We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hosteria on San Cristobal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pimampiro Hosteria

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galapagos Islands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pimampiro Hosteria
Save Saved
You added Pimampiro Hosteria to your Saves list
Avenue Quito y Tulcan, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Galapagos Islands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A good hosteria on San Cristobal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed there for four nights after coming back from our Galapagoa Cruise. It's a lovely place and the people were very friendly. The breakfast was excellent and our cabina very big only for two people! The hosteria is located a little bit away from the port. It's ten minutes walk but no problem at all. We loved this place and can recommend it!thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Pimampiro Hosteria, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, from July 6 - 8, 2012. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were met at the airport upon our arrival. The breakfast provided was delicious, and the rooms were clean and spacious. We enjoyed a balcony view overlooking the pool & city. The walk to and from the waterfront is quite manageable. The premises are secure. The three of us enjoyed our stay and recommend this lodging to others.

Room Tip: The rooms we saw were all spacious. We enjoyed having a balcony, and you may want to request that wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Of all the hotels we stayed at on the Galapagos Islands, the Pimampiro Hosteria was by the far the best. The set up was cool, the food was delicious, and there was always someone there to answer questions or make a cup of tea or coffee. If I ever return to San Cristobal, this will be my first choice of a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin CA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

A delightful find, on a hill about a ten minute walk from the port town. Four of us stayed here for two nights before our Galapagos Cruise. Very friendly service, especially from the manager who gave us accurate info about day walks we might take on our own, and from the cheery breakfast staff who went out of their way to prepare our breakfasts just as we wanted. WiFi worked great in the dining room, which also had a small library of Galapagos and other books. The rooms and pool were perfectly clean. Our double suite ($80 including breakfast and tax) was large and furnished with drawers and a hanging rack, two TVs, a refrigerator stocked with cold water, and a safe. We had only brief time to enjoy the hammock on our private balcony over the pool, but the late afternoon breeze was refreshing there.
It was great to be a bit out of town, in a very quiet place. We took a taxi ($15 one way) to the volcanic lake, El Junco Lagoon, in the highlands for plant and bird watching and walked almost all the way back to the inn, taking a $2 truck taxi back from El Progresso village.
After we left, I realized that I left our trip journal in the dining room. The Pimampiro immediately packaged it up and sent it to Columbus Travel, our travel agent in Quito, who delivered it to Vieja Cuba, our Quito hotel for us to collect later in our trip. Everyone went out of their way to help, as the result of just one email I sent our travel agent.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. We liked our second story balcony over the pool, but our friends liked ground l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I've been several times in San Cristobal island with groups and this is one of the places where I come back with a happy face! Alejandra & Fernando the owners are always with a big smile in their faces. Suites are great, a lot of space. In warm period the pool is a relaxing option after local visit. Breakfast is the best in the island (fruits, eggs, toasts, juice, good coffee, muesli... )
I really recommend this hotel for a stay in San Cristobal

Room Tip: Upper rooms with ocean view are nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I loved this little hotel. I travelled to the Galapagos with 3 children age range: infant- 6 years old. I stayed here for nine nights and would definitely return if I went to San Cristobal. I had the room by the pool which was two rooms, a common area with a couch, tv, and a kitchenette area, and a bathroom. The first bedroom had a full size bed and the second room had 3 twin beds. The kids loved being next to the pool and the pool definitely felt like it was an extension of our room. The pool can make this room loud at night so if you are sensitive to noise this room may not be the best for you. The pool is also deep and has no shallow area so if you have small children you should be very alert.The room however was just what we needed to make a comfortable land based trip. We lunched out and would pick up dinner to go and eat it comfortably in our rooms- a perk to not be out at dinner time with kids!The owners and staff are very much a delight. The warm reviews represent them accurately. I only add that the owners have children and are used to traveling with children so they are cognizant of what makes a family comfortable. They seemed to be very honest and caring people. They really went out of their way to accommodate us at every level.
The location is not right downtown but we did not find this o be a problem.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I agree with all that everyone has been saying about this place. Very friendly owners/staff, probably the best condition of most places I've seen in San Cristobal, perfect breakfast. One caution..it's across the street from a "Galapagos Fried Chicken" and party room. We had a noisy stay in Quito and were looking forward to some quiet here...but there was a special occasion "quinceanera" party going on, and our walls shook til very late with salsa music from across the street. The mosquitos topped off a very unrestful night (probably our fault for leaving the door open earlier). Only other thing is that the hotel is a bit of a walk uphill, not right down by the waterfront. Would still stay here again (if no parties scheduled next door!)

Room Tip: Most second floor rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pimampiro Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimampiro Hosteria

Address: Avenue Quito y Tulcan, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galapagos Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Pimampiro Hosteria Hotel Galapagos Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pimampiro Hosteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.