighthouses, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the world's largest navigable lake to large vessels, which lies more than 12,500 feet above sea level and covers 3,200 square miles in the Andes Mountains between the border of Peru to the west and Bolivia to the east.
Providenciales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Really big lake, really high up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were surprised by the effect of the elevation. Leave extra time to rest! A simple walk to the taxi left us out of breath. Lima Tours, who were terrific, created an action packed itinerary. Our only regret is that we didn't have enough time.
All of Peru is fascinating and Puno and Lake Titicaca were especially so. The floating islands of Uros are well worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    80
    22
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pollock Pines, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lots of Variety here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent the day touring Tequile Island and the Los Uros (floating reeds city) here. The trip out to Tequile Island it a LONG one (like 2.5 hours on mall boats, so if you tend to get motion sickness on rough days, get that patch on! he time is well-worth it, however, as the hiking tour of the island (and the roasted fish luncheon) is second to none. We went with Condor Travel of Peru, and our guide was knowledgeable and in good shape, which is a must, as the hike up from where the little boat docks is about 750 feet straight up the side of the cliff, which is already at 12,300' Bathroom facilities are very basis on Tequile, and non-existent at Los Uros (unless you wish to use a hole in the reeds as the locals do, so be prepared).

We had an opportunity to row a reed boat (not easy) and the people of the Los Uros were very friendly, showed us into their homes, and this is a chance top by Indian good produced right on the spot at both sites.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephentown, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Uros Floating Islands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Took a morning cruise to the floating islands of the Uros people of Lake Titicaca. Walked on the spongy surface, made from compacted beds of tortora reeds, and met the locals, learning about their history and lifestyle. Sat on rolled reed seats while elder showed us with models how the islands and boats are made from the reeds. Family groups (up to ~12 persons) live on separate islands which are constantly replenished with new reeds. 100s of islands make up the community. Fishing, birding and trading weavings and reed souvenirs sustain them. Got to visit the interior of family hut. Very young couple with baby. Some electric via solar.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Puno and Lake Titicaca with Llama Expeditions - great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My husband and I took a 14 days custom made tour of Peru organized and guided by Llama Expeditions that gave us a one-of-a-lifetime opportunity to see, learn and enjoy the nature, the people ant the history heritage of this magic land.
We began the tour in the beautiful Amazon region, continued to the amazing Cusco, Inca Valley and Machu Picchu sanctuary, took a train to Puno on Lake Titicaca, reached in the end the interesting Arequipa city.
We spent 2 days in Puno and Lake Titicaca visiting Isla Taquile, Uros floating islands and a vicuna reserve. It is through our personal guide, Alex, with his knowledge, fluent English and personal stories that we learn so much about this specific region and enjoyed it tremendously.
Furthermore, the special touch, vision and love for Peru of Diane Valenti, the founder of Llama Expeditions, helped us a lot in the wrapping up the tour itinerary and succeeded in revealing to us the real heart and soul of Peru.
Along the entire route the guides the agency arranged for us were incredible, beyond our expectations, spoke English perfectly and their explanations and stories were not only educational but gave us the opportunity to better understand the Peruvians way of life, their concerns, thoughts and dreams.
The tour was flawlessly organized and Gustavo, the tour coordinator in Peru, that took care of every tiny logistic detail so all we had to do is to absorb and enjoy every second which we did.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Uros Islands were an amazing experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I had a private guide through Yampu Tours that accompanied me for the half day trip to the Uros Islands. The guide (Ivan) was himself Uros and loved on one of the reed islands. His local knowledge and personal stories are what made the day very special, besides the incredible beauty of the lake. It's a 20 minute taxi ride from the hotel district in Puno to the waters edge where you board a boat. The boat is shared with a dozen or so passengers and its about 30 minutes to the islands. Catching some rays on the top deck is great but sunblock is a must (14,000 ft altitude). The Uros have an amazing history pre dating the Inca. Doing some easy research beforehand and showing some respect to the culture went a long way with the guide. He actually showed me his reed home and I met his family. I'm betting that's not something every traveler gets to do. It was a great day.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Titicaca also viewed

 

Been to Lake Titicaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Titicaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.