We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Colonial Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Simon Bolivar 12-55 y Tarqui, Cuenca 0000, Ecuador   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Cuenca
Dallas, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Exquisite Colonial Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I start by repeating the things said by recent reviewers: very attentive service; beautiful colonial mansion turned boutique hotel; charming courtyard with soothing fountain decorated with lovely floral arrangements; and a garden with fuschia plants and hummingbirds! This home is elegantly decorated with carved wooden statues from San Antonio de Ibarra in the Otavalo area of Ecuador. Even with all of the above the feel of this hotel is that of easy elegance and relaxation. In short, we loved it and highly recommend staying here. It is deserving of its current status of number 1 hotel in Cuenca!

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    34
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
29
93
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

One of, if not the best boutique hotels in all of Ecuador. This hotel completes the Colonial Charm that is Cuenca. Great location and awesome service. I am so glad we stayed here. Only wish it could have been for longer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Mansion Alcazar is literally a haven in the hustle and bustle of Cuenca. Once you step inside the doors (you must be buzzed in, for extra security) you are met by a peaceful, beautiful sitting area, complete with fountain, very comfy chairs and complementary tea or coffee. The entire building is elegantly appointed, the rooms are cozy, and the breakfasts are delicious! It is very conveniently located in old town, within walking distance of the markets and cathedrals. The staff were so helpful and polite, and we felt very safe during our stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during our recent honeymoon and we found it more than met our expectations. The hotel has a relaxed colonial feel to it and the staff are both efficient and friendly. The gardens are delightful and the barman is something of a character!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Mansion Alcazar is a charming property. Each room has been specially designed and accessorized with antiques and art. The staff is top notch, very thoughtful. And the restaurant is extremely good. Mansion Alcazar will cost more than other hotels in Cuneca, but it is worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The Mansion Alcazar is a historic mansion converted to a boutique hotel. It is one of the most spectacular boutique hotels in the world. We have stayed here on two occasions for a week at a time, when the prices were still quite inexpensive ($95 a night for two persons). Since the prices have gone up, we still visit the hotel every time we visit Cuenca, for drinks and dinner because of the spectacular old world atmosphere and personal service.
You will be greeted at check-in with complimentary champagne by Manuel. Manuel will be your personal butler. He also tends bar and makes high tea in a special area in the courtyard. He is a national treasure.
Everything about this place is up scale. The world class restaurant offers a different menu every day. Every room is different and authentic to the period. The common rooms and gardens are awe inspiring. This is truly an incredible hotel for those who can still afford it. This is not a large modern cookie cutter hotel. If you are looking for a family resort hotel, this place not for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel three times and fall in love with it more each time. As one who has traveled the world I have stayed in a full range of hotels...from Timbuktu to Moscow to Sydney etc. Mansion Alcazar has the most charm, comfort, convenience and beauty of all. The staff is beyond helpful. It is my favorite hotel in all the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstudioKuno, Public Relations Manager at Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear RNeuheisel

We´re glad to hear that Mansion Alcazar is favorite Hotel in the world, our guest reviews are a great motivation to keep working for you, to offer the best experience in Cuenca.
Kind Regards
We wil be waiting for you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel

Address: Simon Bolivar 12-55 y Tarqui, Cuenca 0000, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
#3 Business Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a quick walk from the famous square of Parque Calderon. Mansión Alcázar Boutique Hotel is located in a very vibrant area of the city, nearby well known museums and churches. This republic style architectural adds the perfect element of elegance to this already refined structure. Guests of this Ecuador hotel can have a refreshing cocktail or glass of champagne out in the jasmine garden and enjoy the fantastic surroundings of our Hotel. Relaxing indoors is also an option, by the baby grand piano sipping a warm cup of tea. This hotel knows just how to pamper their guests. Declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO, the city of Cuenca has everything you could want from it - beauty, nature, and a vibrant life. And when you are not exploring the area, you may want to sit and have a delicious meal at our restaurant Casa Alonso which serves international and local favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion Alcazar Cuenca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.