We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll make sure to come back.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Lucia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Lucia to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Lucia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Presidente Borrero 8-44 y Mariscal Sucre, Cuenca, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Cuenca
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I'll make sure to come back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

People usually write these reviews after they've had a bad experience. That's not the case here. It's a very charming hotel, the location is very good, the rooms are nice and cozy and, contrary to what some of the reviewers might say, service was perfect in every aspect! I'd recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Santa Lucia, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest;

Thanks for recommending our hotel to other travelers, we are so glad to know that you got a pleasant stay with us. We hope to have you here really soon.

Best Regards;

Cornelio Vintimilla
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    71
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
56
103
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were a family of four, two teenagers slept in the upstairs loft, we had no problem with noise at all but (traveling secret here) I always take a small fan from home with me when I travel,(with an adapter if necessary), which I use at home anyhow, it just always creates a nice white noise as well as air circulation. The only reason I won't sleep well on a trip is temperature or a hard bed. Incidentally, this was the only place I stayed at in Ecuador that didn't have an overly hard bed.

Creaking floors? Give me a break, it's OLD for Pete's sake!

Only complaint is that we couldn't get the wireless internet to work, so we used the internet available in the courtyard.

We also liked the lounge at the front of the building.

Room Tip: Ours was 2nd floor, had a loft. There was also a bathroom immediately outside our room in the hallw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Santa Lucia, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest;

Thank you for motivating us to work very hard, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip with us. We hope to have you with us really soon.

Best regards;

Cornelio Vintimilla
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
878 reviews 878 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 207 cities Reviews in 207 cities
767 helpful votes 767 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Rooms comfortable, location great in what could be a very nice hotel. But service by all staff falling short. Unless you are willing to tip all the time nobody pays you any attention. They advertise happy hour cocktail drinks 3pm to 9pm, except if you choose to have them in your room you are charged the full price . I challenged the front desk about this and they replied, "All drinks are to be drunk at the bar ".er - where did it say that? I still don't understand the policy. Evening meal and breakfasts - hot food, served on ice cold plates not good when ordering fried eggs ..... Could give you a whole list of other problems - but take our advice. Until they get in good management - go somewhere else. Many better to choose from .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Santa Lucia, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear Guest


Thanks for your comment, we are very sorry that you had a bad impression of us, not wanting to justify us we want to explain that promotions only apply to certain restaurants, in the case of two for one applies to beverages taken within the Bar and no to room service. I think your criticism will help us improve.

Best regards


Cornelio Vintimilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

A hacienda made into a hotel. Very nice. It is NOT a big city hotel so don't expect the Four Seasons. What you'll get is a beautiful hotel with terrific service, good breakfast and ideal location.

Hands down the best shower in all of South America. Silly but after a few weeks with mediocre experiences this was fabulous!!

Truly a delightful choice and a wonderful experience v

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Santa Lucia, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Respected Guest

Thank you for your comment, really helps us to continue improving and achieving our ideal to give the best service. We hope you will again be our guest at an upcoming ocation.

Best Regards;

Cornelio Vintimilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansville, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

From the moment you walk in the front door you feel like you've entered a bit of old world charm. Fresh squeezed fruit juice arrives during the check in process as bags are quickly taken to your room. The fantastic service just continues with the exquisite dining room and morning breakfast buffet. Location is superb.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Santa Lucia, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest;

We are very happy to know that you enjoy your stay, we invite you to come back to our hotel very soon. These comments show us that we are following the right path.

Best regards;

Cornelio Vintimilla
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Santa Lucia. The beds are comfortable and the rooms spacious. The staff made every effort to make our kids feel welcome. It is nice to in the city and yet being able to relax. My wife who only speaks English had a little hard time communicating with the staff. Cuenca is on our list of cities we will be coming back to!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Santa Lucia, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest;

It's amazing for us to know that your stay was pleasant, we want you to know that this is your home in Cuenca, so when you visit us please contact us.

Best regards;

Cornelio Vintimilla
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Wonderful old building, great staff and a block from the main square. If you like to walk you can walk to all the sights in Cuenca. We tried both their restaurants and the bar, my favorite was Inti. It had great takes on local dishes that we had tried at other local eateries in Equador.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Santa Lucia, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your criticism this motivates us to seek the highest quality and continue to set a path in tourism in the city, we hope to have you with us again

Best regards;

Cornelio Vintimilla
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Lucia

Address: Presidente Borrero 8-44 y Mariscal Sucre, Cuenca, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cuenca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cuenca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Lucia 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful colonial hotel located in the center of Cuenca. Just two street blocks from the central park, it has twenty exquisite decorated rooms. Each room is different from each other and they have all the comfort of a modern style room. Inside the hotel there are two restaurants considered two of the best restaurants of the city. The first one is named Bacus Caf., and it serves a modern Ecuadorian cuisine Nouve style. The second one is a Trattoria named Novecento. It is considered the best Trattoria of the whole country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Lucia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.