We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuenca Ecuador Victoria Hotel Paradise Found!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Victoria to your Saves list
Hotel Victoria
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Larga 6-93 y Presidente Borrero, Cuenca, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Cuenca
chicago
1 review
“Cuenca Ecuador Victoria Hotel Paradise Found!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Not knowing where to stay in Cuenca I ended up in the Oro Verde Hotel on the eastside of the city. It was nice, $120.00/night, good food. A local person I met recommended the Victoria Hotel. Centrally located. Great clean room. Great restaurant. Great english speaking staff. Internet service. The most pleasant experience I have had in a hotel for the past 20 years! Email me if you would like pictures of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    52
    13
    2
    7
See reviews for
33
77
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

Got three rooms in 2 nights, the first one too noisy (street level), to the second one the very weak WLAN signal didn't reach (and had no desk), in the third one "just" hangers were missing. Breakfast very poor. Service average. A spider in the room Next time I'll definitely go to a different hotel

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We stayed in the top floor suites with large verandas. When we arrived at Hotel Victoria after traveling along the coast & staying in modest accomodations, we felt like we were in a 5 star hotel. Our room were very nice, the service was excellent, the location in the heart of Cuenca was to our liking. We had dinner at the hotel and it was a fine dining experience. And breakfast, included with our room, was very good also. I would not hestiate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

Stayed here for one night. Very nice hotel with modern amenities. Our room had great view of Rio Tomebamba. Very professional service - feels like a hotel as opposed to a hosteria or posada. We didn't have a seat on the toilet when we checked in but the management put one on right away. A bit pricier than other nice options in Cuenca.

  • Liked — elegance and view/garden next to river
  • Disliked — price a bit high
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ondon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

We have stayed at the Hotel Victoria last year and we experienced the service as excelent. The rooms are very comfortable and with its big windows overlooking the river offering great views. The hotel is located in the centre of the city all main attractions are close by. The receptionist as well as the service in the Restaurant are heart warming friendly and made our stay unforgettable. This is a place to feel home away from home. Thank you to all of you.

  • Liked — The views overlooking the river and nicely decorated rooms.
  • Disliked — There are rooms without views in the hallway.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

Just got back from South America, after an exceptional holiday. Quito, Galapagos and Cuenca. The hotel was OK, food service not too good. Rooms fine no hairdryer. Where the hotel was located....................not good. Calle Larga is a notorious spot for muggers and thieves.............this is a FACT, as it happened to my sister in broad daylight, walking back from the Banco Museum, about 100 yards from the hotel. She was badly cut and bruised around the head and face, as she was thrown to the ground by one of a group of teenage boys. My husband ran after them and got the handbag back, with some help from other locals. We were a group of four, in our fifties..........Yorkshire born and bred. So no one was going to get the better of us........BUT it could have been alot worse if they had had knives!! Some of the locals in the area were very sorry, most helpful and took us back to the hotel. These young lads, looked well dressed and worked in pairs/groups distracting us then attacking super fast, before you can do anything.PLEASE watch your front, back and sides and DON'T trust anyone. Apparently it is a well known spot, as the local driver told us...................only wish the hotel had given us a warning!.............Take care and enjoy South America. Any advice please send email. Kind regards Popperoo

  • Liked — The view from our bedroom
  • Disliked — The thieves nearby
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

We stayed in Hotel Victoria in Cuenca for 3 nights in March 08. Following the stay in Riobamba, Banos etc., we found this to be the best room at the price $60 including tax & breakfast.
The room was bright (#106), with two double beds, and a large bathroom which looked new. There was a great view of the garden and if you looked carefully, the river! The hotel exterior and entrance hall/ rooms are all very impressive, and there is no cost spared in furnishings. All in all, given the great location, on Calle Larga, in the middle of the restaurant/ museum area, this is a special hotel... beats all the other hotels in the price range we stayed in in Ecuador !

  • Liked — Room comfort
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Calle Larga 6-93 y Presidente Borrero, Cuenca, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cuenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
#10 Business Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria is a first class hotel located in the ravine of the city of Cuenca, on the River Tomebamba. Its face is a beautiful mixture of bourgeois aristocrat construction brick and marble interior is decorated with typical elements of our culture. Its spacious and brokers allow a peaceful and pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Cuenca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.